We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Apartment Location & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Manhattan to your Saves list
Punthill Manhattan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #62 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient Apartment Location & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Pros: Small apartment style
Location close to heart of Melb in Paris end of town.
Quiet end of town away from noise.
Parking station next door
Full amenities in kitchen - oven, stove, microwave, large fridge
Separate bathroom with amenities - Clothes Washer / Dryer
Sofa Bed in living room, separate from main bedroom
Great water pressure and always has heaps hot water!
Roomier than typical hotel room

Cons: Steps / entry to hotel
Key access rather than swipe card
Step in/out bath tub/shower - not great for elderly or less mobile people
bathroom showing signs wear & tear - damaged grout and towel rails
Limited toiletries if you like that sort of pampering - ie, not like a 5 star hotel
Sofa bed mattress very uncomfortable
Charges for extra guests - ie/eg, kids get charged extra per night

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear SFX,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that this city centre property is in a great location; so many eateries, shops, theatres and public transport are an easy walk away. All our apartments at Punthill Manhattan - we have one, two and three bedroom apartments - all have full kitchen facilities in them, which many of our guests find extremely useful and also cost effective because they don't have to eat out for every meal if they don't want to!
Sofa beds by their nature are not overly comfortable; if an extra bed is required on your next visit, please request for a single rollaway bed instead, which can be arranged. Hotels do charge for additional guests when extra bedding and linen are required.
We are so pleased that overall you had a good stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
61
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent 4 days at Punthill Manhattan. It was a great stay it was clean and family friendly. Close to everything restaurants and places to see. The only thing pillows were a bit uncomfortable and tv was not in the bedroom which people like to lay in bed and watch a movie!!
But if that was my only complaint I must of had a great stay..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Chezzbutt,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit. Next time you stay, please request firmer or softer pillows - whatever you prefer.
We also have another property a few minutes walk away on Flinders Lane (Punthill Flinders Lane @ 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne), and we do have a second TV in the bedroom of the apartments at this property.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having lived in New York for over 2 years, this charming stay was a happy Valentine's nostalgic trip down memory lane.

The high ceilings were very welcome, esp for my wife who's slightly claustrophobic. The apartment also comes well-equipped with Americana art pieces and all the standard trappings (yes, for NYkers exposed unpainted brick/concrete is a premium 'feature') including a combi washer-dryer which would've been very welcome in NY, but the plumbing wouldn't have allowed it.

The firedoor entrance & tiny walk up lobby desk is perhaps the only jarring part of the atmospheric experience. But no complaints: at least there's a keyed elevator to save us from dragging our luggage up 3-5 floors. The bed in 303 was also a tad soft & sunken and I should have complained like an ex-NYker, but why spoil an otherwise romantic experience.

All in all, it was a fun stay, with good restaurants, a spa and an arty cinema barely a stone's throw away. Fed sq and the free tourist tram are also close by. If you grab a Melb visitor's book from the lobby, you might even score 2-for-1 tickets! We'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear baaron,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that you had such a fun and enjoyable weekend in Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the worst, booked through sporting company for the Tennis. Arrive , room to ready. You can wait on hard chairs... Oh sorry lift not working, you can wait a while longer or walk up 4 floors with my 73 yr old mum... Go to tennis, lift still not working .. Down four flights, tennis walk was fine good location. Tennis finishes as midnight . Back up four flights of stairs. Poor mum. Room not finished, concrete beams cracks and holes in walls. Sofa lounge broken, had to put mattress onto the floor to sleep., 10 am checkout as per usual, asked for late checkout, extended to 10.30. Beds hard, huge bath to climb into for a shower, once again not good for mum. Overall not happy Jan.

Room Tip: Don't bother, not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Linda M,
We are so sorry to hear that the property did not meet your expectations. It was incredibly stressful for all concerned that the lift broke down. It was fixed in one day and we are so apologetic.
Of course the apartments are finished. We advertise the property as warehouse style, with exposed concrete, beams and rough plastering in some areas. This is the charm of the property. We will check all sofas and also wonder whether you advised reception as this would have been attended to immediately.
We would love you to consider staying at one of our other city apartment hotels next time you visit Melbourne - Punthill Flinders Lane or Punthill Little Bourke - as they are both different styles and may suit you much better.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

pros
Helpful reception
Spacious and self contained
Modern and airy
IGA within 2min walk, Coles express 10 mins (for self caterers)
Good value for money if you book in advance
Quiet apt located on higher floors away from lift
Walking distance to tennis

cons
Walls a bit thin, you can hear some noise of neighbours
Air con a bit noisy, panel broken
No pool
Housekeeping (cleanliness) not 100% but nothing that bothered us
This is not the Ritz Carlton, don't expect bells and whistles

Overall we would come back. Big thanks to Steven who ran up and down flights of stairs to get us a 6th floor apt, 1 hour before designated check in. He is very accommodating and went to the extra effort to find us a suitable room

Room Tip: For light sleepers, request a room away from the lifts and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear sarah y,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We do have a large spa pool located on the same level as our gymnasium, which is open daily for our guests to enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a great stay, staff were superb , very friendly and helpful, and apartment was very spacious and comfortable and modern, nice modern décor too. Great location for Australian open tennis and shopping .Able to walk to everything. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Holidayhappydaysl,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that the location of this city apartment hotel is ideal for shopping til you drop, as well as attending sporting events at Melbourne Park and the MCG in particular.
We are extremely pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and will recommend Punthill too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while watching the Australian Open tennis.
Its a great location. 10-15 min easy walk to the tennis centre, restaurants and convenience stores near by and big comfortable beds.
There were two of us sharing a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. The aprtment had a fully self contained kitchen with a good sized lounge area and washing facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only downside was we had a room at the back, the only access to which was down two flights of stairs. When you got inside, the only window looked across a pile of dirt to an enclosed car park, but other than that the room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.