We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke to your Saves list
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location in Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

With a group of girlfriends we booked 3 rooms last weekend for a shopping trip to Melbourne.
My husband and I stayed in room 502 which we were very happy with as we loved the loft lay out. The next room was a two bedroom for my friend and her 4 daughters (room 511).It was also 2 levels but I thought their lounge/kitchen seemed a little small for all the girls. My other friend and her daughter had a room in the basement next to the laundry. It was the last room available and unfortuantely they had a sleepless night on Saturday as there is a night club on the back side of the hotel and the loud noise continued till 3.20am. They would return to the hotel again but never to the 2 rooms available in the basement. I love the hotel location as it's at the back door to Myers and DJ's. We are all returning again and will return to the same hotel. The hotel is not 4/5 star but neither is the price. The staff.on the front desk were also very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel. Being located in a Heritage building, we are a property with 60 apartments and 20 different room-types. And it is not always possible to put everyone in the same type of room. As you can imagine - this is a daily challenge for our staff. I am very sorry to hear that one of your friends had a sleepless night - the wine bar next to the Hotel is supposed to switch of the noise at 1.00 am and your comments will be forwarded to the Liquor Licence Office. Hope to recieve you all back soon at our Hotel - and do not hesitate to contact us in advance - should you be concerned about your room-type.
Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    79
    41
    41
    44
See reviews for
47
70
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed here with my two teenage daugters as we like to come to Melbourne to shop. I followed some advice and requested a refurbished room on the Elizabeth street side of the building, this is what I was given on checkin room - 403. I didn't hear any noise from the construction site- maybe they were on holidays - the week after Easter.
The staff were helpful, pleasant and courteous the few requsts we made were dealt with as promised.
The mani reason we chose the place was the price and we felt we got value for money.
The second reason was location- and it was great!
The sofa bed was uncomfortable and eventually my daughter realised she needed to sleep diagonally across it and found it more comfortable.
The room was generally clean, to be very picky the bathroom shower screen could do with a bit more attention and the ventilation fans need cleaning. The kitchen was well supplied if you wanted to cook, which apart from breakfast I chose not to do.
I would happy to return to stay here and I think my daughters will encourage a return trip!
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have taken note of your comments about the housekeeping issue's and forwarded them to our housekeeping team. We have also taken note about the sofa-bed - the hotel is due for a major refurbishment - and this will be taken care of as well.
We realize that the construction site to us is a major challenge for our staff to deal with - but we our doing our best! Hope to see you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Marian Ettakadoumi
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was the second time I stayed at the Breakfree Heritage for 1 night only over Easter as my partner and I were going to the Footy at the MCG on East Monday. We arrived at 11.30am hoping to get an early check-in but understood this might not be possible due to Easter. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment. The man at the service desk took my mobile number and said he would call when the room was ready. In the meantime we left our bags at reception and went and ate some lunch. At 1.30pm we returned and the lady on the counter said our room was the only one that wasn't ready and there was a different housekeeper because of the Easter holidays. This wasn't a problem as the lady gave us another room (502) which was a 1 bedroom loft with it's own balcony. It was pretty cool. We took advantage that night too of the Gourmet to Go catering service that delivers to Breakfree Heritage. Delicious! The room was tidy and perfect for what we needed. There was a dirty ear swab near the WIR but nothing to make a big deal over and you can hear the construction but I wore ear plugs. I would return here again for the convenience of location and price is reasonable if you are not wanting overly modern but neat and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feed back
We are pleased that you had a good experience again at our property
We have also forwarded you comments to our Housekeeping department
We are doing in tough wilst construction works are taking place next to us
but rest assured that we go out of our way to accommodate our guests
We hope to recive you back in the near future

Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Next door to construction site working from 6am till late except Sundays when they start at 10.00.
No room service and room cleaning average, bathroom worst with dirty tiles and black scum in basin. Location good, if you get good deal its ok otherwise forget it.

Room Tip: maybe a front room is less noisy???
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest
We have taken note of your comments
Unfortunately construction-sites are not under our control - and although the official authorised hours of construction are from 8.00 am - to 6. pm week-days - this is not always respected by contractors. We are doing our best to communicate with the construction company.
We are sorry you did not alert us to the problems in the bathroom during your stay - as we could have rectify the problems immediately.
We apologize for any inconvenience, rest assured that we are doing our best to get it right,
Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great location, rooms ok. Just a very tired, older-style facility. Spacious and clean, but in need of repair and maintenance. We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend. On arrival we advised staff that the exhaust fan for the bathroom was not working. Over 3 days, 4 separate front-desk staff confirmed that 'Yes, it needs to be repaired. We will advise Maintenance of the problem. It will be attended to.' It was not. As the toilet/shower had no source of ventilation, it became very unpleasant indoors. Construction noise from the building site next door was unbelievably loud, but not the fault of the hotel. Unfortunately the lack of sleep and the musty room spoilt what was meant to be a romantic interlude in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Aim for the Elizabeth Street side of the building, NOT the construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback - we are sorry we did not live up to your expectations.
We do realize that our property is in urgent need of a refurbishment - and we are working at the process. We do have problems with the exhaust fans in some of our bathrooms - and our staff should have communicated with the housekeeping department - in order to open the windows in the apartment at least. I have brought this up in our staff communication meeting - as it is so important that the different departments communicate.
Once again we do apologize for the inconvenience, rest assured that we are doing our best to get it right.
Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Staff were helpful in letting my friend check in on behalf of me because she arrived 5 hours earlier than myself and 4 other friends.
Booked a 1BR and 2BR apartment on the First Floor for the 6 of us. I stayed in the 2 BR with 3 friends. Double bed was roomy enough to share with a friend. Rooms were small, but for the amount of time spent in them, it wasn't an issue. Beds were comfortable.
Made use of the toaster and Fridge over our 3 night stay. Both were clean and the utensils and plates were also. Enough to service all four of us.

We stayed over the March long weekend arriving Friday night and checking out Monday. There was no construction work going on, which was lucky. But for it's central location in a busy city, the noise was quite minimal over the weekend. Typical city noise of Garbage and Recycling trucks were heard 2 mornings out of 3 and a couple of yobbos walking past making noise on Sunday night was about it.

The bathroom was small and a little mouldy. Fan in bathroom didn't seem to work or didn't do much. This may be why the mould is present if the room doesn't have a chance to dry out.

Mosquitos were present when we got in our room on Friday night - but this was because the window was left slightly open either by previous guests or cleaners.

Overall, for the price we paid (stay 3 pay 2 deal) and the amount of time we spent in the rooms, this hotel serviced our needs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback - we do appreciate receiving constructive comments from our guests - as this enables us to continuously improve our services.
We have taken note of your comment about the bathroom - and replacement of the fan is on the list.
We are pleased your stay was satisfactory - and hope to recieving you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed at breakfree heritage with my husband.we had a wonderful time.all the staff members are so friendly and polite. I Have already started recommending this hotel to my friends and this will be our home for our next visits to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments
We do have a fantastic team here at Breakfree Heritage - that will go out of their way to accommodate our guests.
We will be looking forward to recieving you again

Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Address: 318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike.The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher.The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available.BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.