We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still has work to do” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adara East Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adara East Melbourne to your Saves list
Adara East Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Eastern Town House Serviced Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Still has work to do”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives - close to city, comfortable king size bed. Staff did their best to help us.
Negatives - We had to move rooms, first room, obviously not finished refurbishment. Air conditioner not working, windows were key locked closed. (Staff were not aware of this). Wiring (not electrical hanging out of the wall). TV not calibrated for wide screen. Advertised free Wi-Fi, only connected (briefly) when you stood next to the front door, very frustrating as we had work to do. I also got locked in the bathroom, due to the newly hung door not hung properly. I had to get maintenance to open the door!!. Advertised kitchenette (a bit cheeky), consists of a microwave oven, a toaster, kettle and bar fridge. Crockery in a draw and one "microwave proof" dish. For people who don't use a microwave, a dead loss. Had to wash up in the bathroom sink. We actually chose this room as it had a kitchenette, we did not use it!
Second room - Kitchenette the same. Looked much better until we had a shower the next day (just happened to be a Saturday). The shower head was held together with a piece of wire and spurted water all over the place (mainly a huge stream to the left of the shower). Standing sideways you could have a shower of sorts. When we asked if it could be fixed, was told the maintenance staff didn't have the tools as it was Saturday. The toilet is badly placed and you have to sit sideways on it.

When I complained again, they gently told me I had already received a discount (due to renovations) and was offered a complimentary night when the building was finished. As I said to the receptionist, I would have gladly put up with the renovations (to the front of the building and entry), if the room items were in working order. As previous people have said, it looks like a dump on the outside, and there is building rubbish and leftover bedding and microwaves stacked on the side of the building. I wouldn't want to go back. Also very creepy, there was always a security guard nearby to the reception. Maybe to handle complaints??

The place is being "tarted up". The bathrooms, baths and taps have not been upgraded, just the bedrooms. A big disappointment as we were after somewhere to relax, not just to rest our head. If not for the fact that it was just too much trouble to find another place in Melbourne (after driving from Sydney) we would have left.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, maybe try in seven months, depending on price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello WanderingDenise. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Adara East Melbourne. I am very glad to hear you loved our convienient location close to the city and also our brand new comfortable beds. As you have mentioned, we are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment on the building. During this time we can experience some unforseen maintenance issues, rest assured we attend to these as promptly as possible. Thank you again for bringing these items to our attention. We hope to welcome you back to Adara East Melbourne again after our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to the hotel to find a broken down, old and filthy building that just also happens to undergoing renovations and is a worksite. Don't let the fact that its a working job site make you think thats what makes it filthy either.
We were given the key to our room and it's was around 3pm. Opened the door and beds not made , rubbish on the floor and number 2 still left in toilet.
Waited for another hour or more for room to be cleaned. Room was one that has been fixed up , but photos on here are deceiving. Looking closely you can see the poor quality of the workmanship . It looks like block contestants did it in 3 days. Overall I hope the renos fix this place up as at the moment it reminds me of a hotel that rents rooms by the hour for junkies and hookers.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Bob D. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Adara East Melbourne. It is correct that we are currently undergoing renovations. We are now 2/3 of the way through and getting very positive feedback from our newly refurbished rooms. I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us once the renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I wanted an affordable romantic night in the city after we recently stayed with friends at Wyndham apartments (excellent value) for a 21st the night before. We were tossing up between this place and the wotif mystery deal which we knew was the Hilton. But we decided to give this place a shot. When we arrived it was face to palm moment. It looked like a crack den, there was rubble everywhere (under going renovation which they neglected to tell us before it was too late to cancel our reservation) and the complimentary continental breakfast they promised was a a juice box, a cereal box with some milk wrapped up. What annoyed us most though is how long we had to wait to check in. Check in time for Adara is 2pm. They kept us waiting till 4pm as our room hadn't even begun to be cleaned. The rooms are okay. Definitely not 4 stars like they say they are and bathrooms are pretty run down. Safe to say, pretty much killed the romantic buzz for the evening. We couldn't help but laugh and think damn we have been screwed over.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Chloebly. Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Adara East Melbourne. It is correct that we are currently undergoing major refurbishments. We do advertise this on all our booking sites so that future guests are aware. I do apologise that Adara East Melbourne did not meet your expectations during your stay. I hope that after our renovations are complete we get the oportunity to welcome you back to stay so that you can experience the finished product. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at Adara Apartments before and after renovations. There is parking at the rear of the building and is a short walk to the tram stop. The newly refurbished rooms are very comfortable and the small kitchenette has everything you need (washing up has to be done in the bathroom). The staff are very friendly and accommodating to our needs when required. This is a great place close to the city and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine K, General Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello LizVin2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at Adara East Melbourne. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms as well as our close proximitiy to transport and the CBD. I will also pass on your kind words about our friendly staff. I hope you see you again at Adara East Melbourne soon.
Regards,
Katherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice little hotel with brand new rooms set out really nicely and very clean.

