We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Town Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Felixstowe UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Down Town Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is close to the centre of Melbourne and is part of the Crown Complex which is huge. there is another Hotel with Casino, which needs to be seen to be believed. There are restaurants’, bars, night clubs, leisure facilities and more! The Promenade is quiet in comparison to its sister hotel. We were tempted to upgrade to a corner room which had city views and was well appointed with all mod cons. Wi-Fi was poor and really expensive at $25 per day, per device!!!! Outrageous! it should be free! Breakfast was well presented although at $30 per head, not cheap. Our stay coincided with the Melbourne Cup which was an amazing experience in itself, so much elegance and finery and a contenent that comes to a halt at 3.00pm on race day!

Room Tip: The upgrade to a corner room was a good idea and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    350
    81
    13
    24
See reviews for
135
339
45
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My girlfriends and I have been coming to stay here for the past 3 years. Every year the staff have been very welcoming and friendly. We love that we don't have to leave the Crown Complex to eat , or go out. We all feel very safe staying there and the views are amazing!! This is the first year we have had City views and wow we felt so special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Sometimes i feel my hotel Duty Manager backroud gives me an edge, in terms of knowing the ins and outs of a hotel and its procedures and sometimes I wish I didnt have the expectations and certain level of standards because this hotel, from arrival to departure was a disgrace! Arrival: bags were taken 'take them to the conference room please' 'oh I cant do that, somebody. . . ' Check In: issues with credit cards even though specifying prior to arrival that all charges to master account, Abhi at the reception desk was rude, unaccommodating and stubborn. So we called our group manager in front of him and sorted it, could he not have rather than being so abrasive to us and the girl checking us in? Housekeeping: to have a shirt pressed at 5pm an delivered no later than 3pm incurrs a 100% surcharge?! Why dont you just say a price, this alone makes you feel uncomfortable! Still wasnt back by 3pm however. . Evans in conferencing is the hotels saviour, without him my next few stays here would be unbareable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Crown Promenade.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered whilst staying with us and we will be reviewing your comments in detail with the relevant department managers to ensure we provide our guests with the best possible experience.

We hope you give us another opportunity to make your next stay a more positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel, for the price - represents a shocking value proposition.

The room is dated and poorly thought out - while it includes the crowd pleasers such as a large TV and cookie cutter art, it is very impractical. For example, a giant shower cubicle with a tiny shower head in one corner, and lighting system that depends on a key card being put in a slot like a 3 star hotel.

The ambiance on Friday and Saturday nights feels like a tacky nightclub - loud and full of drunks stumbling through the lobby. Also, the staff seem to not have been trained to the level that is expected of a 4 star hotel. They are not perceptive or proactive - and have a nasty habit of presenting problems rather than solutions.

For example - my key card had stopped working, and I went to the desk and gave my name and room number. The agent responded "this is under a woman's name" in an accusatory and unhelpful tone - instead of looking further down the reservation and seeing I was a secondary guest, without questioning the guest as anyone with basic customer service training would have done.

The location is mediocre - unless if you like sad attempts at recreating Las Vegas in the Southern Hemisphere. Our room overlooked criss crossing motorways, and it was a trek to get anywhere outside of the casino complex.

Had we not been here for a conference, we never would have stayed - but we regretted not staying elsewhere. There are better, classier hotels in the area. Even with a conference rate you will not get value for money or feel satisfied staying here unless you enjoy casinos and malls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building - no freeway views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

It was very disappointing to read your comments in regards to your stay with us and is certainly not characteristic of the level of service we wish our guests to experience.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail, to do so contact us on (03) 9292 8160.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for her 50th birthday before we moved to an apartment as had a few more to come wow it was so good didn't want to leave, Hotel was gorgeous well appointed fantastic service nice and clean will certainly go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The rooms in this hotel was nice, the rooms had a nice view of the city, the rooms were clean and the sleep quality was good. however for the price of the stay i would have expected a little bit more from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night for my sister's 21st Birthday.

The room was clean, well designed and had a fantastic view of the city. I would highly recommend use of the fitness and pool areas, both are tranquil, modern and just gorgeous! The pool is an infinity pool and is quite serene. The spa is relaxing and nice and warm :)
Reception staff were helpful and very friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel. I have been here twice and will hopefully be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.