We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“10/10 for excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A year ago was the first time that we stayed at Crown Promenade and found that the high quality standards that my wife and I experienced back then have been consistently maintained.
From the check in staff to the maid who cleans the room we found their bight positive attitude was what one will expect to find ( But not always receive at a top notch hotel )....The breakfast dining room offered a huge range of choices at a competitive price ....We will be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    394
    93
    14
    24
See reviews for
154
389
48
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

All four of us very mature age women were very happy with our stay at the Metropole and have decided to make it an annual trip. Special mention to the concierge staff - they were so approachable and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Recommended by a work colleague and well worth it. Utilised the Entertainment book for the booking and at a great price. Exceptional location and close to amenities and attractions. Extremely friendly and courteous staff who couldn't help you enough. We will definitely be using the Crown Promenade again.

Room Tip: We stayed for 2 separate nights - one on the Bay side (20th floor) which was very scenic; the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having looked at reviews before we stayed at the Crown Promenade in Melbourne we were expecting a nice hotel, but it far exceeded our expectations. We were greeted at check-in by very friendly helpful staff, who gave us a brief overview of the hotel and complex, armed us with a map pointing out the nearest stop for the free city tram and interesting places to get off and visit. We were amazed at our room it was large, spotlessly clean, had a lovely bathroom with an amazing shower, fabulous views and was lovely and quiet. The hotel had a gym and a lovely infinity pool although it could get very busy with children. The Crown complex had various restaurants, bars, shops and its own casino lots to walk around before even stepping out onto the streets of Melbourne. We had a fabulous time in the beautiful city of Melbourne which was made even more special by staying at the Crown Promenade.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Crown have certainly lifted the standard of hotels in Australia, and Promenade is no exception. Great location, beautiful rooms with nice views and super comfortable beds. Will be using for all of my future travel bookings to MEL.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is my 5th stay at Crown Promenade but first time I have stayed there with my husband. Usually I stay with a group of girls , we find this such a convenient and safe place to stay.
This trip we were there to see Jimmy Barnes at Crown Palms so we didn't have to leave the building, it was easy.. we grabbed a quick bite before the show from the food court and didn't have to go far to get back to the room...and the bed ...OMG so comfortable, love the pillow too ... and the shower is amazing , I really did not want to get out..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Pros: Crown Casino downstairs
Right on Southbank with easy walk to restaurants and bars
Not a far walk to heart of Melb and shopping - over the Yarra and in 10-15mins you're in Bourke St Mall
Roomy rooms! Great view from higher floors. See if you can get a south side view, as it has distant ocean views.
Roomy bathroom!
Good buffet breakfast and not too pricey.
Pool/spa great as it overlooks Whiteman St and its pretty big.

Cons: Crown Casino downstairs
Restaurants can get booked out as they are pretty busy - especially during weekends.
Crown Casino vicinity based restaurants aren't the cheapest along the Southbank strip. Better to go into town across the Yarra River for greater value!
Rooms pricey compared to other comparable hotels, so look out for sales.
Can get noisy in the hotel on weekends, as teenagers / adolescents tend to hang around after clubbing, and for some its their first time in a "big hotel" hence their "excitement"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.