We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location perfect comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    67
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
63
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel was what drew my attention in the first place, on airport side of CBD, over the road from Victoria Markets and with FREE trams now in Melbourne CBD all good. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, rooms are well appointed with own Kitchen area to prepare some snacks and breakfast.Clean and Cosy will stay again......

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bad stuff first: supposed to stay here for the Melb cup 2014. I pre-paid my room - v good price. My mother died of cancer (v early and unexpected) and I had to arrange the funeral - and the rest. The reservations lady was the WORST person I have ever dealt with. The airlines were very helpful when cancelling - the reservations woman at Mercure Therry St was NOT AT ALL helpful. Very unsympathetic. She begrudgingly let me stay the month after - told me if I changed the booking again I would lose my money. Imagine that - losing your Mum and your money at the same time?!?

I arrived and checked in - asked for extra towels as I go to the gym twice a day. After waiting an hour I called reception and asked again for the extra towels. After waiting another 2 hours I called and asked for more towels a third time. I am still waiting on the towels - they never arrived.

Good stuff: value for money. Decent size room. Cleaning staff were very very friendly and helpful. Close to cool stuff like the markets.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear LiamG,

First of all, my condolences to you and your family during this difficult time.

I do apologise about your experience. As we had held the room for you and you did not arrive on your original booking, we followed our procedures to see if you were still coming. As you had accepted the discounted rate with no further amendments or cancellations - our procedure is to offer you a date change in such situations. Trust you were able to amend your dates with our team and did not lose your booking completely.

Kind Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for our anniversary, 6 nights, great location, strong wifi, pleasant staff in general. Thin floors, no mini bar refill, small rooms, and the most incompetent breakfast staff I have encountered. Our 5th morning we just wanted poached eggs and Vegemite on toast, should have been easy... No I had my old Accor Advantage card on me, my mistake I know, he made me go back to my room to get the right one during breakfast, therefor my eggs and toast ended up cold only for him to interrupt us a total of 3 times, even though he called Accor himself to confirm we were members. 1 night left, we won't be going to the restaurant for breakfast tomorrow that's for sure.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dawson1970,

Thanks for your feedback and seeing me at the hotel. I have spoken to the team member in question and reiterated our procedures regarding our members. I do apologise about your breakfast and trust all charges were removed as an apology.

Kind Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made a five night booking as we were to be in Melbourne for the World Cup Cricket. We used a voucher (Mystery hotel) and were favourably impressed. The service at Reception was thorough, from the time of booking. There was follow through on the email from the hotel.
When we arrived we were directed to our room, which was a pleasant surprise. We had a kitchenette and the bed was luxuriously comfortable. The shower was hot with good pressure.
Breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of options to satisfy anyone. The choice of newspapers meant we were each able to take a paper and swap it in the evening. Staff do their job, they are helpful, polite and competent, (including the weekend Restaurant staff.)
It was a bonus that we were so near to the markets and just in the free tram area.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Gabriel11,

Great to see you were able to take advantage of one our great offers! We aim to provide great accommodation at a great price. Glad to see we were able to deliver and we'll see you back soon!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, but the first 3 were spent with broken AC. It didn't blow cool air and not sure why the problem wasn't properly rectified.

Fair enough they got 100% occupancy, but I expected a hotel from big franchise like Mercure would be more than capable to take care of such problem.

On the third 3 night we were loaned a floor fan. On the first night, we were offered different room but the AC in that room wouldn't even turn on. So we rejected it.

Only after 3 nights we were referred to the manager, and in the next morning he gave us another room. Thankfully it got a working AC.

I don't know, the hotel seemed to me were struggling keeping up their maintenance. There was a dead light bulb at the sitting area on level 12, and they didn't even bother changing it.

Agreed with the previous review, the flooring was made from thin boards. We stayed on the top level, so luckily we didn't suffer from the noises.

Breakfast was very limited. I would recommend getting breakfast from the Victoria Market, or get a short walk to the city. Money would be better spent.

Cleanliness in room was so so. There were plenty of tiny dirts on the carpet floor.

All in all, I don't think we will stay at Mercure hotels any more. I just don't think it was worth the money we've spent. Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Joey_arema,

Thanks for your review! I have organised a full audit of our air conditioning system to ensure all our equipment is in working order. I do apologise about your experience and be assured your feedback is not taken lightly.

As part of our ongoing commitment, we have fixed all our corridors, and have penned in a full refurbishment of our Reception in a few days time.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 74 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbournes shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.