We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you want to sleep.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke to your Saves list
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Daniel Luke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you want to sleep.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We asked about the construction next door to the hotel when booking. We were assured that all construction was limited to daylight hours. While this is somewhat true, the generators and compressors go all night and echoed through our room. We understand we are in the city and next to construction, but it would have been nice for the staff to be honest with us. We rang to complain at around 4:30am on the 2nd night and were told someone would get back to us. We are still waiting. Great location, staff are friendly... But come on guys tell the truth about the amenity, because that's what we are paying for. We won't stay at a break free ever again. Very disappointing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakfreeHeritage, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking time to provide some feedback on stay.

Yes we do have the construction of the Emporium shopping centre next door which we advise all guests about at the time of booking whether it be on the phone or on a website, it is advertised on all of the websites we use. Normal operating hours are 7am-3pm Monday to Friday.
At the moment the construction company do have a council permit to operate untill 2am, this is only up to and including the 25th July.They did have to work passed this point on Wednesday morning to due safety reasons, they were not able to leave the structure in an acceptable position at 2am. I have been in contact with both the City of Melbourne Council and the construction company regarding the issue of them working later than permitted.

My apologies for not contacting you sooner I thought I had spoken to everyone who was affected. Did you call during the night or did you speak to one of our staff at the desk?

I hope the noise did not inconveinece to a great extent and that we might be able to welcome you back to the Breakfree Heritage on Little Bourke once the constrcution is finished.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    79
    42
    41
    44
See reviews for
48
70
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

came down to melbourne to see the monet collection and it was just a quick trip.my sister booked the hotel and i didnt expect it to to be that great seeing the price was so cheap for the location.found all the staff we encountered to be excellent and very friendly. the lift was was beautifully restored, and it felt we were in a different era. not a good impression coming out into the corriadors it was a bit of a bland experience. could do with some art or colour. our room was small but clean ( except the toaster ). bed and pillow were comfortable. the bathroom was a bit tired but clean. could do with some more storage in there and a small bin. the location is perfect, clean room and it wasnt noisey as we had a corner room at the back overlooking the car park. myers is across the road as well as a lane way with a great restaurant, one of many around the area. flinders station and fed square about 7 minute walk and a 7 eleven about a minute away. so i was impressed and would go back and stay there.

Room Tip: we had room 309 - twin room but overlooking car park and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

I see your point regarding the art work in the hallways, something I will have to investigate.

We do our best to provide value for money on all points, whether it be cleanliness, customer service or location.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having read the reviews I was a little bit apprehensive about staying here, However after my visit I have very little to complain about, especially considering the price we paid. Sure the rooms could do with a bit of a touch up, and some double glazing wouldn't go amiss, but for a spacious room in central Melbourne that isn't hundreds per night you can't complain. We had a couple of initial issues that seem to be mentioned in some of the reviews (dodgy plumbing in the toilet, troubles with our key card), but as soon as we mentioned it to the staff they did everything they could to fix it, and were extremely helpful. My only negative comment would be the 'Queen bed', which was two singles side by side- the different heights combined with beds on wheels (that ended up half a meter apart by morning!) meant that we were essentially sleeping in different beds!

All up though I was happy, if you have any issues just speak to the staff- they are super friendly and keen to help!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Simon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. Great to hear our staff were so helpful, will pass your comments on to the team.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

we have just arrived back after 4 days in a one bedroom apartment ( If you could call it that!) We were on 1st floor - took 30 minutes to finally get manager to come up and convince him our swipe cards would not work and the door kept jamming. Opened door and nearly fell onto the bed. Opened blinds and faced a building roof and brick wall. One lamp only and one bedside table. One desk chair only. One tiny rubbish bin in bathroom. No toaster. Glasses filthy. No daily service so had to reuse towels. No dishwashing detergent or kitchen plug. The bedspread was thrown on the floor - just 1 pillow each with top sheet then filfthy woollen blanket and bottom sheet. It was filfthy. We had a loft apartment overhead and the stairs creaked all day and night. No room service. So no sitting room at all- had to lay on ther bed to eat and watch tV or read as only one chair. No phone either. This place is a disgrace . The location is great but there is construction work going on 6 days a week and it is very noisy. You will notice the photos only show loft apartment - it is much different. I dont care how cheap it is - this place is a disgrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Jancye,

My apologies for the problesm you have encountered during your stay, this is very concerning.

Please contact myself directly so I can redress the issues you have highlighted.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I recently stayed here from the 30 May for 6 nights in a one Bedroom Apartment.I found the room to be excellent. Of course there is some noise from the street as you are right in the centre of town.I opted for no room service which suited my needs and movements; its an old building so it creaks and groans; don't we all! I compared prices quite significantly before I booked and am very happy with what I received. My room overlooked the carkpark and Elizabeth St so there was always light in the morning and nice to look out onto at night. The only fault was leaky toilet which I reported on my comment card, so I hope it was followed up by maintenance. Hint=always take you Access Code with you if coming back in after hours; my swipe card did not work in this instance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dearr Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, we very much appreciate it.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a 6 days family holiday in Melbourne on May13. The only reason we choose this hotel is "location". Yes, the moment we arrived at the door step of the hotel, Myer shopping mall just in front of us. Strange, the main door of the hotel was lock, NO door bell Nor intercom (we arrive at 6am), a small note stick on the wall, we called and waited for about 10 mins a guy open door and check in for us, worse things was he claim he had waited for us until 1am, in fact, i had put a special note of my estimate check in time between 6-7am. With the kind of "special experience", we start worried about the room. Luckily, the room setting was quite good, although is simple, seems like it had been touch up recently, we are quite happy with that. unfortunately,a brand new air con/heater at living hall was not function, no heater, we were suffer from cool weather for a few hours, a portable little heater send in only 1 hour later after many times of complaining. Yet, the little heater only able to keep warm a bedroom. NO in house mechanic, force to wait until monday, unfortunately, the staff does't really helpful and did not kept promise and no one repair until the day we check out. Just be ware of the type of packages you book, there is NO room make up during our stay unless we pay an extra $20 the full room make up will then provided. Location is perfect, tram is just 2 min walk, train (flinder station) is just a few block away. Plenty of shopping, restaurant. In fact, there is plenty of hotel surrounding, we will travel to Melbourne again and will definitely choose other hotel.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor are quieter due to all windows are single glaze and away from the rooms near by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

I will follow up with our team to ensure all after hours procedures are being followed and ensure communication methods are available to all guests after hours.

I apologise for your stay falling below expectations, if were to return to Melbourne please contact myself directly so I can facilitate a much more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I know you get what you pay for. So didn't expect too much, beds clean & crisp, but the floors & walls are foul. Stains from spilt drinks everywhere & grime on the walls... In saying that, a cheap central stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jess,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are constantly working on trying to improve the cleanliness of our public areas and obviously from your review we still have work to do.

Kind regards

Chris Brett
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Address: 318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike.The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher.The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available.BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.