We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good after bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good after bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a confirmed booking for a twin room in this hotel months ago and I stipulated at the time of booking that it must be a twin and not a double as we were two older women travelling together. When we arrived at the front desk we were informed that all the twin rooms were booked out and we would either have to share a bed or they could provide us with a rollout at no extra cost which we had to accept.
That night I sought legal advice and was told that the Mercure was legally obliged to provide us with the confirmed twin room. I also posted a report in trip advisor. The next morning, 22nd March, I spoke to the acting manager requesting a room change and I reminded him of his legal position. He was quite rude and said that we could do whatever we liked but he would not change the room or bedding configuration.
When we arrived back that night we had the same room but twin beds had appeared as had an apology note with a complimentary bottle of wine.
Apart from the rude Sunday manager the staff were extremely helpful. The room was spotlessly clean with clean towels daily. The bathroom could do with more racks to hang towels. There were plenty of electricity power points. The breakfasts were delicious with eggs cooked to order. Rooms have been tastefully decorated although very compact.
The Mercure is well located being a short stroll away from the Queen Victoria markets and it is on the edge of the free tram city service.
If room allocation problems can be rectified and the acting manager can learn to be civil to guests this will be a fine, well situated hotel.

Room Tip: We were on floor 9 and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
66
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was ok apart from stained bedrunner. Could hear comings and goings from nearby rooms. I ate at the restaurant which was poorly located but immediately became unwell on returning to my room - I think some items had been in the Bain Marie too long.the check in desk was unfriendly and the instructions were delivered only verbally and rapid fire by a clearly bored clerk. Good hotels in this day and age must provide free WiFi .

Room Tip: The higher the better - refurbishment in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Public areas are pretty ugly and no real lobby. Staff at reception seem a bit uninvolved, but do their job. Area is very central and good restaurants and shopping is pretty close, nevertheless at night looks a bit unsafe - which it actually isn't. Rooms are ok in size and nicely done. A good choice, would stay there again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed two nights, small cosy atmosphere, the complimentary breakfast was actually very nice and standard of eggs, bacon, cereal, juice, fruit, coffee.
the airport bus pulls up at the hotel beside the Mercure, making for any easy access between airport and hotel. NO gym, but they have discount at a large gym down the street.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the elevators, or you will end up walking miles down the halls with suitcase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear letstraveleverywhere,

I appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. Trust you had a great stay in Melbourne and look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 3 nights on 11th floor. Staffs were really friendly, helpful and accomodating. Allow early checkin at 12 since I arrived early in the morning and also let me leave my luggage overnight as I joined the Great Ocean road overnight tour.

Pros:
- Newly renovated so everything is brand new. Room is very clean. Has a kitchen so that helps with food prep
- Wifi is free for Accor group members slthough I was using my mobile data most of the time.
- Few steps away from queen victoria market tram. Within CBD, so rides to and fro city is free!
- Walking distance to queen victoria market. If you intend to buy a lot of stuffs, stay nearby do you don't have to carry a lot of goods with you
- Nearby restaurants, cafe. Can find Boost, McD close by
- With all the above, room rate is considered inexpensive. Paid on avg USD 113 per night for 3 nights stay

Cons:
- Ongoing renovation at reception area since hotel undergoing uplift. A positive note is you can't hear all the noise as hotel rooms are on high floor.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Diana W,

Always good to hear from a Senior Contributor. Looks like you've been able to take advantage of everything around us! We have finished our renovations in the Lobby and look forward to welcoming you back to see all the changes soon.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in Melbourne for 2 nights after driving from Adelaide. The biggest positive about the Mercure is that it is reasonably close to everything. My husband and I walked everywhere with no hassles. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating.

The room was quiet small but reasonably clean apart from mould in the shower which was disappointing. The bathroom/ensuite was also very small and had no bench space or even shelves for anything which made it quiet impractical. My only other negative was that the usb charging points that they advertised did not work. Didn't matter as we had chargers but perhaps shouldn't be listed as a selling point.

Would stay here again as overall it was good value for money just needed a bit of tweaking.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kelly L,

Thanks for your review and was disappointed to hear about your stay. We will definitely look into the areas you have outlined. Be sure to let our team know so we can resolve any issues on the day.

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our great location in the CBD.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

currently there I construction outside with the building next door which adds to noise, dust and access issues throughout the day. Also the lobby is currently being renovated which is also inconvenient with tradesmen in the way when checking in, moving luggage around, checking out.

Otherwise good location for the Vic Market. The Wednesday night market is a great place to go and eat.

Rooms were small but ok. Neat. Some of the furniture is a bit tired. My chair and stool had split material overs and the inner foam visible/coming out. But passable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear fallinandfilmin,

Thanks for taking the time to review. With our guests' feedback, we have given our lobby a face lift and hope to continuously improve our services. Apologies for the inconvenience when you were staying and hope to welcome you back to see the results.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 74 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbournes shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.