We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Exhibition Building

Royal Exhibition Building
Carlton Gardens | 11 Nicholson Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 8341 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Royal Exhibition Building like an insider
Top Rated
$52*
and up
Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional...
Ranked #55 of 492 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Exhibition Building is one of the world's oldest remaining exhibition pavilions. On 1 July 2004, it became the first building in Australia to achieve a World Heritage listing. Located in Carlton Gardens, the pavilion was originally completed in 1880 for the first of two international fairs hosted by Melbourne. On May 1st, 1901, the initial Commonwealth Parliament was held here, an event commemorated in 2001, the centenary of Australian Federation. Today, with its meticulously restored interior, expansive galleries and soaring dome, the Great Hall offers an impressive setting for trade shows, fairs and cultural and community events.
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took shelter in here during MIFGS from a passing storm/shower. What a beautiful building! It's huge & I had no idea of it's history before visiting. Melbourne is lucky to have this.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    65
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I lived in Melbourne many years ago and used to walk my dog in the gardens surrounding this building but only once went inside for a function and it was nowhere as beautiful as it is today. It is wonderful that they have preserved and refurbished this piece of our history - we should be thankful it is not in Brisbane or they would have demolished it !
I just revisited as part of the Melbourne International Flower & Garden Show and the building is every bit as impressive as the floral displays it contained.
I believe there are usually tours to see the building and anyone interested in architecture or history would be sure to enjoy a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Australia's Most Beautiful Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Due to the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show occurring while I was visiting Melbourne I was only able to admire this building from afar but it still was the grandest and most beautiful building I have ever seen in Australia. Just thinking of the historic milestones which have unfolded here (first revealing of the Australian flag, first sitting of the Australian Parliament) made me feel very patriotic and I am sure the interior was such as wonderful. I will definitely be back for a better look in future.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
216 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“The Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We headed to the Flower and Garden Show at the Exhibition Buildings. It is a grande building and the gardens nearby are awesome. It was even more spectacular due to the Show, the displays were varied and the crowds were enjoying themselves. The ooohhhsss and aaahhhhsss were coming from everywhere. I have been many times to the Carlton Gardens and love to wander around and the fountain is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cultural exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Check on the calendar of events of this building. I went to an Indonesian Cultural Festival, where I got to taste the food and see some traditional dance/song performance. Plus, you get to see the greatness of this colonial building.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Exhibition Building also viewed

 

Been to Royal Exhibition Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Exhibition Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.