We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was my first trip to Melbourne and I wanted to stay somewhere that was good value, comfortable and within easy walking distance of the city sights. I'm happy I chose Mercure Melbourne Therry Street!
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable and came with great view. Another plus was having the little kitchenette. Great for cooking up some meals after visiting the Queen Victoria markets which are just across the way.
My only negatives were that the pillows were far too high to be comfortable (but the bed itself was very comfortable). And the kitchenette could do with a couple of other utensils such as a sharper knife and a chopping board.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear LozFiz,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We will ensure all our kitchenettes have everything our guests need to put together a delicious meal right in their room!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
32
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

To understand what this has to offer, you have to stay here. Great location for eating,shopping and visiting Queen Victoria markets. Upon arrival me and my colleague were greeted by general manager, which is very uncommon in hotels around Australia. All rooms are new and modern and have everything you need for your business stay or weekend getaway. The only negative thing in the room was the iron, which I think is not suitable for ironing. However, overall amazing value when comparing to other Melbourne hotels of this calibre.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Fant1k,

Glad to hear you had a great getaway and enjoyed your stay in Melbourne!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrnambool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

we stayed here for the Anzac weekend as we where going to the football it is located down a small street across from the queen vic markets it has a tram stop out the front of vic market so would be less than 100mtrs from the front door of both the hotel and market the room we stayed faced the market and there was on a few things I found wrong one was totally out of there control which is a new building being built out our window which had a crane with lighting that shone all nite into our room then main problem I found with the room was the curtains in the room didn,t cover the whole of the window and let these lights in

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear SteveKinser,

We are definitely close to all the shopping in Melbourne and great access to trams and trains! Great to see you were able to take advantage of all the city has to offer and I have shared your feedback with our team!

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Good location, with tram stops, restaurants and ALDI supermarket all within stone throw away.

Positives:
1. Room was overall clean, comfy bed.
2. Kitchenette was useful for tossing a quick salad if you are tired of eating out for many meals during a trip. A key reason why we chose this hotel.
3. Cafeteria was efficiently run by courteous staff, offered just the right selection for a healthy breakfast.

Not so positive:
1. I had expected the size of the room to be bigger. There was no space for putting our luggages so we had to just leave them on the floor. There was also very little space in the bathroom for putting toiletries. Wardrobe was small and only had three hangers.
2. The bathroom ventilation needed cleaning badly.
3. There was smell of food cooking in the corridors. Perhaps that was a trade off for rooms with kitchenette.
4. One day we headed out late (after 1pm) and had the do not disturb card hanging on the door before we left the room. That day our room had not been cleaned.
5. Floor was not vacuumed during the "non daily" clean up.
6. Logging onto the wifi had been a pain in the bud. Except for the first night of our stay when had we been able to log on in our room (using the room number and guest last name), all the following nights we had to go downstairs to the reception to log on via a one time generated code.
7. The reception area was not welcoming. It was small and the service desk was quite high up. I had a feeling of walking into a pawn shop!

If and when I visit Melbourne again in the future, I will consider to stay elsewhere.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Carol L,

Thanks for taking the time in providing feedback. Be assured we are taking steps to address the issues you mentioned in your detailed comments. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@mercuretherrystreet.com.au or on (03)96376666.

Best Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyabram
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very clean and on the whole a nice night after the footy, there was nothing fancy about the place thought, a little pokkie and we could doors slamming on our floor, and footsteps above us, but once I fel asleep I didn't hear anything. Reception was very polite and helpful, but even though their is a restaurant on a Friday night we could only choose a snack or have room service deliver something. Also paying $35. Over night was a bit steep, when next door offers $6. Over night

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Ciavarella D,

Thanks for your feedback. We are always looking to improve our food and beverage offering and your comments will ensure we have the best options for our guests.

Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
ibis Melbourne
ibis Melbourne
#61 of 171 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#46 of 171 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Boutique...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#94 of 171 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#84 of 171 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Suites, City Ce...
Show More
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 73 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbourne’s shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.