We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Punthill Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Punthill Manhattan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Kwinana, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here in May this year mainly a footy trip with my partner,our son and our nephew.
It was great the apartment was a very nice size the rooms were great.
There is a small IGA nearby so we used the kitchen facilities for our meals.
We ordered dinner though room service a couple of times the first time it was lovely the second time not so much it was a bit salty.
My only thing about the kitchen facilities was the dishwasher didn't work properly and there wasn't enough trays for the oven and the frying pan provided was too small.
Very secure doors are locked after a certain time at night but you have a key to get in you also need your key to use the elevator
It is located in a place that met our needs close to the MCG a walk up the street takes you to the trams or the free bus.
I'd recommend staying here again in fact we are heading back to Melbourne next year and are taking our other 2 kids with us and are thinking of staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear rdw206WA,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
This property is ideal for families because it offers a range of one, two and three bedroom apartments; we are delighted that you found the size of the apartment so comfortable.
Next time you stay, please do not hesitate to request any additional kitchen items you require and we will happily comply.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
49
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is my second stay at this place for work. Hard to find good accommodation within public service allowance rate in melbourne. Can't fault this place. Will stay again. Offers all I need at a high standard for a work overnighter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Moulo,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted to hear that your most recent stay at this city property met all your expectations again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at your Manhattan apartments from the 8th until the 13th of August.
We found the apartments clean tidy, well presented and ALL the staff were friendly, professional and well mannered. The apartment was convenient to the city and most public transport.
I am a light sleeper and the staff accommodated me with a room on the 6th floor and away from the lifts.
Unfortunately I was not aware the floors were timber and every noise that the people in the rooms above us made- we heard. On the Saturday night the guy above us sounded like he was renovating the apartment. He was up all night and was constantly dropping things on the floor.
The only other bad points were- the mattresses was too hard and the heater sounded like a train when it started up during the night

Overall I was very satisfied with everything.

Room Tip: Try and get an apartment on one of the higher floors as they are quietier. If you order from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Sue B,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed the apartments, location and service at the property.
We do have luxurious mattress toppers on our beds which normally provide an extremely comfortable surface. We understand from our managers that they did place an extra topper on your mattress. We will certainly check the air conditioner.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I couldn't have stayed at a better place - lovely service, an amazingly hip apartment, clean & tidy with everything we needed, heaps of space & such a central location!!
No troubles with our late check-in.
They have little vouchers for things to do locally & at a discounted rate.
We were provided a map with directions with how & where to catch trams etc when we went down the morning after checking in late.
Very accommodating & were more than happy to look after our bags after check-out & waiting for our plane.
They called a taxi for us also!
Feels like a family run business with a very warm & welcoming service!

We're already planning our next trip next Winter & can't wait to stay at Punthill Manhattan - felt like a home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear rhiaan,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service, and are already planning a return trip next year!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few days under a sale price and the room was great - plenty big enough for the 3 of us and we loved the decor, something a bit different. The space was great. After a few communication issues, Punthill resolved a situation when I explained what I had expected - won't go into detail but they were very generous.
We greatly enjoyed the spa facilities, the spa is lovely and warm, perfect for the winter!
We did get locked in the spa once - we tried to leave at 9pm and the door was locked. Fortunately we were able to get out!
Perfect for wandering around Melbourne. While not very close to the main busy spots of Melbourne, it was really easy to walk around to get to places anyway.
For the price we got the hotel, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: A single double bedroom apartment with a sofa bed is perfect for three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Bethany M,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
The property is in an excellent location to explore Melbourne. There are cafes, restaurants, theatres, sporting venues and retail shops all within easy walking distance.
The spa room is available for guest use from 7am to 9pm daily. We have followed up how you were locked in the spa and are really not sure how this occurred. Staff will be extremely careful about this though.
We are delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a long flight from the UK we arrived early Saturday morning. Able to leave our bags and asked if we could be contacted if a room became free. Were contacted by 9.30 and advised we could check in - great service. Appartments were a good size and fairly quiet for this central location. Hotel 10/15 mins walk from the centre. Some good cafes in Collins Place Precinct opposite for breakfast with free Wi-Fi (payable in hotel). Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear IanCardiff,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
We are so pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill should you visit Australia in your future travels.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After the quality and value of the Thai hotels we had just stayed in during our world tour, this was a reality check. Reception and public areas are small and tired, although the apartment itself was large, fairly clean and well appointed. We were not keen on the décor - in particular the exposed concrete beams and pillars - although guess that's personal choice. Had everything you could want for a stay in the city - fridge, microwave etc. Good to have a large spa and gym area available for use. Shame wifi was not free - although this seems common in Australia. Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Travelboyz07,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Manhattan.
Yes, hotel rates in Thailand definitely do not compare to Australia where of course everything tends to be much more expensive. Also, with space being at a premium, hotel foyers are not normally as expansive as Thailand.
We are sure that in the near future it will be common practise for wifi to be free.
We do hope to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punthill Manhattan Hotel
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.