We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Promenade Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Saver
Ranked #26 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Crown Promenade Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Rooms are standard size, bathroom is a good size - well stocked condiment area with a coffee/tea, snack selection and a mini bar. Pay for internet. Views of the CIty and Yarra River are pleasant. Buffet Breakfast was a complete selection from cereals to made to order omeletts, pasties and fresh fruits selctions. Easy to walk to Crown movie theater, shopping area and Restaurant selections either by the Casino or Yarra River views. Free Tourist Shuttle within 5-10 minutes from hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator on any floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    543
    126
    23
    28
See reviews for
223
529
57
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Crown Promenade is in a fantastic location, with very nice, clean, well appointed rooms. Would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We love the Promenade Hotel! The rooms are lovely and modern and the views are sensational. It is the perfect location -- especially when going to dinner at The Crown -- you never have to walk outside if you don't want to! The 25 metre infinity edge pool is the best pool/spa in a city hotel that we've ever used -- the kids love it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very nice hotel excellent room with views of the river Yarra and city. We arrived early in the morning and faced a long wait to get into our room (2.00pm check in). The lady on reception took my mobile number we went for a walk and she phoned when the room was ready, this at 11.00 am, excellent service!

Not all perfect however, if you have a car you can only have valet parking and the price of this varies daily from A$30 to A$40 - a rip off.

The cost of internet access in the room is also very high (A$28 per day)

Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to the main attractions and is directly connected to the Casino which has several restaurants and a very good food court.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was pleasing to read your room was ready for your early arrival and your positive comments in relation to the service you received is appreciated. We apologise for any misunderstanding in regards to the car parking rates, our in house guests receive the set rate of $28.00 per car per day however for non-hotel guests the price does fluctuate based on demand. Our internet fee is $25.00 for 24 hours and we do have other options for guests who may need to just quickly check something on the internet without signing up for 24hours – once again please accept our apologies if this wasn’t explained to you.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our daughter wanted to stay in Melbourne to celebrate her 8th birthday, and chose Promenade from a list of hotels near the restaurant chosen for dinner. Princess.

Her assessment of the room: Amazing. It was great to look out of the big window from high up, and I could see the sea. I loved the big shower and the big television.

My assessment: Basically, I'd agree with her assessment of the room. We had two queen-sized beds which were very comfortable, the bathroom was well sized and usable. The room was clean and functional. And my pet rating: even the iron and board were in good condition.

What was bad was check-out.

We booked and paid for the room online, through the Crown Promenade website. The booking was in my wife's name. At check-in and check-out she presented her Crown Club card, but was refused the membership discount on the grounds it had already been factored into the room price. Rubbish. At no time did the booking system have knowledge of Crown Club membership, and we took a rate that was available to anyone.

Anyone can make mistakes, but for the check-out person to stand her ground and ARGUE the situation for almost ten minutes was not good sense. A quick call to a manager was the appropriate action to quickly fix the problem and move on to the next customer.

A pity, this reduced our opinion of an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during check-out, please call us on (03) 9292 8160 so we may discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A very good hotel in a good location south of the Yarra River. The staff were very friendly and helpful (there were staff to open the doors of the hotel for us - as if we were royalty!). It is easy to walk to the city centre from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for the terrific review.

Your positive comments will be shared with our team who take immense pride and care to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The views were stunning from our room, with floor to ceiling windows in bedroom and bathroom.
The staff were very helpful as we had arived to see the Grand Prix but our tickets were still in England. We were given directions to the transport for the day, and had a fantastic time. The hotel is well placed for transport around the town and has a courtesy bus if needed. A wonderful stay -would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks for the positive review.

Many of our guests comment on and appreciate the views from our rooms which isn’t always the case with city hotels. As we’re located on Southbank it’s only a small walk into the city centre or you are more than welcome to take our complimentary hotel shuttle with stops throughout the city.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we’ll see you back for next years’ GP.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.