We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to explore Melbourne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Manhattan to your Saves list
Punthill Manhattan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #61 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location to explore Melbourne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After the quality and value of the Thai hotels we had just stayed in during our world tour, this was a reality check. Reception and public areas are small and tired, although the apartment itself was large, fairly clean and well appointed. We were not keen on the décor - in particular the exposed concrete beams and pillars - although guess that's personal choice. Had everything you could want for a stay in the city - fridge, microwave etc. Good to have a large spa and gym area available for use. Shame wifi was not free - although this seems common in Australia. Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Travelboyz07,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Manhattan.
Yes, hotel rates in Thailand definitely do not compare to Australia where of course everything tends to be much more expensive. Also, with space being at a premium, hotel foyers are not normally as expansive as Thailand.
We are sure that in the near future it will be common practise for wifi to be free.
We do hope to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
61
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Two bedroom apartment was roomy and had everything you needed, shared toilet/bathroom would be the only bug bear, but for family groups not a major hurdle. Room serviced daily, WiFi available at an extra $18 a day, PC available at reception for internet, no cost
No restaurant or cafe, room service is off site, with an hour wait.
No problem in getting an extra hour for checkout,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Paullie08,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Manhattan.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The apartment we were allocated was on the sixth floor and was clean and spacious, with a good kitchen. Along with other reviewers, I thought the room cleaning time a little unusual, in our case it was around 3pm while my partner was having a nap. The shower was a little cramped and we appeared to run out of hot water on the first morning! Front desk staff were friendly and professional and there were no problems with the water the second morning.

Based on the location (close to Palace Theatre, Rod Laver, Chinatown and other excellent dining) and price i'd probably give them another shot the next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Ejwn,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and front office service at the property.
Our housekeepers work until 4pm generally, and room servicing is performed throughout the day. For your next reservation, please don't hesitate to ask for the cleaning to be done a bit earlier in the day.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice cozy apartment containing most of the facilities that a family travelling on a long holiday can expect..comfortable cozy room, very well equipped barhroom, nice kitchen & living room..Walking distance to the city tram station as well as to city bus shuttle stop. In the heart of CBD.. It's convenient location made our stay at Melbourne even more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear VTraveller_27,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are so pleased to know that you and your family had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the apartments, facilities and location of Punthill Manhattan.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family and I stayed for 4 nights. The reception staff were fabulous, all were super friendly and helpful and really made our stay pleasant. I loved the shops/eating area across the road, they had great coffee. I loved the gym facilities and the kids were very happy with the spa, a very warm one for a change. We used the kitchen a lot and had all the equipment needed. The location is really good for families as we could walk to a lot of places (gardens, playground), good spot for the MCG and the free city circle tram stop only a couple of mins walk. The housekeeping was the only slight downfall. They didn't come until late in the day which meant we were back in our apartment and I'd made the beds assuming they weren't coming so they did a quick check of towels and emptied our bin but forgot to replace toilet paper, dishwash liquid & powder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kristi,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at Punthill Manhattan, but do apologise for the issues you had concerning your room cleaning. The housekeepers do work until 4pm; however just let us know and we would be more than happy to accommodate you with earlier cleaning.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights over the June long weekend. The apartment is in a very good location, with a lot of very good restaurants and cafes a short walk away. It is also just a short walk to tram stops and train stations so you can get pretty much anywhere!

The apartment is nice and modern with the industrial feel which i really liked. we didnt use the kitchen but it seemed to have everything you needed. we had a view over a carpark and to some office buildings which was fine, obviously not a stella view but not a brick wall as others have experienced. our room was very quiet, we were in 405. The only real noise was when a family with children moved in next door on our final night, the kids were running around a bit and you could hear this through the walls.

bathroom is very large and spacious, shame the shower is quite small.

overall a good place to stay and value for money :)

Room Tip: I asked for a high floor, we were in room 405 which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Karen-Maree,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at this city property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We chose this hotel based on its good reviews on here as well as the location. We arrived around 4:30pm on the first day and check in was easy, the staff member behind the counter was polite and helpful. I had requested a room on a higher floor, but we were given a room on level 2. I am not sure if that is because they were busy due to the long weekend, but I had booked almost 7 months in advance. The 1 bedroom apartment itself was nice. Fairly modern decor and a decent amount of space, though our suitcases had to be kept in the living area as there was no room in the bedroom. The bathroom was very outdated and the shower/bath recess was in need of a good clean, I could ser mould which is something I can't stand when staying in a hotel. The kitchenette was fully equipped.
We went out on our first day and came back late afternoon to find the apartment hadn't yet been serviced, they didn't come until after 4pm which I thought was a little late, and didn't change any linen, just re made the bed and quickly tidied up. The room was cleaned a little better on the second day, however during our 6 nights, they didn't even run a vacuum cleaner over the floors or wipe down benchtops. Cleanliness in accommodation is important to me and the standard here was not up to scratch. I even opened the drawer one night to use some cutlery only to find old dried food on a knife and fork which is not only unhygeinic its also dangerous. On our last morning the cleaners came at 9am and were annoyed that we were still in the room, even though check out isn't until 10am. I told them we would be leaving at 10 only to have them come back 40minutes later and be abrupt with me when I said we still weren't ready to leave!
Id say the cleaning service/staff is the property's biggest downfall. The apartment was comfortable, beds and pillows were perfect, location was a good base for exploring Melbourne. Also out apartment looked onto a car park and directly into an office building and the blinds on the window were not sufficient to block out people seeing in...there should probably be appropriate curtains on the windows!
I would come back to this property if thr cleaning and the cleaning staff improved. Otherwise I would look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear courts_b88,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
All requests are noted in reservations and we always go out of our way to accommodate guests' requirements. We do not know how your reservation was made but it if was via a third party, it is possible your request was not conveyed to us.
Thorough cleaning is absolutely essential in any hotel, and we do apologise for the attitude and standard you encountered. Servicing of the apartments does not always include a linen change, however it definitely should have included vacuuming and general cleaning on a daily basis.
As you have mentioned, check out time is at 10am and guests can absolutely stay in their apartment and should not be disturbed prior to this time. It is clear that housekeeping staff at Punthill Manhattan require some further training and monitoring and this will be undertaken without delay.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.