We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Very Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Very Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a great night! Room was very clean and all up to date!
Breakfast had a great selection. Service could have been a bit better. Struggled to get cutlery and coffee.
Pool is amazing! Nice hot spa in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    394
    93
    14
    24
See reviews for
154
389
48
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for work, found it very accessible to CBD and well resourced for after work relaxation. Having the Crown complex resources but being able to escape the carnage was great. I initially thought this would be the "poor cousin" to the Crown but I actually preferred it to the main hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Overall, very satisfied with the hotel: nice location and fantastic room. It's twin room has 2 queen-sized beds and the 3 of us (all adults) could stay in the same room comfortably...helps save cost. They allow up to 4 adults in a twin room. (I think hotels in Melbourne aren't cheap but still not as expensive as Syndey). Breakfast was pretty good and serves a variety of western and Chinese dishes. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The only thing that would need improvement is the staff's attention to details. I have to book the first night on my own as a separate reservation while the rest of the nights were booked as part of a congress package. Although the 2 reservations were linked, the reception staff did not inform me that the nights booked as the congress package include breakfast and wifi connection (I specifically asked how can I get complimentary wifi connection). Even if this was not noticed by the reception at check-in, I thought the staff who re-activated my card for the latter part of my reservation should have noticed this. The good thing is they were quick to realise their mistake when I asked and gave me the breakfast vouchers for the remaining nights without further questions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time the give us some feedback – our team will be very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and found them to be “friendly and helpful”.

We are always looking to improve our guest experience so we appreciate your comments in regards to not being informed of the free WIFI and breakfast inclusions, please accept our apology. It was pleasing to read that the team responded quickly once the oversight was discovered.

Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Crown Promenade.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nts and had a rollaway bed for our child. This made our room a bit snug but otherwise it would have been more spacious. The bathroom area was very nice too. The view down the street to the Yarra river was pretty and to see the Melbourne city lights in the evening was nice too. We had buffet breakfast daily and it had everything you could have wanted. They may wish to consider having a bowl of sultanas which is nice to put on your bircher muesli or cereals. There is a chef like in many asian hotels to cook eggs how you want, omelette, fried etc. There really is lots of variety at buffet. Bonus that just off the foyer and near the lifts there is a a coffee stand. Never seen this is in a hotel and it was always busy. Great idea. Maybe it's a Melbourne thing.

Conveniently located on the outskirts of the CBD, so a short stroll into the heart of the city and even closer to the Crown Casino - connected by a skywalk. If you have kids with you just down the block is a huge arcade playzone which is open till late and very popular. There is also a shopping and small food court with fast food only that you can access through the hotel walkways too. Staff were great and very friendly. Smooth check-in & check-out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed three happy comfortable days at the Crown Promenade. My room was beautiful and generously serviced daily. Everything was clean and of high quality and room service was excellent value - prompt and delicious. The view was good and the lounge seat very comfortable. The desk is super convenient with multiple powerpoints.

All staff were courteous and professional. This is a smooth slick establishment. I will definitely stay again.

I enjoyed walking along the river and through the city. Location was great for all my needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent several nights in the Crown Promenade and it was an excellent base for discovering the delights of Melbourne. Sited just over the river Yarra it gives easy access to what is an interesting and exciting city.The Crown Complex surrounding the hotel has a comprehensive number of shopping possibilities together with restaurants,cafes and a cinema. The hotel is all that I expected. The only negative point was the off hand way the concierge service dealt with our requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay at Crown Promenade, many of our guests agree with your comments and enjoy the Hotel’s central location on Southbank. There are many restaurants, bars and entertainment in the resort, the surrounds of Southbank or a short walk into the city.

Please accept our apologies if you felt the Concierge service dealt with your requests in an “off hand way”. This will be passed on to the Department Manager for review.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe Uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is close to the centre of Melbourne and is part of the Crown Complex which is huge. there is another Hotel with Casino, which needs to be seen to be believed. There are restaurants’, bars, night clubs, leisure facilities and more! The Promenade is quiet in comparison to its sister hotel. We were tempted to upgrade to a corner room which had city views and was well appointed with all mod cons. Wi-Fi was poor and really expensive at $25 per day, per device!!!! Outrageous! it should be free! Breakfast was well presented although at $30 per head, not cheap. Our stay coincided with the Melbourne Cup which was an amazing experience in itself, so much elegance and finery and a contenent that comes to a halt at 3.00pm on race day!

Room Tip: The upgrade to a corner room was a good idea and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.