We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Saver
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

2 night stay in early June 2013 - Standard Twin Queen room got it on special for just over $150AUD/night.

Being the lowest category of crown hotels in southbank I did not expect the hotel to live up to its expectations. Sure the décor in the lobby and room are modern but with minimalistic design and you don't get all the added room/lobby extras as compared to other 5 star properties. The room was semi modern but may need slight refreshing in time. All your regular features are present, minibar, tv, sofa, desk, etc. I did not dine within the Promenade restaurants but there were several available. There was a great heated indoor 25m lap pool and gym facilities appeared to be more than adequate - the lap pool was fantastic and I ended up using it twice during my stay.

The location is just behind the crown towers - with an aerobridge connecting it to the casino floor. Lots of restaurants in close proximity. Great location if you have a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. A good 10-15min walk to Federation Square and main CBD.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    418
    97
    16
    25
See reviews for
166
410
49
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great room, perfect location and very friendly staff. My friend and I enjoyed our stay, you are a short walk to the casino via the air bridge. We had the buffet breakfast which was plentiful. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location to be having the best access to public transport because of the casino. Great staff will help you with anything you need, taxis/limos ect. rooms are tidy and have great views of the ocean or the city. Plenty of activities for the adults and kids in crown and also great restaurants. Full buffet breakfast is also great. Pool, spa, deck and gym are very nice and defiantly worth checking out while you stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that the smoking floor doesn't have a designated smoking area you actually smoke inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Greeted by the door man very early in the morning with an amazing welcome greeting. The check in process was fast, to the point and warm. Concierge service was operated by Bell service desk but had limited resources. I asked for a booking to be made for dinner but the attendant was on his break, I left details of my chosen restaurant and asked for a call to my room with confirmation. Being a Saturday, this request could not be fulfilled - I understand it was last minute but I called the restaurant from my room, and I managed to have a brilliant dinner 30 minutes later. The Gym was great and it was not crowded. The pool and surrounding facilities were amazing and so was the Gym and sauna/steam room facilities. I really enjoyed the staff there and really appreciated my privacy. The bar and restaurant was a true highlight to the start and finale of the day. My room was very comfortable and super clean - the housekeeping department is simply world class and I truly appreciate all that they do. It was so nice to come back to my room after my daily activities. The duty managers were right on it and I thank thee for your assistance in my various contact points. This is my third visit since its opening and I truly enjoy coming back. The service in this hotel is way brilliant and their management an absolute treasure, not to mention "sharp". The General Manager must be truly proud of a great team that keeps delivering cheer delight and amazing experiences to each and everyone of its guests.

Room Tip: The **79 series at the end of the hall have the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic stay in Melbourne for my birthday. Heaps of dining and drinking options available at the hotel. Close to city and shops. Would definitely stay again next time we go to Melbourne. it's worth upgrading to corner room! Also make reservations ahead of time if you wish to dine in most popular restaurants such as rockpool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent a romantic night with great views towards the city. Staff were very welcoming and provided us with chocolates and "bubbly" (complimentary) when they realise it was an anniversary. Day bed against window provided good views of the surrounding areas and towards the city. Access to all local attractions was ideal with easy transport links.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a great night here, the view isn't anything flash (we had friends stay and both of us were on opposite floors, theirs was a little better). The place was really clean. I like a clean bathroom! The bed was comfortable. Only problem was the elevators. Only 1 working. We told staff this on first day and on second day, Sunday morning checkout you literally had to wait 15 mins as the elevators were full and only 1 in operation. I came home and read other reviews saying the same from months ago. Obviously an ongoing problem they don't seem to care about. Apart from that it was great, but there are plenty of other hotels to chose from at that price so if you want perfection or don't like standing around waiting for elevators then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Crown Promenade.

Whilst we were happy to read you enjoyed your stay we can understand your frustration with the lifts being slow – please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. Unfortunately we had some intermittent faults with the 2 out of our 5 lifts over the weekend and whilst we attended to the issue unfortunately there were delays experienced at peak times. I can assure you we do care about the comfort of our guests and whilst lift malfunctions do occur occasionally they’re certainly not a common occurrence.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.