We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central hotel to all places” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra City Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra City Central to your Saves list
Mantra City Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“central hotel to all places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very good central hotel to Melbourne if you in a short visit. A short walk from the shopping , restaurant and show. The two bedroom apartment is a very good for family , very spacious living area. You can rest and back to the shop . I will recommended this hotel . EXcellent .

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Left it pretty late booking our accommodation for the Melbourne Comedy Festival so unfortunately paid a premium, but used TA and read numerous reviews before booking. Reading some of the reviews I didn't have very high expectations, but this place is lovely.

Location - you couldn't get any closer to the city. Only mins walk to everything. Trams, China town, shoppings, restaurants etc. Great location to shop, eat and then return for a rest and then hit the streets again. Couldn't have wished for a better location.

Room - two single beds zipped together which make a decent king bed. Really comfort, nice doona and pillows. No complaints! Renovated kitchenette and bathroom and little lounge room. It's a decent size for two and while there is limited natural light (two windows face onto a wall), it wasn't a problem for us. Room was clean and everything we need.

Not sure about a previous review that complained they didn't "freshen up" their room. Our towels were changed, bed made and bin emptied. They didn't wash our coffee cups, but then I didn't expect them too!

Checkin was quick and easy. Would happily stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

i have stayed at many hotels in melbourne and this would have to be one my most disapointing stays. My partner and i booked a room for two nights, when we arrived to check in we were given the 'urban basement room'. It was a nice room, however the 'terrace' that they advertised was actually a hollow space between the builings with fake grass. It was gloomy and dark and it made you free like you were underground. There were no windows in the room at all and it always felt like it was dark outside even when it was light out. The room was also right next to the laundry AND there was loud music playing from a bar or something next door on both nights till 1am.

The location of the hotel is good however, the other rooms may be nice, but i would never stay at in an urban basement room again.

Room Tip: avoid urban basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only in Melbourne for one night, and this hotel proved to be a winner. It's in a great location. Right in the heart of the CBD, it's close to all shopping and restaurants. We had only booked a week prior to leaving for the trip, so we were very impressed to have a beautiful two bedroom apartment for a great price.
The service at the front desk was great and the hotel itself was clean and tidy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception was not helpful at all. Room service was not provided and a simple request for toiletries could not be handled by the staff. Room was quiet small for the rate charged, felt more like a studio apartment than a 1 bedroom apartment. Would much rather stay at another hotel for the ridiculous rate they were charging, Windows faced a wall and door for the bedroom would not close. Very old building, had no lift access to my room. Had to go through stairs and multiple doors to get to the room.

Room Tip: Dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed at this centrally located apartment hotel. Location is great. Looks like the hotel has been recently refurbished. It is clean, well equipped and very pleasant accommodation. Stayed in a ' terrace top apartment' which was great for an afternoon drink in the fresh air. Slept really well on the comfy bed. I would definitely stay here again. It is value for money in a great location. You can walk to restaurants, shops on doorstep.

Room Tip: Terrace top apartment great but not recommended for anyone who cannot do many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location. Right next to the Emporium and Myer, close to countless restaurants and public transport. I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the second floor for 4 nights. Very spacious with kitchenette, king size bed, and aircon. The bed was extremely comfortable - loved it! The bathroom was adequate but had cracked tiles and the bath was dirty. Checking in was a breeze and the front desk staff were professional and polite.

I wish I'd known that there's no real housekeeping. The towels were changed and bins emptied, which was great. However I hung out the 'Please make up my room' sign on my third day there thinking that the room would be straightened up and refreshed. the other days I had done it myself. When I returned to the room the curtains were closed, spare pillows left on the floor, the sheets hadn't been changed, and the dishes hadn't been done. The toilet also broke and when I spoke to the front desk about it, they obviously knew that this was the case as they weren't surprised at all. They did repair it though. The lack of service really makes this hotel overpriced. Overall I was pleased with the room, but highly disappointed with the service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor. I stayed on level 2 and there was so much noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra City Central

Address: 318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra City Central offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike. The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher. The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available. Mantra City Central puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. Reception is open between 07.30 And 22.00 Monday to Saturday and 08.00 To 22.00 On Sunday. Staff are more than happy to assist you with any enquiries. *Please note Mantra City Central is now a smoke free hotel. Restaurant charge back is available at the sister hotel, Mantra on Little Bourke, two blocks up Little Bourke Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.