We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Saver
Ranked #25 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Narooma, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Faultless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our 5 night stay was spectacular! Room was on level 10 had a great view over the Casino and river. It was well appointed with quality fittings and fixtures, plenty of room and a big bathroom. Loved the chaise lounge in the window. We had other family staying in 4 rooms and we requested all rooms together, a request that was granted. Crown Prominade is ideally located to most of what Melbourne has to offer with a fantastic selection of restaurants and night venues. We purchased a good value 3 night package and extended by 2 nights. Overall a

Room Tip: Check out all the parking options if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    535
    122
    22
    28
See reviews for
216
517
56
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great location fantastic room. Have stayed in Melbourne many times but this is by far one of the best hotels I have been to. Beautiful city views. Had a King corner suite and was just lovely. LARGE bathroom and spacious room with great facilities. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have to say that this hotel has great rooms; good size, thoughtful facilities (including power adapter and WiFi), city views across Philip Bay and easy access to attractions and the CBD.

So far, so good. However .... We are staying here as part of a major event, international (I guess 40 nationalities for 9 nights, maybe 50% of the hotel). The bar, including bar food facilities shuts up shop effectively at 10:30, leaving no space or facilities for socialising for an international face to face meeting. You can't even take a glass to the lobby while the bar seating is locked!

They may as well put up a sign saying "Kindly don't trouble us with your business". An organisational travesty, so don't even think about using it for a convention or major national/international event. Maximum inflexibility and a combination of "it's more than my job's worth" and no, I can't take it up with the management".

A definite do not use unless you are a single business traveller, and even then beware the great Aussie welcome of the bar stuffed to the gills with Melbourne revellers, and that bane of international travellers, "Microphone Man". Maximum volume with minimum entertainment value for four hours on a Tuesday night. Avoid like the plague until the mangement gets guest friendly. Staff are great, mangement should be running a hotel in 1970s Poland. Sorry guys, but ask any of our group this week.

Room Tip: High room as far as possible from "Microphone Man"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time the review our hotel.

Whilst we were delighted to read you are enjoying the hotel’s room and facilities we were disappointed to read about your experience in our bar – please accept our sincere apologies. I can assure you our guest comfort is our highest priority and your comments have been passed onto the F&B Manager for follow-up. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail and are available to do so 24/7 on (03) 9292 8160.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was great value for money
The beds are very comfortable with lovely down filled pillows
The room had great views and was roomy
The pool was amazing and lovely temperature with both a steam room and sauna .
We has the breakfast Buffett which had a huge selection

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on a work trip & found it very convenient to be able to walk to my office as well as take a stroll into the city in spare time. The gym with it's sauna & steam room was a bonus, as was the proximity to the pleasant river promenade. Comfortable room, nothing special, but the view from the 20th floor was nice. Would stay here again if the price was right. Only thing I didn't like was the air-con but I managed to turn it off at night. Probably wouldn't like it here myself in the summer as I much prefer "fresh" air (or at least an open window/balcony) to air-con...but that's just me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumeu, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful four nights in a corner suite on the 22 floor - absolute luxury for us (wedding anniversary treat). We have stayed in the Crown twice before and visit number 3 was the best yet. We will go back again next year we've decided. Location is just the best - walk everywhere, restaurants galore all very close plus the new outlet shopping mall - all the shopping you could want. The waterfront location could not be more convenient and the views of the city and river are amazing. All staff are very, very helpful and friendly - nothing too much trouble. We had the Friday meal in the hotel restaurant ($50.00 a head for all you can eat, 3 courses) and would highly recommend. So all in all, we love the Crown Promenade Melbourne and we will definitely stay there again - next year, all going well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, easy walking access to city and transport (+ free tourism shuttle and tram) The rooms are good size, 4 adults in twins queens beds. Great showers, wanted to bring it home. Two negatives - 1. bathroom has no fan so the room steams up. 2. the pillows are too thin/soft found them uncomfortable otherwise bed is comfortable. Staff were lovely only wish they would provide more information about the premises. Especially to promote access to casino without having to cross the road. I don't even know if they have a child access to restaurants without crossing the road. I had to ask for maps on the premises and around Melbourne. It would have been nice to be looked after at checkin especially knowing we flew in from another state. Would I do it again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Crown Promenade Melbourne.

We were happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall and whilst you found our staff “lovely” during check-in you have certainly identified some areas we can improve on.

There is access via an air bridge across to the main complex which allows access for children and there are foam pillows in the wardrobe and a wider selection from our Housekeeping department upon request.

Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.