We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but watch out for ATM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Aylesbury
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great views but watch out for ATM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening from New Zealand feeling tired, I asked for a good room and my wish was certainly granted. Magnificent views. Comfortable bed, powerful shower. Staff on front desk were very helpful. In the morning we tried to use the ATM in the foyer which swallowed our card, only to be told that it was not the property of the hotel, though they did try to contact the company for us.

Room Tip: Ask! It worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    394
    93
    15
    24
See reviews for
154
389
48
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were only on a one night stop over but it was a very comfortable night rest. We booked s corner room and it was lovely. The bed and pillows were amazing, like sleeping on a cloud. The staff are very friendly and the room service is really tasty. Recommend the lasagne and the club sandwich ( a hotel standard by which all room service should be judged). We were very happy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Heading to Melbourne for a girls shopping weekend and we decided to stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne. I contacted reservations to make a booking and all was going well until I I requested a NON SMOKING room and they told me there was no guarantee that we would be able to have this type of room and we would have to take what is available on time of arrival. So we have booked another hotel who has met all our requirements. Disappointed !!

Room Tip: Hotel can not guarantee you will get e room you request.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Let me start by apologising if you felt we were being unhelpful when you made enquiries with us.

We endeavour to meet all our guest requests however this may not always be possible so to avoid disappointment we do not guarantee any room requests. Should any of our guests be checked into a room they are unhappy with we will move them immediately to ensure they enjoy their stay.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed there with some friends and we had the room with 2 queen beds in it. Its not the most spacious room, however you are right in the middle of the Crown and central to so many things. I booked on an early bird price and got so much value for money. The rooftop pool which is indoor is amazing. You can swim up to the edge and look across the city. It also has a gym which is fabulous and choice for so many foods in and around the Crown. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Great for a short stay as there is not alot of room. If its a clean bed and central location that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My colleagues and I exhibit at the convention centre twice a year so the hotel is excellent being a short stroll across the road! Hotel staff are always friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is amazing! The rooms are set out very well and the bed is amazing as soon as my head hits the pillow I'm asleep! The only thing that I do not like is the lighting in the bathrooms, it is almost impossible to apply makeup in that kind of light!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay there every so often, they have 2 penthouse suites that are never advertised, when we can get one, we stay there.
It adjoins the Casino and all of its attractions, it is all airconditioning thru the corridors.

Good value but the range of food at breakfast is better at the Crown next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Coming to Melbourne almost every week for business, this is by far, my favourite place to stay. Food is good, service is excellent, location is perfect, rates are reasonable, room is lovely, hotel is bright and has a good vibe. My only thumbs down is that the gym and pool close at 9pm, which for me, is too early. :(

Room Tip: If you can get a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.