We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel for me in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Promenade Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Promenade Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Promenade Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Saver
Ranked #24 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“New hotel for me in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Well located for Southbank, convention centre, and casino (if that is your taste. Good service and friendly staff. Only stayed one night on a business trip so no time to sample all facilities !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    459
    107
    17
    25
See reviews for
176
439
51
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Was in Melbourne for business and had two nights three days at the Crown Promenade

A great hotel in a great location. Shops, restaurants and things to do all on your doorstep. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their faces.

My room was on 22 floor with a great view of Melbourne CBD.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a place to say either for holiday or for business.

I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Great position, particularly if you want to be close to the river and the casino. A little to busy for my liking. The queue at checking was long. However, the staff were friendly and helpful. Well priced for the area and a lot cheaper than the Crown.

Room Tip: The views from the higher floors facing the river are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review, the staff will appreciate your positive feedback that they were "friendly and helpful" as we always take immense pride in our service delivery.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Good hotel, what you would expect from a Crown run off. Location is perfect apart from the casino in your face 24/7. Everything you want from a short trip to Melbourne, easy walk to everything, shopping, sports centres, best restaurants in Oz without doubt, the options are plentiful everywhere you go. Service at hotel is excellent and rooms are comfortable enough for a short stay. Recommend it for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The entrance /lobby is stunning...the decor is very contemporary, open and spacious. The lobby is done in shades of grey, black and white with accents of red,....has large comfy seating areas with a massive modern sculpture. It's warm and inviting.

Reception staff/ Reservation: The line to check in was a bit long but the staff worked fast and it moved quickly. The front desk was very pleasant, but not over friendly. Our reservation was incorrect, they had us booked for one night, we booked for three. We had all our paperwork and confirmation number, but it took the clerk some time calling, checking and correcting with the reservation staff. The young woman helping us was polite and patient. We were given our key and directed to the elevators. There was no mention about our bags. We walked towards the bellman's desk, we spotted our bags, but the two young men there were busy, we waited some more and were not acknowledged. No one blinked an eye as we rolled our bags away. So far....loved the decor.....not impressed with the staff.

Our room was large with plenty of surface space, large closet with plenty of hangers and side shelves for our clothing. The decor, like the lobby was beautiful. The bathroom was stocked with good quality amenities, a powerful hair dryer, 2400 watts and plenty of towels. The lighting was not the best much to dim. But a good hair dryer can change your outlook.

Housekeeping: I called for an extra box of tissues, we were having sinus issues/cold, which was delivered almost before I hung up the phone.....but the next day housekeeping failed to check the box in the bath which only had two tissues and we ran out during the night. The quality of service was not consistent.

The location of this hotel could not be beat....everything was in walking distance. The Crown Entertainment Complex has a number of resturants and a casino. We walked to the free trollies which made getting around a breeze.
Our few interactions with the staff were not the best, but we were very impressed with the beauty of the property, the location, the facilities offered and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at the Hotel.

As you mentioned we've recently completed a refurbishment of our lobby and the response from our guests has been very positive. Crown prides itself on constantly updating our facilities and products on offer to ensure our guests have the best experience possible, we recently completed a refurbishment of our bathrooms to ensure they are in immaculate condition. The hotel is connected via an airbridge to the main complex and with over 44 bars and restaurants, cinemas, interactive games zone and retail outlets there is certainly something for everyone under the one roof. Please accept our apologies for any shortfalls in service you received, whilst it appears we met your expectations on some occasions overall we could have been more consistent in our delivery.

Once again thanks for your feedback. and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here over 5 times and its the same thing over... Nice rooms and arrogant staff... Room service and house keeping staff are fab... food is pretty good...

All the receptionists always act like they own the Hotel... So arrogant and unhelpful...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We were pleased to read about your positive feedback in regards to the Housekeeping and Room Service staff which we will pass on.

However we were disappointed to hear about your experience with our Front Desk staff as this is not the experience we wish to create for our guests, please accept our sincere apologies.

So we may look further into this matter please contact us directly on +61 3 9292 8160 so we may discuss and investigate this matter further.

Once again, thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg Moore
General Manager
Crown Promenade Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a great hotel. I stay here every year in June for the Challenge Diamonds Ball which is held at Crown.
Check in is always fast, efficient and friendly. Four girlfriends stay in a room with two double beds. Rooms are always clean and very comfortable. Beds are really comfortable but after our night out not sure it would matter where we slept. Breakfast great lots to choose from.
I have also stayed with my husband and daughter. We were upgraded to a corner suite OMG!
AMAZING, MASSIVE. We had a swim in the pool. Fantastic but do need goggles, my daughters eyes were very red and sore afterwards. Great hotel for all your needs.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade.- Winner for ‘Deluxe Accommodation’ in the 2009 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards- Winner of the ‘Superior Accommodation Hotel of the Year’, in the 2009 Australian Hotels Association (AHA) Awards Victoria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Promenade Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.