We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but functional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple but functional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here at the end of March 2015.

The location was perfect for our needs. Within 50 metres of the Queen Victoria markets made it easy to get a very cheap breakfast from a variety of different cultures and exceptionally good coffee also at an amazing price. the markets were great to buy snacks from to take back into the room. Within 2kms Melbourne Central was available. This had world class shopping available with amazing service in each shop we visited.

The lobby of the hotel is extremely small but highly functional. The check in / check out process was simple and very efficient. The hallways were neat and tidy and cleaning staff were always very pleasant when passing them.

Our room was very clean and well presented. The bedroom was quite small but the bed was very comfortable. Although this was not a Queen size bed which is what we come to expect when staying in any hotel as a couple. Having a kitchenette (although we didn't use it) was great to have another place to store things. The bathroom size was quite large and very clean. Only major fault on the room was the noise factor from other rooms. The room above us was occupied and when they walked around we heard every step. They were not excessively noisy by any means it was just the room needed some better sound proofing materials between floors.

Extensive building was being carried out next door but this didn't seem to affect us at all. It certainly wasn't heard from our room.

Considering the cost, we would definitely be inclined to return. The location was the big feature for this hotel.

Jeff and Jodie. (Perth)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    74
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
17
71
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms not made up or cleaned, very slow (0.5Mb) so called Super-Fast Internet, early morning construction works outside the window, filthy bathroom with mold in the sink and generally poor all round. This is the first Hotel I have had to take the effort to complain about and can confirm that the one thing they excel at is excuses.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good afternoon

Thank you for your feedback and I can assure you we do take all comments seriously. I have passed your feedback regarding the mould in the bathroom to the housekeeping team and they are in the process of trialling a variety of means to remove this.

I am also following up with our IT team to check the internet issues you experienced to ensure speed of the internet is maintained for all our guests.

Kind regards
Tamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights as we got a cheap rate through groupon.
The room was nice, bed was comfortable. We were shocked to see that our room had a kitchen in it, though the fridge did not work at all. Barely kept things cold and the freezer section did not freeze our ice bricks up.
We had breakfast as part of our deal, one of the most average buffets I have had. Glad I had not paid specifically for it. Hashbrowns were cool and oily and there was not much variety. The only plus was you were are able to specifically order Eggs the way you like them.

Hotel is in a central location, right across the road from the markets and about 10 minutes walk from the Jail.
Another positive was this hotel was the fastest check in I have ever had. Though they never informed us how many devices we could have WiFi on (Free Wifi was on our deal), when we asked we were told " a few devices".

Floors are thin and we could hear the people stomping around above us. Which scared us away at 2am.

Not a bad hotel, great TV and Bed but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon

Thank you for your review. Our Groupon deal is a great offer. Complimentary breakfast and Wifi definitely help make the perfect weekend break possible.

I am so sorry that you were woken at 2am, our reception team is on duty 24 hours a day and can be contacted on ext 8, please don't hesitate to call them and they can investigate and speak to the neighbours concerned or move you rooms.

Kind regards
Tamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As an Accors Hotel member, I am trying to boost my membership status, plus I like to stay at different hotels when I can, so I booked through their website and got this hotel for three nights in late March. It is very close to Queen Victoria Markets and even closer to the ibis Melbourne on the same street, but it looked very hidden, almost difficult-to-find since it’s right next door to a snooker/pool entertainment hall. It appears to be new, as there were some things needed to be renovated, we checked-in and I got a complimentary drink, but it wasn’t alcoholic, which is what I needed at the time after walking around the city. And there aren’t that many floors in this hotel, I think only four or five. Plus it was a long walk for me and my girlfriend from the elevator to our room, even though it’s on the small side it’s very clean, functional and nice. Even has a hot pot in the kitchen area. The bed was ok, a bit firm for me, but we had no problems. For those that want to be closer to the Queen Victoria Markets and the northern end of Melbourne, this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon

Thank you for your review. As a Melbourne hotel, we like to offer or guests something slightly different and unique, hence, the refreshing drink from Emma & Toms. If the flavour is not to your liking, please don't hesitate to contact our reception team who are on duty 24 hours a day on ext 8 for an alternative drink.

As noted, we have just finished a refurbishment of our reception area which looks great. We have a continuous plan of works in place, next step is the public areas on Level 9 so watch this space for new photos.

Kind regards
Tamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mercure Therry Street over the Easter long weekend. The room was clean and neat and had everything we needed. We had a lovely view out to the Queen Victoria Market. It was in a great spot, just a short walk or a few stops on the tram to the main shopping strip and Flinders street station.

Our only complaint was that the room was very noisy. I'm unsure if it was because the guests above our room were being extra noisy or if the levels are not very thick but we were kept up through the night with loud banging from the room above. Unfortunately I would go as far as to say it was the worst night sleep we had had in a hotel. Although the accommodation was cheap for the Easter long weekend so you get what you pay for.

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend in Melbourne but are doubtful we would choose to stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry that you were kept awake by your neighbours. Our staff are on duty 24 hours a day and can be contacted on ext 8. Please don't hesitate to call them and they can either move you rooms of speak to the neighbours concerned.

Kind regards
Tamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No nonsense hotel with a very helpful staff. Plus this is right there next to the Queen Victoria market which is great. I liked the art in the room (huge black and white photo of the trams). The only bee in the bonnet was the construction next door (more an issue because of dust rather than noise).

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made use of the Queen Victoria Markets which are just across the road from the hotel.

Melbourne is definitely undergoing a massive construction boom at the moment. It seems that every other day there is a new high rise going up. Thankfully our windows are all double glazed so any noise from the city is not noticeable in the bedrooms.

Kind regards
Tamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a confirmed booking for a twin room & a rollaway , when we arrived we had been given a Queen , we phoned reception and were informed that because we had taken a mystery deal that , that was the mystery so what ever room they had available was the room that we received , what a load of rubbish , the lady was quiet rude about it all , I have worked in a number of properties over the last 10 years and have never heard of anything so ridiculous , I had a confirmation e-mail with me,explained this to her , she said that she would check this with Joe , that somebody would get back to us , we Stayed 3 nights and we heard nothing about this , we will not stay again

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon

Thank you for your review. I notice that you made use of our super low discounted Mystery Rates that come with no guarantee of room type. Room type is allocated on the day and subject to availability as per the description of the package. It is a fantastic offer and a lot of guests make use of this rate but it carries no guarantee of bed type. We do our best to accommodate but unfortunately, we are limited by what is available on the day.

We always recommend that guests who have a specific requirement should definitely book direct with the hotel so that we can make note of this at time of booking. Our twin rooms are very popular on weekends and we only have a limited stock of twins so they sell our very very fast.

Kind regards
Tamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 74 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbournes shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.