We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average price for an average night sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adara East Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Adara East Melbourne to your Saves list
Adara East Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Eastern Town House Serviced Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bundaberg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average price for an average night sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and found it to be all round average. The price was fairly decent which attracted us here, plus the rooms were reasonably sized self contained units which is handy if you want to save money by preparing some of your own meals.

The only concern I had with the layout of the apartments were that they were shower-over-bath set up which were quite difficult to get in and out of and quite slippery.

The staff were friendly, however despite having the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, we were woken by housekeepers twice early in the morning asking for our rooms to be cleaned. Depending where your room is it can get noisy with people talking in the corridors and banging doors.

The apartments are also a 20-30min walk into the city which gets tiresome if you need to do more than one trip in the day.

Overall, it was a comfortable room which suited the purpose of our trip to Melbourne for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    10
    18
    20
See reviews for
8
25
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found the Eastern Town house very dirty and grotty. From the entrance carpets to the lift and the corridors it was smelly and dirty. the room was smelly. light switches and tv remote all dirty.
airconditioner didn't work. cups dirty.thetable dirty.
Bathroom was fair and the bed looked like it had been changed though.
it was not a pleasant experiece at any price. Whatever price the room is it should be clean.

Room Tip: would not recceomend at any price as the halls were not even pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

very dirty old room that is not serviced. We were locked out of the hotel at night and waited onpver an hour for someone to let us in. The code to the front door did not work. Furniture is old and dirty, bath has mold growing on it. YUK YUK YUK, nothing good about this place!

Room Tip: In another establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was traveling in a group of three. By chance, I found Eastern Town House daily rental rate as very attractive at below AUD$120 a night for 3 persons. It is a pleasure for me to present you my experience with this property.

Service: We were greeted with a friendly receptionist who answered most of our questions. Checking into the property was smooth and quick.

Locality: Right in front of the property, there is a small park next to a tennis court. It is a place to relax in the evening. In just a short walk toward the right, you can find Fitzroy Park which offers a larger, beautiful park. Just a place you can go for a stroll in the evening. And not to mention too, Melbourne Museum is just a 20 minutes walking distance from this property.

Parking: The parking bays are a bit small and narrow. Take care when you park there and make sure the exits are not blocked by inconsiderate parking.

Laundry: yes, it's provided. This property is equipped with 2 industrial type washing machines and a large dryer. It cost AUD$2 dollar for a wash and AUD$4 for drying.

Building interior and room: This property is quite well maintained and cleaned. There is no issue with cleanliness. The cooking utensil though, need some cleaning before use.

WiFi: Yes, this is an essential item for me and yes, there is free WiFi provided.

Overall, I would say, this is a nice and pleasant place to stay. It is recommended for those who travel in a group of 4 and below.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during the 2013 Australian Open and felt ripped off as the tariff was about $200 per night. The one bedroom apartment description was an exaggeration. The bed was crammed into one corner by 70s style timber robe. Kitchenette was in similar style and together with the bathroom were in poor condition. Staff well trained in deflecting complaints. We suggest you look elsewhere at anytime of the year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location, in the process of upgrading the rooms. New rooms very nice with flat screen tv, down lights & modern furnishings including a basic kitchenette. Clean room & quiet location. Free WiFi & basic foxtel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Williamstown, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This was easily the most run down and dirty place I have stayed in. The toilet leaked, the window sills were dirty and lacking paint. The room had not been painted in many years and the furniture was showing signs of age.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adara East Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara East Melbourne

Address: 90 Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Eastern Town House Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara East Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 1.5km from Melbourne CBD in a prestigious garden suburb, each unit is fully furnished and self-contained with a kitchenette and private ensuite. Complimentary on-site Parking, Free Foxtel and Free Wireless Internet. Guest Laundry facilities are available on the Ground Floor. Location!Location!Location! We are close to everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Adara East Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Town House Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adara East Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.