We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Saver
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Edenhope, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed recently to go to one of Pink's concerts (That was fantastic by the way!) and we had a lovely relaxing stay! Check in was a breeze, our room lovely with great view and we loved to pool! Everyone was very pleasant and helpful, including the pool manager who bought us out a yummy coffee the next morning while we were in the spa, that just topped off what was a great girly staycation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    459
    107
    17
    25
See reviews for
176
438
51
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camino CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights for a conference. Rooms are very modern and comfortable and staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant buffet breakfast is plentiful, fresh, and tasty! Good location to walking to the Riverfront shopping/amenities and to the downtown area to catch the City Circle free tram.

However, there was no bathtub in my room (although a nice large shower) or other colleagues' room I spoke with and the "hot tub" in the pool was only "warm" (both cause for the four star rating). I was told that because the hot tub flows into the infinite pool it cannot be kept any hotter (~32 Celsius = ~90 F). After a 15 hour flight from the USA, a good hot soak is always needed! Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Crown Promenade Melbourne. We were delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, it was great to read you found the “rooms very modern and staff very friendly and helpful” as we take immense pride in our service delivery. Mesh restaurant provides a variety of choice for the full buffet breakfast and is very competitively priced compared to similar hotels – there are a number of other options within the resort should from casual to more formal dining. In relation to the temperature of our spa we appreciate it may not have been warm enough for your liking, however we do have private Steam & Sauna rooms in both the male/female change-rooms which are available complimentary.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I have now stayed at all of the Crown hotels in Melbourne. This one seemed not quite as luxurious, but still a very high standard. Beds were extremely comfortable. And the shower in the bathroom was huge. I love how you don't even have to leave the Crown complex, everything is there that you need. Check in and out went smoothly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After staying at Crown Towers for the previous 4 nights, you definitely notice the difference in quality at Crown Promenade which is the more affordable property within the Crown complex.

Staff at check in were friendly and allowed me to check in early. They also were very helpful when my friend needed to get into the room while I was out with the key. The room was clean and contained all the basic amenities but the bathroom was on the small side.

The view from the room was spectacular and overlooked the Yarra and Melbourne City. The highlight of the room was the day bed / chaise lounge next to the full length window which was great for an afternoon snooze with a view.

Location is great, and the hotel is good. Would stay here again at the right price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed overnight with family when going to see Liverpool FC match.

Hotel is new, fresh and the room was everything you need. Breakfast very good, and the location is perfect. It is over the river from the city, but a nice walk either along the bank or straight across. It does join directly to the Casino, or better still to get outside and is just across the road. Was a couple of km walk to the MCG, but just perfect for the occasion.

Would happily stay there again if was on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This was the last leg of our British lions trip and this hotel is just fab ! Very Las Vegas though and the clever design means you can access the casinos and nightlife as much or as little as you want . Dining options in the complex are huge and we had excellent meals there ! Great staff and a fantastic gym ,pool and spa - would definitely be back ! Only one downside is no free wifi anywhere in hotel :( . Overall fantastic !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review, it’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay and your positive comments will be shared and appreciated by the Team. We’re glad to read to enjoyed all the facilities the Hotel and wider resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Promenade for the PAX convention. Was a great hotel, the room was great, everything was clean, the bathrooms were nice. The TV had so many channels! It was great watching Adventure Time and Regular Show marathons while getting ready to go out!

The only down side to my trip was the door keys! I had to get mine replaced every night because it stopped working! They say it happens when people keep them in those phone wallets and the magnets in the phone wipe the card. Although it continued to do it even when I stopped carrying it in my phone wallet. It's a minor annoyance especially considering the other 3 people in the room kept theirs in their phone wallets and they had no problems at all. It was just me :(

Overall it was a great place! Wish I had the time to check out the pool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.