We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and Neat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Therry Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
24
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here over the F1 Grand Prix weekend in March 2014.

We stay at accor hotels all the time, they're our go-to choice when travelling because you pretty much know what to expect and it's always competitively priced. We normally stay at the lower end ibis/novotel/mercure - but have splurged occasionally on a sofitel. Going to the mercure I expected a very clean and basic accomodation.

The building is part hotel - part residence - part business center. It backs onto a carpark at $35 a night, pretty reasonable for Melb CBD.

The hotel is in a pretty good spot. Not right in the heart of the city but only a few tram stops away. It's pretty quiet in the street outside the hotel. It's also only about a 2 minute walk up to the Victoria Market.

We arrived at 10am and tried to check in but there were no available rooms because it was a fully booked weekend, that was fine, we left our stuff in the car and went to the F1. We came back and checked in later that night around 8pm. We checked in with no dramas.

When we got to the room with intentions of a quick wash and to go out again there was no soap or shampoo. We called and it showed up about 10 minutes later. Then after the shower needed the hair dryer - but there was none - there should have been but it was missing. A call again and it showed up again 10 minutes later. Bit of a pain, surely this stuff is checked at room clean.

The room was pretty small but it was OK. It's more like a mini-apartment. A double bed, side tables, a desk, a view out to a construction site (admittedly not the fault of the hotel - ask for a city facing room), a small kitchen with a sink and electric stove top, small fridge, safe, cupboard, basic crockery and cutlery etc. The bed was comfortable, there were also power points next to the bed so thats a huge plus.

However, the room was just not as clean as I would expect. It didnt seem like the kitchen bench had been wiped, not the bathrooms, or the floors vacuumed. The shower and ceiling vent was particularly filthy - nothing worse. Also, on the second day, the room had been cleaned, the rubbish bin in the bathroom was changed out, but the bag of rubbish was left on the kitchen bench. Just strange.

Not to say this will all happen to you but for us it was just disappointing that the room was not as clean as we expect for a Mercure, the toiletries not being there on arrival and the rubbish left. Given all this and considering it was over $300 a night (due to the busy weekend) - we might have to stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: City facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Josh-Aus,

Thank you for your detailed review and do appreciate you taking the time. I have spoken to the relevant departments regarding the cleanliness issues you have faced. Should you wish to discuss your stay further please contact me directly at gm@mercuretherrystreet.com.au or 0396376666.

Best Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just paid $49 for deep fried prefrozen entree , frozen partly reheated verges and a " curry of the day" that looks and tastes like it came from a packet. This in the centre if gastomic Melbourbe. Don't often stay at this chain and doubt I'll bother again. Location is very handy . Front reception staff member was über friendly and helpful - room is small and average decor and as soon as someone moves in the floor above it sounds like they are coming through the ceiling .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mummsie M,

Thanks for your feedback and was disappointed to hear about your experience with the meals. Please contact me directly at hotel so I can further discuss your stay.

Best Regards,
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is good and easy to commute. But i didn't like the concept of going to gym at the next building and plus also pay for it. and it also has lack of staff. But i like the way the greeted us with the champagne as we were honeymoon couple. its

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kartikkaria,

Congratulations again and hope you enjoyed your time in Melbourne. I will definitely take on your feedback about the gym and thanks for your review.

Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent hotel in a great location handy to Victoria Markets and the various trams. Studio room was a reasonable size with a good basic kitchenette. Great comfortable bed. Friendly helpful staff. Whilst it is next to a building site, we heard virtually no noise from our 10th floor room. Definetely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTherryStreet, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David S,

Thanks for your positive feedback! Our team would love to you see you again on your next visit!
Akshay Deosthali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Melbourne Therry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Therry Street

Address: 43 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Therry Street 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street features 73 fully refurbished non-smoking hotel rooms with kitchenettes. Our rooms start on the 9th floor and have amazing views of the Melbourne CBD and shopping district. Situated opposite the iconic Queen Victoria Markets and within an easy walk of Melbourne’s shopping & entertainment district, our guests will never be short of something to do or see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, ACCOR and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Therry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Therry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.