We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but goodie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke to your Saves list
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

This hotel is old, but in a great location. The first room we were given, the air conditioning didn't work, so we asked them to fix it. We got back to the hotel that night at 11pm and it wasn't fixed, so we phoned reception and were told that they couldn't fix it and we could change rooms, which we did. The air conditioning worked fine there (room 114). This was a 2 storey apartment, so not good for people with a mobility problem, but otherwise was really good. It was very quiet, clean and comfortable. The service was excellent, although the apartment wasn't serviced, although fresh towels and soap were left outside the door for us. The bathroom, especially the shower, was small, but adequate. For the price, it was great - the location was perfect, the rooms clean and quiet and the service top class. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The air conditioning
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    79
    42
    41
    44
See reviews for
48
70
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

We chose these apartments because of their location which I have to say was excellent. However the settee had a big hole in it - not a pretty site on arrival. Worse was to come however. The air conditioning was virtually non existant. It was so hot my husband and I had to cover ourselves in damp towels to try to keep cool and thus enable sleep. We informed reception the following morning only to be told (albeit pleasantly) that the air con units were so old they could not cope with the heat! so nothing could be done. They did not have any fans that could be used. We therefore had three nights with very little sleep covered in damp towels, and taking cold showers to try to keep cool - The room temp did not get any lower than 29degrees centigrade.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor air conditioning
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I stayed at Pacific International Apartments from 11 - 14th November, as part of a work trip, charged at AUS$150 per night. The apartment is located right next door to Myers on Little Bourke Street. The room is comfortable enough, with a kitchenette and a sofabed in the living room.

However, the decor is old and the place is quite rundown. Reception is only open from 7:30am - 10pm on weekdays and until 6pm on Sundays.

There is no double glazing, and every morning, I was woken up from 3am onwards by various rubbish trucks, street cleaning trucks, delivery trucks, etc. Bring earplugs if you want a good night sleep.

There is no breakfast service, but there are a couple of Coles Supermarket not far away (one in Melbourne Central and one on Elizabeth Street near Flinders Station).

Due to the noise situation, I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No double glazing in the middle of a busy city
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

We commenced our honeymoon by flying out from Cairns to Melbourne. Then Melbourne to Mt Hotham for a week, then a horrendous trip back to Melbourne, finally arriving around 11pm. We had paid Flight Centre, in Stockland Cairns to organise all our honeymoon for us, and they assured us everything was done. Arrived on the steps of the Pacific International Apartments and found that they had NO booking for us at all, despite Flight Centre providing us with documentation. The night care taker kindly help us find alternative accomodation, which ended up being The Sebel, Albert Park, due to the school holidays being in effect.

The next morning, The Pacific Apartments said that they had a room for us. We packed up and took the $30 cab ride back across town. Checked into the Apartments, dragged all our luggage out to the lift....only to find it WAS NOT WORKING....

We were on the 4th floor, and as it's a very old building, there are 2 flights of stairs per floor......We were fortunate to have someone help us up with our bags, but no help bringing them back down when we checked out.

8 flights of stairs just to go out for dinner is appalling...NO DISCOUNT offered, and and no apology.

Room was dirty, and in disrepair.

Will never stay there again, regardless of how close to town it is. Disgusting service, unclean and certainly unfriendly.

Cairns, for all it's faults, definately has the advantage of people having basic MANNERS

  • Liked — Close to Queen Vic Markets
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

This is my 2nd trip to Melbourne and I selected this apartment because of its fantastic location.

Putting that aside, the service needs improvement. The air-con in my 1 bedroom apartment was not working and I had 2 lights down. The air-con was terrible to the extent that it made the room warmer than the natural air outside. It is as good as not having air-con. Despite calling several times for help, I see no action taken even till the very last day I left. I had a stay of 4 nights.

Our room was pretty small. I happened to take a peep at the neighbouring 1 bedroom apartments while the cleaner was doing the servicing. Some were very much bigger than the one that I was given.

If location is your key consideration, you can still consider this apartment. I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

The location could not be more central, but I really hated the set-up of the rooms. The mezzanine arrangement in the first floor rooms was cleverly done but ended up feeling cramped, and the bedroom area ended up boiling hot while it was freezing downstairs.

The thing that really annoyed me was how dirty it was - scuffs all over the walls, and a windowsill that had a thick coating of dust on it. After a week there I was really glad to be returning to a London winter.

Like other reviewers I found no evidence of a "pillow menu" or anything similar. I deeply regret not booking at the Exhibition branch- we walked past it and it looked very nice indeed, and also has spa/sauna etc.

The only reason this place probably makes loads of cash is because it's just off the Melbourne equivalent of Oxford street.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — terrible standard of cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

We stayed 5 nights in Early-Dec, in a 1-bedroom.

Likes:

- Great room: Impressive for a 2/3-star rating, especially if compared to a 3-star hotel nearby. We stayed on the 4th storey, with high ceiling, giving the room a good spacious feel. The bedroom, however, basically just holds the queen bed and the wardrobe. (note: 2nd storey has just normal ceiling height).

- Excellent Location: our key factor in choosing the apartment. Literally next to Myer, with shops and tram stops within a stone's throw.

- Security: main gate shuts every evening at 7.30 p.m. Just a slide of your card key and the medival-like gate opens automatically. Elevator buttons are card-key activated 24 hrs a day.

Dislikes:

- Elevator: 1 old elevator serves the apartment. Not a big concern, but its (lack of) speed may be frustrating if you're in a hurry.

- Air-conditioner location: 1 large unit, facing the living room, which means we'll have to sleep with the bedroom door (sliding, non-lockable) open. It may take a while to cool the room down in Summer. Did not affect us as weather was cool throughout our stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing major
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for higher floors
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Address: 318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike.The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher.The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available.BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.