We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless rooms, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spotless rooms, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Crown Promenade was just the hotel we needed to end our 3-city trip around Australia. The rooms were large and comfortable, and so so so clean. We felt right at home in the plush bed, lush amenities and gorgeous bathroom. It was hard to leave the room! The location was perfect. We had a plethora of restaurants to choose from with fare ranging from cheap to expensive, and the casino was merely steps away without the need to go outside. It was extremely easy to get out and around to explore the city. And the service there could not be faulted!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review, it was wonderful to read your positive comments which will be passed onto our team. Our Housekeeping Team will be very happy knowing you felt the room was “so so so clean” as they work hard every day to make sure high cleaning standards are maintained. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of the restaurants on offer and all the city sights on offer nearby.

Take care and hopefully we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    427
    100
    17
    25
See reviews for
167
414
48
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My besty gave me a wonderful birthday surprise which was a night in standard room in crown promenade. It was very nice we each had a queen size bed and so many tv channels. The downside my friend reckon was not enough privacy in the bathroom cos its pretty much 2 sliding doors cover up, u wouldnt think its that sound proof but i don't see it as a problem, u can just put on some music or have the tv louder. The price was surprisingly not as ridiculous as I would thought when its discounted. Definitely return to it only at discounted rate tho!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently had an overnight get away in the city and stayed at the Crown Promenade Hotel which is part of the Crown Casino.
Pros is it is a great location as you have everything you need at your finger tips, shops restaurants, entertainment easy parking etc, you don't even have to leave the complex if you don't want to. Room was very very clean. Huge bathroom and shower, nothing worse than a small hotel bathroom. Comfy bed and pillows. Selection of current magazines to read, nice sized TV. Crown robes and slippers to use. Mini bar but as all mini bars, ridiculously high prices. We did not use room service but the menu selection had a wide variety. Mesh restaurant located off the lobby had a scrumptious breakfast Buffett which we enjoyed. There was no noise from the hallways or noise from the outside traffic. Nice big window which had electric blinds and drapes that blocked out the morning sun. There was a kettle with milk, tea, coffee, sugar.
Cons, there was no alarm clock. I like to see the time if I wake up in the middle of the night especially when my phone wasn't on the bedside table as there was no power points near the bed, so I had to charge my phone at the power point on the desk. So when I woke up in the middle of the night I had to get out of bed to get my phone to check the time. So an alarm clock and power point near the bed would have been handy.
No free wi fi, $25 for 24 hours. I don't see why hotels don't offer free wi fi when my local coffee shop and even McDonalds offers free wi fi. Would have been happy to pay say $10 but $25 was a bit steep for my liking especially when I probably would have only used it for 2 hours max.
Also the movies on demand were also very expensive at $16.95 per movie. We would have booked one but not for that price. $6.95 or even $9.95 would have been more reasonable.
The room wasn't overly spacious but was big enough for an over night stay.
Overall would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends and family. You can't beat it for location and staff at the reception desk were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We really appreciate the detailed feedback as it gives us an opportunity to understand our guest needs and expectations. We were glad to read you found the room “very very clean” which were quiet complemented with a large bathroom – a necessity for relaxing after a long day of exploring and enjoying the complex and surrounds. The buffet breakfast on offer as you mentioned has a wide variety on offer, not to mention an egg station for eggs cooked any way you like and also very competitively priced compared to other similar hotels. I must apologise for there being no alarm clock in the room, this was overlooked by our Housekeeping department and this will be noted for future service improvement. We are also currently reviewing our internet offering and hopefully will have some further options for our guests in the near future.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and we will hopefully see you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned to Perth after 4 nights at the Crown Prom with a group of couples. From check in to check out we could not fault it. The rooms, ambience and professionalism from the staff was second to none. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The beautiful Crown Promenade is situated in a very exciting part of Melboourne. Right on the Yarra River with internal access to Crown Palladium - great place to stay when attending a function at the Palladium, as we did. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 40th birthday celebration with multiple rooms. Majority of our party stayed in the standard hotel rooms and we chose a corner room.

Upon check-in, staff were friendly and non-intrusive. The room was not ready as we had arrived on an early flight. They gladly stored our baggage and advised they would notify us when the room was available (which they did circa 10am). Making our way to the 14th floor, the lifts were quiet and efficient.

Entering the room, the first thing we noticed was the wide floor to ceiling windows which were a great surprise. Indeed a lot of natural light streamed in the room. The room was a fair size with a functional work station and large plasma television. Being a corner room there were two windows on each side looking out to the south. The vista was lovely and the size of the windows meant you didn't feel claustrophobic at all.

The hotel is located across the road from the (superior) Crown Towers and is located within easy walk of the Southbank precinct and the remainder of the Crown entertainment complex with it's plethora of restaurants, bars and gaming. The bed was comfy and an actual king size mattress .. always a pleasant surprise. The bathroom was of a decent size with a very workable vanity bench space for your toiletries which sadly lacks in a lot of establishments.

Now to the downsides ..

- The pillows were awful... although duck feather they were far too soft and uncomfortable.
- The towels were of varying size and standard. There were some towels that felt like king towels and others that felt like a washcloth! I thought it might have been an oversight on the part of housekeeping but after having the room serviced they were replaced with three very different ones (none of which were soft, plush or comfortable to use).
- The shower was indeed huge (unnecessarily so) as it had an awful shower rose with crap pressure. A real disappointment in a high end establishment.

With the benefit of hindsight, having seen the standard rooms, the price of the corner room does not equate. It appears that all the rooms are exactly the same in configuration and appointment, the only difference was that there were two windows in the room.

Overall, a decent stay for a decent establishment. I just can't help feeling that it missed the mark a little on the cons listed above. If the price was right, I guess we would return (or even try it's sister properties, the Towers and the Metropol).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here a week after the Crown Metropol Melbourne and liked it more. From the start the service was much better. Hayley at Reception was fantastic and explained everything that we needed to know. As our room was not quite ready she gave us an option to go up to the pool area to freshen up and when the room is ready the room key will be brought to us. While waiting at the pool we received complimentary refreshments which was very nice. Once we got to the room it was very nice with a great view of the city from the top floor.

The only things we did not find that good was when I rang for our car to be brought up we were told 10 minutes. We went down to reception after 10 minutes and the car wasn't there, so we waited another 5 minutes and I went and asked if the car is coming. The keys were still on the concierge desk and the car had not even been brought up. The other place of not the best service was Mesh for breakfast, better buffet then Mr Hive's at the Metropol but the service was lacking. Coffee was cold and a waiter was reading newspapers at the tables he was cleaning while we were eating still.

The hotel overall was very nice.

Room Tip: Any room on higher floors looking over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your experience at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We will certainly be sharing your positive comments with our Team, in particular Hayley who will be very happy to learn you felt on checkin she was “fantastic and explained everything we needed to know”. And whilst your room wasn’t ready upon arrival giving you the option of “freshening up” in our pool and gym area. It was also good to read you enjoyed your breakfast at the Mesh restaurant – which has a large variety and very competively priced compared to similar hotels. I was concerned to read about your wait for your vehicle, please accept our apologies and your feedback has been passed on the Deparment Manger to investigate.

Thanks again for the feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Promenade Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.