We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service so bad, I went home before I stayed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service so bad, I went home before I stayed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon receiving a gift certificate for a nights accommodation for my birthday, I decided to make a luxurious de-stress veg-out weekend of it and pay for a second. The intention was to order room service and watch movies with a do not disturb sign for two whole days! Josh in reservations amazingly helpful in making this happen.

Upon arrival, the valet was helpful. Check-in staff on the other hand were rude, uninviting, disengaging and yet they are the faces of an otherwise decent hotel where myself and other family members have stayed before for work purposes.

How hard is it to make eye contact and say "I won't be a moment" before finalising the previous transaction without leaving other guests in a line feeling unwelcome and uncomfortable?;
To say "hello, how are you?" with genuine interest rather than having yours guests stand in front of the desk like stunned mullets and having to initiate the conversation themselves?;
To accommodate guests rather than make them feel at fault and embarassed for banking with the wrong bank or not having enough credit cards when there is an issue with the banking systems and offer a room "but you won't be able to charge anything to it until we verify your details tomorrow' am I to starve on my seemingly not so luxurious de-stress veg-out weekend?

All of the above was experienced today which may have been avoided if your staff member had communicated that the hotel was experiencing difficulties with my preferred banking partner prior to me transferring all monies to the VISA which I did in front of her (I could have paid eftpos). There are certainly better methods in handling these situations and I was most unimpressed on how the check-in agent, the duty manager, and absolutely disgusted with the actions of the front office manager.

Not open to being treated as second-rate, I packed up and drove home with no real motivation to re-book.

Promenade, you're check-in staff are lacking the basic courtesies and interpersonal skills expected in a hotel of your calibre. I've stayed in better hotels worldwide and yet couldn't even get through the doors of yours and am hesitant to roll up again - I would much rather cross the road to towers where the service is faultless end-to-end. Perhaps it may be an idea to ship some of your check-in staff over also to re-cap on some basic training.

Would anyone like a gift certificate?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was concerned to learn of your experience which is certainly not characteristic of the service provided by our team. As we discussed with you unfortunately when you arrived at the hotel we required a bond for the room which I understand caused some discussion with our staff. I’m sorry if we didn't clearly explain the options available to you for payment of the bond, including withdrawing cash from the ATM which is located in the lobby.

I notice you have re-booked for March and we will ensure you have a more positive experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9292 8160 at your convenience so we can discuss this in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    394
    93
    14
    24
See reviews for
154
389
48
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and was impressed by ability to give me an early check in .i had to pay a bit extra for the room but the view from my corner room was worth it. Breakfast room was a bit of a barn and service a bit hit or miss. Other hotel staff were pleasant but the hotel does seem to be heavily weighted toward the hordes visiting the casino. Another downside was the cost of wifi which was extortionate

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here in December and it was our second visit. I just love this hotel! The beds are king sized and superbly comfortable, the pillows to die for and the linen is perfect. I found out on checkout that all can be purchased online! Those pillows can't come soon enough! All this means you have a perfect night's rest. I particularly like the day bed which lies along the huge picture window which overlooks the city. The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are well maintained. We never dine here so I can't comment. The position is great. The hotel links into the casino on the second floor via a fairly private walkway. Within the Casino and along the Southbank Boulevard are a huge selection of restaurants and if you don't mind a bit of a hike, forget the stilettos, you can continue over the road into another large dining precinct. This also joins up with the Performing Arts Centre and then if you cross the bridge you have Federation Square with a wonderful collection by some of Australia's greatest artists and more restaurants.
If you have more energy you can head into the heart of Melbourne with it's funky lane ways and many quirky eating places serving sensational food of every cuisine. I love Melbourne! The swimming pool at Crown Promenade is glorious! I had the pool to myself and it over looks this magnificent city! So much to do and see in Melbourne. Book a show if you have advance knowledge of a visit. I forgot to mention that there is quite a good craft market winding around the theatres during the day on weekends. Quality reminders of your visit to Melbourne!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Centrally situated on the Southbank and handy for most attractions especially using the free city circle tram. Room and leisure facilities are of a very high standard. The hotel is part of a huge entertainment complex including extensive casino facilities. On arrival we were given directions to the city using an internal walkway which took you into the casino. Some may find this off-putting however this can be avoided by exiting via the hotel lobby. Overall a good choice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening from New Zealand feeling tired, I asked for a good room and my wish was certainly granted. Magnificent views. Comfortable bed, powerful shower. Staff on front desk were very helpful. In the morning we tried to use the ATM in the foyer which swallowed our card, only to be told that it was not the property of the hotel, though they did try to contact the company for us.

Room Tip: Ask! It worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were only on a one night stop over but it was a very comfortable night rest. We booked s corner room and it was lovely. The bed and pillows were amazing, like sleeping on a cloud. The staff are very friendly and the room service is really tasty. Recommend the lasagne and the club sandwich ( a hotel standard by which all room service should be judged). We were very happy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Heading to Melbourne for a girls shopping weekend and we decided to stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. I contacted reservations to make a booking and all was going well until I I requested a NON SMOKING room and they told me there was no guarantee that we would be able to have this type of room and we would have to take what is available on time of arrival. So we have booked another hotel who has met all our requirements. Disappointed !!

Room Tip: Hotel can not guarantee you will get e room you request.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Let me start by apologising if you felt we were being unhelpful when you made enquiries with us.

We endeavour to meet all our guest requests however this may not always be possible so to avoid disappointment we do not guarantee any room requests. Should any of our guests be checked into a room they are unhappy with we will move them immediately to ensure they enjoy their stay.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.