The staff were really friendly and accommodating with our personal needs.

The place had everything we had seen online and was as described. The new owners are doing all they can to update it.

Although the kitchenette didn't have a sink and after hours we couldn't get in from the back were the carpark is making us go all the way around the building.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, General Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Yochanan G,

Thanks for your lovely review of Adara East Melbourne's new rooms and our team members! Indeed, we have been getting raving feedback from guests that have enjoyed these new rooms.

The rooms on our Ground and First floor have been designed to be hotel style rooms so do not have a sink in the kitchenette area. However, these rooms are equipped with coffee/tea making facilities, microwave, bar fridge and has an ensuite bathroom.

Our Premier rooms that are still currently undergoing refurbishment is designed to cater for longer stay travellers and these rooms will have a full kitchen including cooking facilities.

With the building's front and back entrance doors, we will be carrying out works in due course so that in future guests with room key cards will be able to enter from the back entrance. In the meantime, for the security of our guests, we do lock the back entrance door.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon!

Thank you.

For and on behalf of
Adara East Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This place is well located, walking distance to the CBD. Newly renovated ( still happening so be aware of noise factors from 7am ). Our room was a reno'd one so the bedroom part was very nice, with a new bed and good fittings. Bathroom however, was dangerous in every way. Floor tiles got so slippery, even just from steam, that you could easily fall over. The exhaust fan didn't remove steam adequately, so the floor was an accident waiting to happen. We made a "carpet" from bath towels to stop us from slipping over. The shower is located in the very slippery bath, with no bath mat or non- slip surface, so once again we had to line it with towels when showering, to avoid a fall. Getting out was awkward due to the high sides of the bath and the position of the glass shower screen and the sink - nothing about having a shower was easy or safe. The shower taps were located wrongly too - right where your arms are. I bumped the hot tap accidentally and got a rush of boiling hot water - the temperature is FAR too hot and the bad positioning of the taps could lead to scalding . The whole bathroom needs redesigning for SAFETY rather than just appearance.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, General Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Stella9940,

Thank you for taking time out to post this review. Indeed, our property is located in a fantastic spot! Since the refurbishment has been completed on the Ground floor, we have received great feedback from guests regarding these new rooms.

We are sorry to hear about your bathroom experience. Since your feedback, we have purchased and installed bath handrails into the bathrooms. We have also placed non – slip bath mats in all of the rooms to ensure the safety of our guests.

Please contact us at eastmelbourne@adaraapartments.com.au when you next come to Melbourne and we will love to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you.

For and on behalf of
Adara East Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Renovations are amazing. Comfortable bed, brand new appliances. Staff went over and above with customer service. Parking may be small but we fitted a 4x4 nissan navara. Location is 5star. 5 minute walk to tram/train stop. Close to MCG, aaimi park and rod laver arena. 5 minute walk to some amazing restaurants. Will definitely be returning :)

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, General Manager at Adara East Melbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Hi Sally M,

Thanks for your raving review of our new rooms, staff service and property location!

Indeed, Adara East Melbourne is in a prime location for anyone that loves the convenience of being close to the city, MCG, AIME park and Rod Laver Arena.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne!

Thank you.

For and on behalf of
Adara East Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adara East Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara East Melbourne

Address: 90 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Eastern Town House Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara East Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 1.5km from Melbourne CBD in a prestigious garden suburb, each unit is fully furnished and self-contained with a kitchenette and private ensuite. Complimentary on-site Parking, Free Foxtel and Free Wireless Internet. Guest Laundry facilities are available on the Ground Floor. Location!Location!Location! We are close to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adara East Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Town House Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adara East Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.