We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Saver
Ranked #25 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very over priced for what are basic rooms. Staff are friendly enough but are not exactly going out of their way to be helpful. Stayed here on a business trip to Melbourne. Would I stay again..no.

The hotel reception seems cold and unwelcoming and generally the hotel has no character.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Whilst is was good to read you found the staff “friendly” it was disappointing you felt we didn't go out of our way to be helpful. Our rates fluctuate based on demand and generally are competitive with similar hotels in the CBD, whilst special events are on in Melbourne rates will generally be at a premium. We appreciate the styling of the Hotel may not be to everyone’s liking however it may be worth considering our 2 sister properties. The Crown Towers is the benchmark for luxury hotels whilst the Crown Metropol is a modern, fresh and vibrant hotel all located conveniently within Crown Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    535
    122
    22
    28
See reviews for
216
517
56
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalow via Byron Bay
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We've stayed at the Crown Promenade a few times now and it's got everything you need in a city room. The rooms are a bit long and narrow and there's no kitchenette (which is rare anyway) so you've got to fill the kettle in the bathroom (very common) but other than that, the beds are comfortable, the big full-wall-sized long windows are incredible to watch the fire lanterns that light up about 7pm every night. We would delay our dinner reservations just to make sure we could see the fire lanterns before heading out! We never tried the in-house breakfast as there's so many great cafes along the South Bank, then we'd head over the bridge and comb through the back alleys for outstanding cafes and graffiti "galleries". We love Melbourne and can't wait to return again. The other great reason to stay on the South Bank is that there's less traffic, being in the centre of the CBD seems dark and dingey whereas everything on the South Bank is quite light and airy. Trams are handy and we felt really safe walking around at night. The foyeur at the Crown is incredible by the way, massive lounges and huge ceilings, quite architecturally beautiful and mesmerizing.

Room Tip: get a room with a view over the river for sure, you can't miss the 7pm fire lanterns lightup eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views from the 16th floor!!! Room is spacious and clean, bed so comfy. Gorgeous bathroom. So close to DFO, walking distance :))). Superb service and friendly staff. Tonic Bar has lovely cocktails, we didn't eat here because we knew if other restaurants we liked!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of your stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. Our staff will be very pleased knowing you found their service “superb”. Tonic bar is our best kept secret and offers a range of delightful cocktails and bar snacks – one of the few bars you can get a seat on a Friday or Saturday night and have a discussion without having to shout. DFO and the CBD are only a short walk away with a tram-stop in front of the hotel if you feel like relaxing.

Thanks again for the positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for a week as my wife was attending 2 international nursing conferences. We were given a high level room with a view over the river, and this was of a very high standard. No complaints about anything, and the huge windows with a chaise lounge in front was really relaxing to look at the sunset. You expect quality when paying a good price and the furnishings, professional friendly staff and food made this a good place to stay, especially if one is attending a conference at the Exhibition Center which is close by. if it is raining you can walk through the rest of the complex and then its only a short cross over the road to enter the Exhibition center.So many choices of food in the whole Crown complex, casino and food court, as well as hundreds of places along the river. Also a good location to get the free tourist bus and just a 5 minute walk across the river to the free tram, to get to different parts of the city. Plenty of taxis outside to get anywhere in the city or to the airport. We definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a high level room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and daughter had 2 x standard rooms. Nice rooms but nothing over the top. Staff were very friendly and check in a breeze. Check out was extremely busy with a long wait. Pool is lovely with a great spa. Good gym with view of pool whilst on the treadmill however no water available in the gym. We have stayed at all 3 of the Crowns hotels in Melbourne with the Metropol being my favourite. They are all in a great location and staff have always been great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good accommodation and connected to casino complex and Towers and Esplanade hotels.
Basically you never have to leave the casino complex, with bars, restaurants, to suit all pockets and food types, pools, fitness suites, cinemas and shows. But all these are at a cost and the money flows out of your pocket like a waterfall, A$29.50 for breakfast, A$25 for Internet, drinks, food etc. A great destination as long as your bank balance stays in credit and far far cheaper than the adjacent Crown Towers.

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. It was terrific to read you had an enjoyable stay and with a plethora of restaurants and bars to choose from there is definitely something to suit any occasion. We also have a number of packages which include breakfast which may be something to consider on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a few days. Our room was very nice & comfortable. Service was good & friendly. The pool was awesome!!! And it is attached to the casino so it made it very easy for me to lose my money! :)
Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for the positive comments, our staff will really appreciate the feedback as they’re always striving to exceed our guest expectations. Our infinity pool is a great place to relax and is set at the perfect temperature in these colder months. Hopefully we'll see you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.