We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On costs spoil visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Saver
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“On costs spoil visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel and very handy. Very annoying on charges - 1.6% credit card fee and Internet charge per device - even though room is wireless. Amazing hotels still try and milk consumers for small amounts.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Whilst it was great to read that you find us to be a “good hotel and very handy” we apologise if you think we are “milking consumers for small amounts” this is certainly not our intention. Our costs are in line with other hotels, and we are constantly reviewing these to ensure we are competitive with similar standard hotels in Melbourne and Australia.

By maintaining a reasonable cost structure we are able to ensure the service and amenities provided to our guests are of high quality whilst not dramatically increasing our room rates. This we believe is also fair to our customers who may not utilise these services by not having them for free and building the additional costs into our room rates. The credit card surcharge may also be avoided by paying in cash or by EFTPOS, both accepted at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    458
    107
    17
    25
See reviews for
175
437
51
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great place to stay for a racing weekend in town. Easy access to Crown Casino and Southbank bars and food. Fantastic service and very convenient with comfortable beds and a great view. Hoping to come back next carnival.

Room Tip: Just check - if booking an internet room does not mean you get free internet, means you can pay to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the terrific review, our team will be happy to know they met your expectations with “Fantastic service”.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Been at this hotel before but the level of service provided this time was average. Was left really disappointed. Booked a package this time for my husbands birthday. Had to continually ring service desk to get components of it. Nothing organised. They couldnt even get the delivery of the paper right and the complimentary chocolates.

Whilst location is great and rooms are nice the service was very lack lustre. They even stuffed up the reversal of my bond from my credit card. Took over a week to get my funds freed again.

Room Tip: Double king rooms are great for a family with one or two kids. Sufficient space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We were very disappointed to read of your experience and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.

We would appreciate if you would call us on (03) 9292 8160 to discuss your concerns in more detail.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a conference in October - the conference was held in the same hotel/conference centre so was very handy. The location is great - a short walk from the city and lots of great restaurants and bars very close by. The food court in the Casino complex was very handy for a quick and inexpensive dinner, but the food is very average. You would be better off spending a couple of dollars more at one of the better restaurants in the complex. The hotel itself has a restaurant that is open for breakfast every day, but not every night, so you will need to venture out or order room service if you want dinner mid-week. Clean and comfortable rooms, view was a bit ordinary but then who stays in their room when there's Melbourne to explore? Friendly and attentive staff although at least one of the waitresses at breakfast could do with a refresher course on hospitality. Overall definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We receive many positive comments about the location of the hotel, particularly from those attending conferences in house or at MCEC which is only a 5min walk away. The food court is a convenient however as you pointed out with numerous restaurants and cafés on offer there is something for everyone from casual to fine dining.

We are fortunate, unlike many other city hotels, to have uninterrupted views of the city and should you have any specific requests we are always happy to accommodate when there is availability. Our team will be pleased to be given the feedback they were mostly “friendly and attentive”, your comments in regards to the one waitress at breakfast will be passed on to the Restaurant Manager for review.

Thanks again for your feedback and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crown Promenade in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is very good and if you like to visit the casino there is a connecting bridge to the venue.
Our room was on Level 20 providing us with a great view of Melbourne. Nice to be able to sit in the window on a long lounge and take in the scenery.
Pool area is clean with a nice spa.
The Hotel is only a short walk from dozens of restaurants including the Crown complex and Southbank.
Staff at the Hotel are very friendly and attentive to any request. Had breakfast the next morning and the staff were always looking after the tables and providing tea and coffee on a regular basis.
Happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everytime I go to Melbourne, I stay at the Crown Promenade. I usually round up 3 girlfriends and we stay in a twin room for the weekend. The hotel is in a great location - part of the Crown Complex - and only a short walk to dozens of restaurants on Southbank. The pool area is great, always very clean and with a nice spa adjoining the pool. There is a little cafe where you can order drinks, or alternatively order room service meals. We loved having our meals delivered to the garden area where we could lay in the rare Melbourne sun! The rooms are of a decent size, the bathrooms are stunning and the staff are consistently friendly. I will continue to choose Crown Promenade for my Melbourne getaways!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We decided to stay here for a night over the Cup weekend and I booked the corner room about 2 months in advance for a terrific discounted price. The hotel was great, valet parking, easy inside access to Crown Entertainment but a couple of points about our 'corner room. '

Don't take as gospel the pics and plans on the website of the rooms. We love the floor to ceiling windows but didn't expect that a third of it would be WALL. The pics don't show you that. And the higher up, the better the view- we didn't specify this upon check in. Perhaps then we would have been happier with the view, so ask for a room on a floor higher than the 5th. And the phone? It's supposed to be high tech and we consider ourselves computer savvy, but we could not work out how to ring down to the front desk/reception/concierge to get our car when we were leaving. This was quite annoying, but that aside, bed was super comfy and bathroom had a 2 person shower.

Even though we have sought a top price for accomm wherever we go and have never come across being given a 'lesser' quality room, we felt this was the case on this particular stay. Next time I get a 'good deal' on line, Ill double check the room configuration and specify a higher floor, so that it meets my personal requirements, and not be given a Special Discounted Corner Room, because I didn't pay top price. That's how we felt, let down. Lesson learnt.

Room Tip: Inquire into how the room actually looks if you want an unobstructed view in your corner room and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.