We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and space for a group of 3/4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Save Saved
You added BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
china
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and space for a group of 3/4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The Heritage on Little Bourke served our purpose well. We wanted a 2 bedroom apartment that was central. The location was perfect, right in among all the laneways and only 5 mins walk to Flinders St. The room was also quite spacious - set on 2 levels with lounge/kitchenette downstairs (with additional sofa bed in lounge) and bedrooms upstairs. We even discovered another door up to a rooftop balcony!

The cons are that the room was quite grubby. Almost every wall had big black marks and dirt smeared across it. One wall even had a hole that looked like it has been punched in !! These grubby walls were one of the first things we noticed, so a bit of a let down. Also leading up to the balcony the landing inside the stairwell was covered in dust and dirt. Our bedrooms and bathrooms were quite clean though.

Current construction didn't really bother us. You hear more noise from the passing trams through the night. But that's the deal if you want to be so close to everything! Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dera Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
We note your comments about the marked walls and the dust and have forwarded these to our executive housekeeper - who is doing her best to stay on top of the dust. The property is due for a major refurbishment - and this will take place as soon as construction is completed next to us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Breakfree Heritage
Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    70
    40
    37
    42
See reviews for
45
64
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

Recently stayed here with a friend for two nights and it was really terrible. This is the first bad review I've given of anywhere because this is the only really bad stay I've had.

The construction going on next to this place is unbearable. It is unacceptable for this hotel to continue hiring out rooms at this time. I understand the noise is not their fault but honestly it's so loud you can't sit in the room between 7am (although they claimed 8am both days the noise bellowed through at 7am) and late afternoon.

The website mentions the construction but says that the hotel does everything they can to minimize the impact on guests. This absolutely underplays it. I hope people take note of this review as your stay will be ruined by noise and lack of sleep. Also we asked immediately to be switched rooms due to fact that the construction was directly below our window and the noise was horrendous from when we walked in, to be told we cannot move rooms and that the noise was the same in any room. Honestly I wouldn't pay hostel rates to stay here while that noise is on. There is no sound proofing on the windows either of course as the building is old.

Other than the noise the hotel is okay. Staff were friendly enough. The rooms are not being looked after with dented and peeling walls, etc. Not really very clean, dirt in the tiny bath, stacks of dust where you move the bedside tables to plug in your phone (which I see someone else on here mentioned and although the manager is often on here responding to comments no action has been taken.

As I said I'm not one to complain usually (see my previous reviews) but this was ridiculous. The first morning we woke up we looked for somewhere else to stay online but all were booked up due to an event we were also there for. Unlucky seeing as we booked 6 months earlier and just picked the wrong place.

Do not stay here while construction is on, and I wouldn't be super quick to recommend even when finished. Location is good but hotel is not worth any money at the moment, let alone the rate we paid, and staff have no sympathy.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you had no sleep?
We understand that the construction noise during the day may be a bit disruptive - however there are good days and bad days - and there is certainly no noise during the night. The official working hours are from 8.00 am - 12.00 noon and from 2.00 pm to 7.00pm during weekdays with restricted hours on Saturday and no work on Sunday. Most of our guests are out & about during the day, so it has not been to much trouble. Our staff will do what they can to accommodate - but when we are on a full house the possibilities are restricted. We have taken note of your comments about the dust in the room and forward these to our housekeeping team.
We apologize for your uncomfortable stay - rest assured that we do our best to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability
Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the hotel. Its a bit run down but has charm. It is great location for central melbourne, we could walk everywhere from the hotel. we particularly like the loft bedroom. The appliances in the kitchen all worked fine. lots of construction around but our room was quite. Staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest
We do appreciate your positive feedback - and acknowledge that the property is due for a refurbishment.
This will take place as soon as the constructions next to us are finished
In the meantime we do our best to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability.
Thank you and kind regards

Marian Ettakadoumi
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at breakfree mid november for 3nights. After reading all the reviews days before our trip i was very concerned that it was not going to be plesent holiday. The one bedroom apartment was very spacious and it was great to have the option of a kitchen to use, (not that we used it at all) eveything in our room 406 was very clean! Heard no noise whatsoever from the construction the whole weekend! Will definatly stay there again!

Room Tip: room 406 was very clean, though it was looking over a carpark. doesnt matter as ur hardly in ur room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do appreciate all feed back - and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in trying to accommodate all our guests to the best of their ability - especially during these difficults circonstances with the construction -site next to our building. We are looking forward to receiving you again one day!

Kind Regards
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great location, but...I arrived at 2pm, room was not ready until 2.45pm. Unhelpful night manager, when I reported an item missing from my case inside my locked room, day 1, I was given two numbers to call the police. I was told that it was my responsibility to report the loss not his. One of the numbers given was a daytime number only, the other was disconnected. I had to ask for my electronic keys to be re-coded as I didn't feel safe, I still barricaded myself in overnight, with little sleep. Staff obviously have access to all rooms, when I pointed this out, the manager asked if I was accusing one of his trusted staff, I replied "no" I was just pointing out facts. I have reported the matter to the police and have put in an insurance claim. I will NEVER stay there again, nor would I recommend it to others...

Room Tip: Room 110 had a steep, narrow staircase to apartment. Ok if you are agile and don't have a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Being located in a Heritage building - most of our apartments are a bit different - and 50% of our apartments are loft - which is also mentioned on the web-sites. If staircases are an issue, it is always good to contact us after making a booking and inform us - so we can do something about it. I am sorry to hear that something went missing from you apartment - our housekeeping staff leaves the premises at 3.00 pm - so it would be very unlikely that somebody would have gone into the room. The night manager was right by directing you to the police - because they will not take a statement from us - only from the person in question. The police station will not attend to after hours calls- and if the matter is urgent to only way to get through is 000.
I am sorry that your stay was not a good one - but rest assured that we do our best to get it right.
Yours sincerely
Marian Ettakadoumi
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed overnight after a celebration in the city in one of the Apartments. It well laid out and spacious and modern with full kitchen and separate bathroom / laundry. Next door a huge demolition was in progress so we wondered about the noise but the windows seemed to block most of it and the work stopped at 4pm so it was very quiet for sleeping later in the evening. You could not get any closer to the centre of town than this place and the rate was low probably because of the work next door but it did not affect us.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the demolition if you need to sleep in the daytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback - we do appreciate it, and we are happy that your stay was a satisfying one. We are doing it tough at the moment - with the construction site next to us - but rest assured that we will go out of our way to accommodate our guests.

Kind Regards
Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at breakfree heritage in november 2011 with a friend and we will definatley be back! The person I stayed with is mentally challenged and the hotel staff were only too happy to accommodate to her needs. It was nice to stay in a hotel that actually care about the needs of guests. Great value for money, the room was spotless except for a few scuff marks on walls, comfy beds and pillows, great air conditioning, neat loft style appartment, central location to everything. Could not praise the hotel enough - 110% satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herolbk, General Manager at BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. It's good to hear that your stay was a positive one.
And it certainly reflects what we are all about: customer service
We are looking forward to receiving you once more at our property in the near future!

Your sincerely

Marian Ettakadoumi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke

Address: 318 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike.The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher.The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available.BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.