We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Mercure Standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Not Mercure Standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 6 nights. Rooms were freshly renovated but very small. Kitchen poorly equipped. Not enough glasses etc for even 2 people. Cleaning on a daily basis was poor. Our room was never vacuumed and basin etc never wiped over. Was a good location across from the Victoria Markets. Not well insulated between floors. Could hear a lot of noise from above. We booked over the phone and were given incorrect prices. When I questioned Hotel Management later their only answer was that I should have read the terms and conditions on the website (a little difficult if you are on the phone and have asked the specific questions you need answered and have been mislead).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AnnPaul60,

Thank you for your feedback but I am disappointed to hear about your experience at the hotel. I will certainly follow up on the cleaning issues you have mentioned. I do request you contact me on 039637 6666 or via email at gm@mercuretherrystreet.com.au to further discuss your specific booking.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
45
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Convenient to public transport in the heart of the city.
Very friendly and welcoming, but not in your face.
Efficient staff with tastefully renovated rooms.
Nice touch with in-hotel special offers. We enjoyed a buffet dinner on level 9 that was put on for all the guests. Great stay , Thanks Abday Deothali? hope i got that right.

Room Tip: The hotel was very helpful and understanding with an extra bed for our grandson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear ChrisHamnett,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! I am glad I was able to help during your stay and look forward to seeing you back!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a long day's drive we arrived to find we were not booked in!! Our fly-buys getaway plus booking had been made through reservations 6 weeks prior. The fellow at reception found us a room, but I had to organise our wine myself. We have never been to a hotel with so many corridors to get to your room, like a maze!!! Room small but nice, clean and bed comfy. Breakfast nice, not flash but a reasonable amount of choice. When I rang hotel to ask about parking cost was told to come into reception and then go to 4th floor, wasn't told parking entrance was in another street!!

Room Tip: Would go for the lower levels if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Beanandeasy,

Always great to hear from a Senior Contributor. We are definitely chasing up the booking made via the promotional agency. With regards to parking, we recommend checking in at Reception so we can guide you the public car park in our complex.

Regards,

Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 4 nights in a standard queen room and we were pleased at the price offered of $125 per night for a hotel that was close to the markets, trams and a short walk to Melbourne Central. This price was negotiated via email when online prices were in the $130 - $150 range so when checking online prices it's worth emailing to ask what they can match or beat.

Upon check in we unfortunately arrived at a shift change so it took a while for the staff to come check us in. We had a hire car and were advised to park on level 4 of the car park (don't go to the stairwell to the middle of the boom gates - we mistakenly went almost to the bottom of the stairwell trying to find the foyer before noticing that there was a mattress and some feet!! Obviously someone's getting a free stay...) - if you can walk a short distance to another cheaper car park I would recommend this as the minimum for parking was $8 (0-1 hours) and at one point we popped the ticket in and up came $45!! We claimed that one through the hotel for $35 in the end. I feel like I spent most of my holiday money on parking, so if you can find a cheaper car park nearby or are willing to risk parking on the street then go for it.

Some noticeable things outside the hotel - There are what look like bullet holes in the pub next door's glass door and a couple of broken glass bottles were spotted outside as well, there is a building being built on the corner but weren't too noisy, there is a zebra crossing outside the hotel but cars don't seem to like to stop. The cafes across the road near the market offer yummy breakfasts, we managed to get two hearty meals and two drinks for under $30

Hotel pros: central to the city, Vic market, trams easily accessed, quiet sleep, kitchenette if you want to cook a little meal, good water pressure, modern look and feel, there is free wi-fi if you 'like' their Facebook page and get a code at reception, we didn’t see many neighbours, nice views of the markets and the infamous wheel

Hotel cons: If you want room service a bit later than normal make sure you get your order in before 9.30pm as the conflicting information on the TV guide to the website will give you either 10pm or 10.30 and then you won’t be able to get anything anyways.
There is still a need for an in room hard copy guide to the hotel and the city, not everyone can navigate a TV to search for hotel details and then some of the buttons don't work.
TV reception was static one night and this was sporadic throughout the stay.
No in pool or spa or gym - $10 for a trip to the local baths though so that's an option. We were aware of this when booking and wish we stayed somewhere with these facilities now though.
We couldn't close the bathroom door without the fan making noises
The freezer doesn't work as a freezer should - cue runny ice cream
And last but not least - make sure you use a credit card that you are not reliant on the money for (for the freezing of $100). We used a Visa Debit card, when we checked out we were told that the money would be put "straight back on the card" - 2 days later and one phone call assuring that the money would be on there "in the next couple of hours to the next day" ...we are still waiting. It's the normal wait time of 3 - 4 days now (that we weren't advised of at check out) so it isn't worth a second call.

My rating for this hotel is 'poor' as there are more cons than pros and the bad outweighs the good. I’m really disappointed, my expectations were set too high.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kaz262,

Thank you for your detailed review.

I have passed on your feedback of the neighboring businesses. However we do not have any control of their premises. I can confirm however that there are no bullet holes but just a glass design.

With regards to your pre-authorisation, we do release the funds on the day of check out, however it does take a day or two for the banks to process the transaction.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@mercuretherrystreet.com.au or on 03 9637 6666.

Regards,

Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. Great location close to shops, markets and restaurants. Excellent shower. All you needed. Clean and well serviced. Good kitchen facilities. Car parking a bit expensive. Would go again

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

24 hour service desk is a bonus if like us you need to check out at a very early time in the morning. Helpful staff on the front desk. Nice comfy rooms, not large, but with a small kitchenette it meant that you you easily cook some of the yummy treats, fresh fruit, meat ,fish that can be purchased at the Huge Queen Victoria Market. Tram stop just minutes away, and no night noise so a good night sleep here is easy to get. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed only for one night during a stopover, and it was great. The hotel has a good position, you can just walk to the CBD, and the rooms are well presented. The bed was comfortable, the furnitures modern and the bathroom absolutely great and spacious. The reception staff was helpful beyond, even though we arrived in a very early hour. The one negative experience was the buffet breakfast: it was ok, but surprisingly low variety for a 4star hotel. Altogether it is worth the value.

Room Tip: Definitely upper levels, to appreciate the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear ndulkai,

We are very well situated for a quick stopover and for more lengthy stay. We will review our breakfast buffet to ensure we have the best offer available for our guests.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 73 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbourne’s shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.