We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for last minute booking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Manhattan to your Saves list
Punthill Manhattan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #62 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for last minute booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you want a flash foyer and frilly finish, then this is not for you. However, if you modern and functional, this is it. We loved the size and industrial look of this apartment. Plenty of room to invite friends back, very clean, terrific location, surrounded by lots of cool restaurants

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear MaryCH

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Manhattan and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
61
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We've selected this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews mostly. Excellent location - very central but not in the noisiest part of the city. Comments about loud lift made by several reviewers before are justified. Despite being three doors down from the lift I was hearing it throughout the late hours of the night we stayed there. It's not something that would keep/made you awake at night I think, but it is noticeable if you're in bed already awake.

On the day we arrived something happened to hotel's hot water cylinders, so we ended up taking ultra quick ice-cold shower. Staff reassured us that the issue will be fixed that day, but since it was a Saturday it probably was a bit of a wishful thinking. We were told later that day that issue has not been fixed and that we will be relocated to another property , which is exactly what happened the following morning and we stayed at Punthill Little Bourke in Chinatown for the remainder of our trip.

Management handled the problem very well, they kept in touch on the issue and refunded us for the first night's stay without the hot water.

All in all,

pros:
*great size of the apartment
*friendly reception staff
*cool converted warehouse feel
*big kitchen with full size fridge and all the necessary stuff for cooking if you need it
*great location
*good value for money overall.

cons:
*bathroom is in a serious need for an upgrade, it was clean but rather shabby
*lift and common areas would benefit from a refurbishment too
*ok bed, but rather pathetic pillows

It was a satisfying stay despite the problem with hot water, but we'll look for an alternative place to stay next time we're in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear AleRiv

Thank you for your comments. The lift technicians are attending at the property today for an inspection.

In response to your review we are checking through the entire property and replacing any pillows that are not up to standard. With regard to the bathrooms some have been re-grouted and others are scheduled.

We do hope to see you again at Punthill Manhattan.

Regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. I love the location and that it is quiet and clean. Fantastic base for exploring Melbourne CBD and all it has to offer. Beautiful walk through the Fitzroy Gardens to the MCG. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear l0veh0lidays2,
So great to hear that you are a return guest to Punthill and that you once again enjoyed your stay at Punthill Manhattan. The team at the property will be delighted to know that the apartments, facilities and service well and truly met all your expectations.
We hope to see you again at Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for a girls weekend away, rented three - 2 bedroom apartments (12 girls) and found this to be perfect. They all had kitchens, lounge rooms and very comfortable beds. There was no noise from surrounding buliding as you in the upper end of town which becomes quiet on the weekends. A short walk took you to the middle of town where you can shop and eat your heart out. The bathrooms were huge with a laundry and bath tub. Never had a issue with the hot water when sharing with three other girls. Would recommend this hotel for someone who doesn't like the noise of being in the middle of town but still wants a clean and cool hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear mightygem,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend visit to Melbourne at Punthill Manhattan and thanks for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights during the F1 and must say we could easily have stayed a week! Beautifully decorated apartment, with a warehouse conversion feel. It was located in a great part of town, only a 5-10 minute walk into the heart of the city. Great restaurants nearby that you would never know about if you stayed in the CBD. Staff were very friendly and apartment was spotlessly clean. Had everything you needed, full kitchen, etc. etc. Will definitely be recommending it to my family and friends. A great experience with no negatives. Love love love it!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor so didn't have to battle with lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear JulieM59,
We are thrilled to hear that you loved your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan and thanks very much for taking the time to provide your review on TripAdvisor.
Our front office and housekeeping teams will be so pleased to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service at Punthill Manhattan, and that you are happy to recommend Punthill to family and friends too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just had 4 nights at Manhatten, we love that end of town. stayed in 2 bedroom apt number 606, as we were on the 6th level we had a great view of Rod Laver Arena and MCG also the sun rise.

Very well equipped, very comfortable and very, very quiet. Would definetly stay here again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for room on higher level, quieter and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Annette b,
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
As you mentioned, the location of this apartment hotel is particularly ideal for guests attending events at the MCG or the Melbourne Tennis centre as both venues are an easy walk from the property, and public transport is easily accessible too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stay for 4 nights and are very satisfied with the location and room facilities. The room is very spacious with an open kitchen. Cooking utensils and plates are quite enough except bowls. The toilet is well equipped with lights and heat lights. The only down side is the instruction of washing machine, though it is provided with a card teaching how to use it. We spend a lot of time to observe how it works from washing, rinsing and drying. Even the staff we call up, is not quite knowledgeable about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear YarraRiver,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments about Punthill Manhattan.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and facilities at the property. We will certainly re-train all relevant staff to ensure that they can very efficiently operate the washing machines.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.