We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value so close to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birches Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Birches Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Birches Serviced Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   160 Simpson Street | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value so close to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Fantastic value being so close to the city (about $115 per night I think it was) for a one-room apartment. Stayed here because of medical appointments nearby. The kitchen in the unit was great, beds were very comfy, but bathroom was very small. Lots of scuff marks on the walls was the biggest drawback but apart from that everything else was fine. Friendly staff at reception. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so prams and wheelchairs ask for a ground level unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
26
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Birches and could not have been more pleased. With an overall trip to Australia/NZ of over 3 weeks, we needed reasonably priced accommodations but with a good accessible location as we did not have a car. Birches fit the bill wonderfully! The room was huge with a great kitchen area along with an outdoor BBQ area (which we utilized for steaks one evening!). There is a delightful coffee shop around the corner on Albert St. with Fitroy Gardens just down the street. Everything else was easily reached by the tram. The desk personnel were most helpful and printed our plane boarding passes and event vouchers. Overall, a delightful stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hi there, stayed at Birches East Melbourne over the Christmas period in Dec 2012 as we traveled with our dog to Melbourne.

The reason we stayed here was because the place was "pet friendly" and we needed somewhere that would accommodate our dog without any hassles. We didn't really know what to expect.

Likes
Gated secure parking that was included in the price, no roof over carpark though.
Nice updated room with modern furniture and comfy bed
Quiet at night so sleeping not a problem
Other guests had dogs so our pooch had other dogs to say hi as we came and went from the building. Didn't feel like we were encroaching on other guests with our dog occasionally barking as their dogs let off the odd bark as well.
Nice outdoor communal BBQ area with tables etc.
Location to CBD, Lygon St and MCG was great. Under 5 minutes to city in car.
Awesome airconditioning
Large park opposite to walk the dog
Staff were really helpful and friendly

Dislikes
Room was rather small but functional I guess
We were on the top floor (2nd floor) and there was no lift which meant we had to lug our baby pram up 2 flights of stairs - this was a hassle as there was a lot of stairs
No balcony - just a corridor balcony

In summary, it was great for us as we had a dog. Really happy with the place and would definitely return but next time ask for a room on the ground floor because of the pram situation. Virtually every guest had a dog so everyone had the same idea. If you have a dog and are looking for somewhere to stay in Melb it would be hard to go past this place.

Hope you found this helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked this apartment in East Melbourne as it was close to the city and stayed for a week over the Christmas period.
The location is ideal with a lovely 30 min walk to Federation Square through Fitzroy Gardens but only a few mins to a tram stop if you don't fancy the walk. There is an IGA supermarket only 5 mins away and also a nice coffee shop nearby.
Booking was very easy at an affordable price and staff were very helpful to make sure that our requests were met. They were also friendly and helpful during our stay providing advice when asked about transport, shopping and dining. We arrived early but our baggage was looked after whilst we went ot to explore Melbourne.
The room was clean and tidy, and our baggage already in the room, when we got back. Although we were there over a holiday period the room was always kept clean and towels repalced as needed. We had a 1 Bedroom Apartment which has plenty of space for two people with large bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and lounge area. Room amenities also incude TV/DVD, an iron, ironing board and hair dryer whilst other amenities include a laundry and an outdoor patio and BBQ area at the rear which was well utilised plus secure parking if required. There is also adequate parking out front. WiFi is available and as we were there for a week the cost was reasonable, less so if you are on a very short stay. I did have a WiFi problem but this was sorted out quickly by the provider who runs an internet cafe 5 mins walk away.
The exterior was fresh looking and had been updated, the only downside is that the interior of the room we were in was looking tired and in need of updating and refurnishing. That said it was good value for money in an ideal location and we would definately stay there again if back in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Travelling to Melbourne during the Australian Open usually means higher prices than usual, so it was tricky finding something within my budget. Luckily, I found Birches.

After hours check-in was easy - after I booked, I got an email explaining how to get the room key. It was a very easy process.

The room was great. I stayed three nights in a one-bedroom self-contained apartment. The furnishings were nice and modern, the bed was extremely comfortable, and there was plenty of pillows and blankets. Air-con worked, which is good because none of the windows really opened. That was a downside.

An IGA supermarket is about a 5-min walk away, so I stocked up on breakfast and snack supplies which saved a bit of cash.

Short distance to good transport options - tram, bus and train. It's walking distance to Collingwood, an area I'm increasingly digging. Proud Mary in particular is an awesome cafe (the avocado quinoa breakfast option was amazing), and the shopping was very good.

It was fairly quiet, and if you've got a car you can park securely out the back. No free wifi is a downside.

I'll definitely stay here again if I want to be near Collingwood/Richmond area.

Room Tip: If you've got a lot of luggage and/or want to be close to the carpark, ask for a ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Located in East Melbourne, just a short walk from the city (15mins to Nicholson street and the inner city tram) this is a wonderful apartment. We were totally comfortable there, everything we needed and very affordable. We utilised the fabulous BBQ setting. The Birch trees were a delight to look at. Internet rates were reasonable ( though I still can't understand why internet is simply not free across the country!). Best of all it is pet friendly, the place is not over run by animals and smells at all, far from it. The people were friendly and mindful of others. We had a fabulous stay and will certainly be back, with or without a furry friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the town houses in December for Christmas. We even managed to cook our Christmas meal in the house. Parking available for $10 a day. Good laundry facility, good toilet and kitchen. Patio in the back to chill.
Overall a good house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birches Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Serviced Apartments

Address: 160 Simpson Street | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birches Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birches Serviced Apartments offers fully equipped and spacious apartments with all the comforts from home featuring full kitchen with microwaves and hotplates, Free Wifi and much more. A beautiful common court-yard with BBQ facilities with a veggie and herb garden are at the disposal of guests. What's more our guests can also use the bicyles provided free of charge throughout their stay to ride around the city centre. Rooms recently refurbished and freshened up under New Management since August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Birches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birches Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.