We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed I've ever slept in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Saver
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best bed I've ever slept in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My colleagues and I exhibit at the convention centre twice a year so the hotel is excellent being a short stroll across the road! Hotel staff are always friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is amazing! The rooms are set out very well and the bed is amazing as soon as my head hits the pillow I'm asleep! The only thing that I do not like is the lighting in the bathrooms, it is almost impossible to apply makeup in that kind of light!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    459
    107
    18
    25
See reviews for
176
441
51
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stay there every so often, they have 2 penthouse suites that are never advertised, when we can get one, we stay there.
It adjoins the Casino and all of its attractions, it is all airconditioning thru the corridors.

Good value but the range of food at breakfast is better at the Crown next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Coming to Melbourne almost every week for business, this is by far, my favourite place to stay. Food is good, service is excellent, location is perfect, rates are reasonable, room is lovely, hotel is bright and has a good vibe. My only thumbs down is that the gym and pool close at 9pm, which for me, is too early. :(

Room Tip: If you can get a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Perfect w/end on a busy weekend for the hotel.checked in early and love the 11 am checkout. Breakfast was great except for poor coffee the only negative if that's a negative. Staff amazing great location pool fantastic, room awesome why wouldn't you want to stay there? Price of room great..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We regularly stay at Crown Promenade whenever there's a special occasion for a family member's birthday. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, the rooms are spacious, modern and luxurious which makes for a relaxing time in the hotel. The restaurant downstairs is amazing and the views from our hotel room which look out across to the Yarra River are awesome! There's nothing to fault about this hotel, and i would recommend it for people to stay in Melbourne :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Usually stay here when staying in the city. Rooms are always spotless, and staff are consistantly excellent. Only minus is rooms do not have a bath. This is reflected in the price I realise, but it would be a real bonus, particularly for people staying for more than one night. On the other hand the showers are huge - just not as relaxing as a soak in a bath after a long day. Location is convenient, and for those who like to punt or party to the wee small hours, as I did after our work Chrissy party, it is a safe walk back to your room as it is connected to the Casino rather than braving the streets to another Hotel. On this occasion I also used room service for my evening meal. The house sparkling wine was reasonably priced (and not cheap and nasty) and the meal was very nice. This is not to be confused with a fine meal at a restaurant, but considering the distance from kitchen to each room it was very satisfactory. Views seem to be good from most rooms I have stayed in. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 5-days and it was a good temporary home and a base for business in Melbourne.
- Modern and spacious rooms
- Good and quick service with a smile
- The hotel restaurant was good although I felt guilty eating there with all the opting available in the Crown center just across the street

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.