We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was actually fine. The room was quiet with super comfy beds and was perfectly adequate. All amenities you could want with modern room (with desk and sofa) and bathroom; has been refurbished recently. Good location for the university and right next to the Victoria Markets where there are plenty of food options. The hotel lobby is squashed and not a very good entrance to the hotel. Lifts very temperamental in accepting your room card (all of ours had same issue). Breakfast was expensive considering there are a excellent food options just on street near hotel at fraction of cost and much nicer. It was also a little weird having the breakfast bar double up as the hotel bar, which was only opened upon demand. If visiting on business near the uni then there's no reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel, other than wifi prices are quite high (and per device).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
32
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Best features would be its proximity to Vic markets and their reasonable prices. The Mercure is unimpressive from the street, and not much more impressive once inside. My room felt dark, dreary and a bit dirty. Nothing really to complain about but overall uninspiring.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location without central CBD cost. Rooms recently renovated, had good lighting and table and chair as well as comfortable lounge chair. Mine had a great view over the city. Close to Vic Markets and Aldi and Coles supermarkets nearby. Kitchenette was great as could get some of my own meals. Able to walk to Lygon Street and to Federation Square, also close to tram to Melbourne Zoo. I didn't have a car and I think that would have been an issue as parking not onsite.
Room service meals were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms above Franklin Street that have the view out over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jan S,

Lovely to hear to took advantage of everything that's around us! Our central location is one of the key factors our guests keep coming back!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mercure Melbourne Therry Street has been recently renovated to a high standard. The rooms are fresh and welcoming although maybe a little cramped at times. There was very little noise apart from some traffic and the sleep quality and water pressure were excellent. It was very close to Queen Elizabeth markets and the CBD was just a short walk away. The breakfast was excellent and they even cooked your eggs to your own preference.
The only negative was a long walk down a narrow corridor to get to our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Jack M,

Thanks for your review! Since our opening we have been known to be a great base for business and leisure travelers alike, and your feedback will help us to keep improving our standards.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Within walking distance of Victoria Markets and with a microwave and stove top in the room a terrific way to buy fresh produce and eat well at a good price if staying several days. The location is within an easy 15 min walk to many of Melbourne's attractions and restaurant strips as well as retail shopping arcades.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and it has the best TV reception in a hotel I've seen in a while. The power points were abundant and there were two USB ports next to the bed. What more could techno people require.

The bed was comfortable, we were warm and slept really well. The bathroom area has a shower only but with all new fittings which suited us well, the best thing was great hot water.

The room we had was small by Australian standards but well laid out and bigger than several European hotel rooms I've stayed in :) The kitchette area was well appointed and easy access to the stove top and micro wave.

We used room service for dinner as by that stage of walking all day we admitted we were too tired to go out again. Best decision we made, the food was great value for money.

I had Thai green chicken salad with noodles my daughter had the steak sandwich served with chips and salad; both meals arrived hot and were filling; must admit the choc mousse was good as well.

A disappointment was the breakfast there was a good choice but unfortunately most hot food was barely warm with a poor selection of pastries.

All staff we had contact with were friendly and easy to deal with, if using the free hotel transfer from the airport please check your arrival times as the service does not commence until 7.30am weekends and public holidays. Also you need to allow a minimum of 1 1/2 hours for this service returning to the airport. We simply caught a taxi to Southern Cross station $10.00 and had already paid the $30 return on the Skybus. Alternatively it is an approx. $65 taxi ride to the airport.
Would I stay again - yes we intend to stay there again for the same conference next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Barbara H,

Thank you for taking the time for a such a detailed positive review! Your comments are definitely a boost for our team here to keep improving our service standards and likewise for fellow travelers visiting Melbourne! We look forward to welcoming you back !

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 73 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbourne’s shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.