We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moving experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrine of Remembrance

Shrine of Remembrance
St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia
+61 3 9661 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 207 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Melbourne's iconic landmark and Victoria's war memorial commemorating the service and sacrifice of Australian service men and women.
Bucks England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The half hourly rememberance service of the passing of the Light was very moving and we felt priviledged to witness this. A wonderful shrine to the Anzacs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    272
    49
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A place for quiet contemplation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The tram to St Kilda was crowded so we jumped off, right outside the Shrine. We decided to go in. I'm glad we did. We spent 2 wonderful hours touring and contemplating, remembering the sacrifice offered by our forebears.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Solem and Interesting Architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a way to remember the heros! The architecture is a solem and interesting piece of art. The space gives a peaceful ambience. The line stated on the brick-color-wall, 'lest we forget' enables a deep reflection.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views of the Melbourne city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Shrine of remembrance is an imposing monument located in the botanical gardens in Melbourne.
The ground level of the shrine has an offering area where a remembrance prayer is held every half an hr to honour the soldiers.

The flame at the base of the shrine is lit throughout the year. Standing at the base of the shrine gives really good views of the Melbourne city; you can also climb up and get to the 2nd floor of the shrine which has a terrace and can give you different views of the city from all its 4 sides.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful views of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

They had lovely views of the city at the top, it is abit of a walk up to the top but well worth it in the end. The shrine is nice, very clean and a lovely way to remember those brave soldiers and nurses that went to war. A nice piece of architecture.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrine of Remembrance also viewed

 

Been to Shrine of Remembrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrine of Remembrance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.