We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One night stopover in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although I was only there for one night I found the Crown Promenade to be a delightful place to stay. Very clean, spacious and the most comfortable pillows I've ever experienced at a hotel/motel. Very conveniently situated, walking distance to the CBD, Art galleries, parks and eateries.

Room Tip: A west or NW facing room gives a great view over the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    394
    93
    15
    24
See reviews for
154
389
48
281
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Crown Promenade was just the hotel we needed to end our 3-city trip around Australia. The rooms were large and comfortable, and so so so clean. We felt right at home in the plush bed, lush amenities and gorgeous bathroom. It was hard to leave the room! The location was perfect. We had a plethora of restaurants to choose from with fare ranging from cheap to expensive, and the casino was merely steps away without the need to go outside. It was extremely easy to get out and around to explore the city. And the service there could not be faulted!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review, it was wonderful to read your positive comments which will be passed onto our team. Our Housekeeping Team will be very happy knowing you felt the room was “so so so clean” as they work hard every day to make sure high cleaning standards are maintained. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of the restaurants on offer and all the city sights on offer nearby.

Take care and hopefully we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My besty gave me a wonderful birthday surprise which was a night in standard room in crown promenade. It was very nice we each had a queen size bed and so many tv channels. The downside my friend reckon was not enough privacy in the bathroom cos its pretty much 2 sliding doors cover up, u wouldnt think its that sound proof but i don't see it as a problem, u can just put on some music or have the tv louder. The price was surprisingly not as ridiculous as I would thought when its discounted. Definitely return to it only at discounted rate tho!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently had an overnight get away in the city and stayed at the Crown Promenade Hotel which is part of the Crown Casino.
Pros is it is a great location as you have everything you need at your finger tips, shops restaurants, entertainment easy parking etc, you don't even have to leave the complex if you don't want to. Room was very very clean. Huge bathroom and shower, nothing worse than a small hotel bathroom. Comfy bed and pillows. Selection of current magazines to read, nice sized TV. Crown robes and slippers to use. Mini bar but as all mini bars, ridiculously high prices. We did not use room service but the menu selection had a wide variety. Mesh restaurant located off the lobby had a scrumptious breakfast Buffett which we enjoyed. There was no noise from the hallways or noise from the outside traffic. Nice big window which had electric blinds and drapes that blocked out the morning sun. There was a kettle with milk, tea, coffee, sugar.
Cons, there was no alarm clock. I like to see the time if I wake up in the middle of the night especially when my phone wasn't on the bedside table as there was no power points near the bed, so I had to charge my phone at the power point on the desk. So when I woke up in the middle of the night I had to get out of bed to get my phone to check the time. So an alarm clock and power point near the bed would have been handy.
No free wi fi, $25 for 24 hours. I don't see why hotels don't offer free wi fi when my local coffee shop and even McDonalds offers free wi fi. Would have been happy to pay say $10 but $25 was a bit steep for my liking especially when I probably would have only used it for 2 hours max.
Also the movies on demand were also very expensive at $16.95 per movie. We would have booked one but not for that price. $6.95 or even $9.95 would have been more reasonable.
The room wasn't overly spacious but was big enough for an over night stay.
Overall would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends and family. You can't beat it for location and staff at the reception desk were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We really appreciate the detailed feedback as it gives us an opportunity to understand our guest needs and expectations. We were glad to read you found the room “very very clean” which were quiet complemented with a large bathroom – a necessity for relaxing after a long day of exploring and enjoying the complex and surrounds. The buffet breakfast on offer as you mentioned has a wide variety on offer, not to mention an egg station for eggs cooked any way you like and also very competitively priced compared to other similar hotels. I must apologise for there being no alarm clock in the room, this was overlooked by our Housekeeping department and this will be noted for future service improvement. We are also currently reviewing our internet offering and hopefully will have some further options for our guests in the near future.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and we will hopefully see you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned to Perth after 4 nights at the Crown Prom with a group of couples. From check in to check out we could not fault it. The rooms, ambience and professionalism from the staff was second to none. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The beautiful Crown Promenade is situated in a very exciting part of Melboourne. Right on the Yarra River with internal access to Crown Palladium - great place to stay when attending a function at the Palladium, as we did. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 40th birthday celebration with multiple rooms. Majority of our party stayed in the standard hotel rooms and we chose a corner room.

Upon check-in, staff were friendly and non-intrusive. The room was not ready as we had arrived on an early flight. They gladly stored our baggage and advised they would notify us when the room was available (which they did circa 10am). Making our way to the 14th floor, the lifts were quiet and efficient.

Entering the room, the first thing we noticed was the wide floor to ceiling windows which were a great surprise. Indeed a lot of natural light streamed in the room. The room was a fair size with a functional work station and large plasma television. Being a corner room there were two windows on each side looking out to the south. The vista was lovely and the size of the windows meant you didn't feel claustrophobic at all.

The hotel is located across the road from the (superior) Crown Towers and is located within easy walk of the Southbank precinct and the remainder of the Crown entertainment complex with it's plethora of restaurants, bars and gaming. The bed was comfy and an actual king size mattress .. always a pleasant surprise. The bathroom was of a decent size with a very workable vanity bench space for your toiletries which sadly lacks in a lot of establishments.

Now to the downsides ..

- The pillows were awful... although duck feather they were far too soft and uncomfortable.
- The towels were of varying size and standard. There were some towels that felt like king towels and others that felt like a washcloth! I thought it might have been an oversight on the part of housekeeping but after having the room serviced they were replaced with three very different ones (none of which were soft, plush or comfortable to use).
- The shower was indeed huge (unnecessarily so) as it had an awful shower rose with crap pressure. A real disappointment in a high end establishment.

With the benefit of hindsight, having seen the standard rooms, the price of the corner room does not equate. It appears that all the rooms are exactly the same in configuration and appointment, the only difference was that there were two windows in the room.

Overall, a decent stay for a decent establishment. I just can't help feeling that it missed the mark a little on the cons listed above. If the price was right, I guess we would return (or even try it's sister properties, the Towers and the Metropol).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.