We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Queen Victoria Markets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Geraldine, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Close to Queen Victoria Markets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

24 hour service desk is a bonus if like us you need to check out at a very early time in the morning. Helpful staff on the front desk. Nice comfy rooms, not large, but with a small kitchenette it meant that you you easily cook some of the yummy treats, fresh fruit, meat ,fish that can be purchased at the Huge Queen Victoria Market. Tram stop just minutes away, and no night noise so a good night sleep here is easy to get. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    45
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
43
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed only for one night during a stopover, and it was great. The hotel has a good position, you can just walk to the CBD, and the rooms are well presented. The bed was comfortable, the furnitures modern and the bathroom absolutely great and spacious. The reception staff was helpful beyond, even though we arrived in a very early hour. The one negative experience was the buffet breakfast: it was ok, but surprisingly low variety for a 4star hotel. Altogether it is worth the value.

Room Tip: Definitely upper levels, to appreciate the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ndulkai,

We are very well situated for a quick stopover and for more lengthy stay. We will review our breakfast buffet to ensure we have the best offer available for our guests.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service at reception. Could not fault the service there. Staff must enjoy being part of the team , it shows . Nice clean hotel. Small rooms but "Great rates " Right next to Victoria markets. Walking distance to CBD, China town etc.....

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Patrick S,

Thanks for your comments about our service. We aim to provide the best experience we can and your comments surely will be passed on to our team!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a 2 minute walk to the Victoria markets, such a pleasure to visit! Room was a good size, comfortable bed and good heating/cooling with plenty of natural sunlight. Bathroom was spotless and also modern, with a large shower and big fluffy bath towels. Perfect. Julie at the front desk was always happy to help and gave me some great recommendations for local hotspots. All staff I encountered were extremely genuine and knowledgable of the area. Buffet breakfast was good and soy milk was readily available as well as fresh cooked eggs at demand. About a 15min walk from the mall (I came to Melbourne for a shopping trip) and many delightful places for dinner nearby.

Room Tip: If you 'like' them on Facebook and show reception, you get 24hours of free wifi access. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Natasha91,

Thank you for such a fantastic review! This definitely helps us in keeping our team going to provide the best service we possibly can. See you next time in Melbourne!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here as a wotif mystery hotel. Two things the hotel could improve on - the shower in the room had a small gap between the door and the wall which meant when you had a shower the water leaked into the bathroom. Twice I spoke to reception staff about car parking, and not once was I told that the car parking needed to be validate so I ended up paying the higher amount (however I have since called them and they are going to refund the difference.) Great location, right by the market and a tram stop.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear lknights,

Thanks for your detailed review. We will certainly look into our showers to ensure they are functioning properly! With regards to parking, I am glad we were able to refund you the difference and we will be sure to let all our guests know to validate their tickets.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute trip to Melbourne from Perth over Christmas and New Year. It was good value for money considering the short notice and the location. The rooms were a fair size with a big bed, en suite and small kitchen facilities. We had a very pleasant stay right up until check out where unfortunately the person who was checking us out was a complete imbecile. I am tolerant person and didn't complain about the fact that for some reason they took a good 45 minutes to establish that we wanted to check out from our room and after than ordeal we then had to wait another 30 minutes for the room to be inspected only to be told there would be a charge for the state of the room. I thought they had mixed up the rooms and had checked a different one as I knew I had tidied the room up, made sure everything was washed up and clean and even made the bed, I was then informed that we would incur a charge because of the hair on the floor and then refused to give us back our passports until we paid... I have never heard the like of it, the rooms are decorated with black carpets so of course my blonde hair was going to show if it fell out when I brushed it but it was barely noticeable and they were going on like I had had my hair cut off and left it all over the floor!!?!?! After arguing for an hour over the matter another person got involved who I'm assuming is the manager and could obviously see my boyfriend and I were very wound up by this stage and told us not to worry handed us back our passports and we were on our way. We had a good stay other than this incident its just a shame our stay was ruined by one moron behind a desk

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear travelbunny94,

Thank you for your detailed review. It was disappointing to hear about your customer service experience at the hotel. We definitely do not have a policy of holding passports and I do wish you urgently contact me at gm@mercuretherrystreet.com.au or 03 9637 6666.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 73 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbourne’s shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.