We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Dog Lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birches Serviced Apartments

Save Saved
You added Birches Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Birches Serviced Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   160 Simpson Street | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Perfect for Dog Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hi there, stayed at Birches East Melbourne over the Christmas period in Dec 2012 as we traveled with our dog to Melbourne.

The reason we stayed here was because the place was "pet friendly" and we needed somewhere that would accommodate our dog without any hassles. We didn't really know what to expect.

Likes
Gated secure parking that was included in
the price, no roof over carpark though.
Nice updated room with modern furniture and comfy bed
Quiet at night so sleeping not a problem
Other guests had dogs so our pooch had other dogs to say hi as we came and went from the building. Didn't feel like we were encroaching on other guests with our dog occasionally barking as their dogs let off the odd bark as well.
Nice outdoor communal BBQ area with tables etc.
Location to CBD, Lygon St and MCG was great. Under 5 minutes to city in car.
Awesome airconditioning
Large park opposite to walk the dog
Staff were really helpful and friendly

Dislikes
Room was rather small but functional I guess
We were on the top floor (2nd floor) and there was no lift which meant we had to lug our baby pram up 2 flights of stairs - this was a hassle as there was a lot of stairs
No balcony - just a corridor balcony

In summary, it was great for us as we had a dog. Really happy with the place and would definitely return but next time ask for a room on the ground floor because of the pram situation. Virtually every guest had a dog so everyone had the same idea. If you have a dog and are looking for somewhere to stay in Melb it would be hard to go past this place.

Hope you found this helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
19
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked this apartment in East Melbourne as it was close to the city and stayed for a week over the Christmas period.
The location is ideal with a lovely 30 min walk to Federation Square through Fitzroy Gardens but only a few mins to a tram stop if you don't fancy the walk. There is an IGA supermarket only 5 mins away and also a nice coffee shop nearby.
Booking was very easy at an affordable price and staff were very helpful to make sure that our requests were met. They were also friendly and helpful during our stay providing advice when asked about transport, shopping and dining. We arrived early but our baggage was looked after whilst we went ot to explore Melbourne.
The room was clean and tidy, and our baggage already in the room, when we got back. Although we were there over a holiday period the room was always kept clean and towels repalced as needed. We had a 1 Bedroom Apartment which has plenty of space for two people with large bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and lounge area. Room amenities also incude TV/DVD, an iron, ironing board and hair dryer whilst other amenities include a laundry and an outdoor patio and BBQ area at the rear which was well utilised plus secure parking if required. There is also adequate parking out front. WiFi is available and as we were there for a week the cost was reasonable, less so if you are on a very short stay. I did have a WiFi problem but this was sorted out quickly by the provider who runs an internet cafe 5 mins walk away.
The exterior was fresh looking and had been updated, the only downside is that the interior of the room we were in was looking tired and in need of updating and refurnishing. That said it was good value for money in an ideal location and we would definately stay there again if back in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Travelling to Melbourne during the Australian Open usually means higher prices than usual, so it was tricky finding something within my budget. Luckily, I found Birches.

After hours check-in was easy - after I booked, I got an email explaining how to get the room key. It was a very easy process.

The room was great. I stayed three nights in a one-bedroom self-contained apartment. The furnishings were nice and modern, the bed was extremely comfortable, and there was plenty of pillows and blankets. Air-con worked, which is good because none of the windows really opened. That was a downside.

An IGA supermarket is about a 5-min walk away, so I stocked up on breakfast and snack supplies which saved a bit of cash.

Short distance to good transport options - tram, bus and train. It's walking distance to Collingwood, an area I'm increasingly digging. Proud Mary in particular is an awesome cafe (the avocado quinoa breakfast option was amazing), and the shopping was very good.

It was fairly quiet, and if you've got a car you can park securely out the back. No free wifi is a downside.

I'll definitely stay here again if I want to be near Collingwood/Richmond area.

Room Tip: If you've got a lot of luggage and/or want to be close to the carpark, ask for a ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Located in East Melbourne, just a short walk from the city (15mins to Nicholson street and the inner city tram) this is a wonderful apartment. We were totally comfortable there, everything we needed and very affordable. We utilised the fabulous BBQ setting. The Birch trees were a delight to look at. Internet rates were reasonable ( though I still can't understand why internet is simply not free across the country!). Best of all it is pet friendly, the place is not over run by animals and smells at all, far from it. The people were friendly and mindful of others. We had a fabulous stay and will certainly be back, with or without a furry friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the town houses in December for Christmas. We even managed to cook our Christmas meal in the house. Parking available for $10 a day. Good laundry facility, good toilet and kitchen. Patio in the back to chill.
Overall a good house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location, one way to the office and city, the other to Richmond to fabulous Vietnamese restaurants. Both directions a short walk. This is the most comfy apartment I have stayed in in Melbourne. I usually judge a place by its bathroom but not this time. The bathroom is actually very pokey and the shower is in the old bath. BUT the rest makes up for this slight flaw. The bathroom is spotless with lovely finishing touches; flowers on the fluffy white towels, and beautiful hand cleanser and body soap on tap. This apartment is huge with two big rooms, one with a huge king size bed, and the other full size lounge and kitchen. Both lounges look like they pull out into beds if a family needs a cheap but lovely place to stay in Melbourne. For me I had the big telly to myself. This apartment as all the unexpected extras. I loved the fact it is very quiet at night. The staff are delightful and very helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

loved this little place cheap slept 4 with a double bed and 2 fold out sofas that were very comfortable. all you need to be in melbourne and not pay the earth. tram just around the corner and train just up the road, great cafe just across the road opp the tennis court . people at the desk very helpful ..even cheap to get cabs about if you can't be bothered to get public transport...

Room Tip: it was quiet top floor has leafy street view and a dove to wake you up in the tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birches Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Serviced Apartments

Also Known As:
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Address: 160 Simpson Street | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birches Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birches Serviced Apartments offers fully equipped and spacious apartments with all the comforts from home featuring full kitchen with microwaves and hotplates, Internet access and much more. A beautiful common court-yard with BBQ facilities with a veggie and herb garden are at the disposal of guests. What's more our guests can also use the bicyles provided free of charge throughout their stay to ride around the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Birches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birches Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.