We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location. All you could ask for in a serviced apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Manhattan to your Saves list
Punthill Manhattan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #62 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great value and great location. All you could ask for in a serviced apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This serviced apartment is located in the heart of the city on Flinders Lane. Just a stones throw away from great restos, cafes and a short walk away from Flinders street station.

The lobby is small but effective, staff fast and efficient.

No on site parking unfortunately but there is a car park next door.

The apartment itself is very clean, sparsely decorated.

Again, for my business travelling purposes this was great, especially given that my company had a corporate rate there and the Melbourne office of our company is literally right next door at the Herald Sun building.

Due to the solid brick walls and large accommodations I would also recommend this to families. Plenty of space for prams and such.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear CorporateNomad,
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your recent corporate trip to Melbourne whilst staying at Punthill Manhattan and thank you for taking the time to provide your review.
We do agree that the location is ideal for those people wishing to be in the heart of the city, with everything only a stone's throw from the property - be it public transport, shops, restaurants, cafes, theatres and sporting arenas.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill -whether you are travelling for business or leisure! - in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
61
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A group of us converged from all points of Eastern Aus and as far away as NZ to celebrate with a friend turning 50 in late August 2012. We had a 3b/r apartment on the 1st floor, with about 7 of us staying at any one time.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the apartment was fantastic. Spacious, funky decor, comfy beds and well appointed kitchen - as well as being so close to everything in the CBD. Across the road at the foodcourt in Collins place, we had the most delicious and reasonably priced brekky each morning while the girls utilised the free wifi to sync their gadgets and plan the shopping assault lol.

On the downside, having only 1 bathroom between that many women, meant it took a loooong time for everyone to get out the door each morning, although the separate toilet was a consolation. Being on the first floor, it was very very noisy through the night and in the early hours of the morning with the constant stream of delivery trucks and garbage trucks. I was in the back bedroom, and between the noisy aircon units outside the window, and the truck noise at the front, it wasn't the most peaceful sleep. I would take the advice of other posters in this forum and request a higher room, or one at the back if I went back.

Probably the biggest negative though, was the basement hot tub/spa. 3 of us decided to go down and enjoy a spa to unwind after a hard days shopping, but after a very short time, we were so overcome by the chlorine fumes, we had to retreat as our eyes were really burning. It soon became apparent how strong it actually was - my 9ct gold toe ring melted right off, followed a day later by the skin on my feet. My brand new swimsuit was completely bleached, despite washing it immediately to get rid of the chlorine. One of the other ladies was unwell for the remainder of the day, and the day after, due to the fumes. It was really disappointing that we all couldn't enjoy that facility.

Those things aside, I'd definitely stay here again, the price and location, as well as the good sized kitchen all tick the right boxes. The apartments had a really good feel, and it was delightful to sit on the little balcony, enjoying a beautiful coffee from the tiny coffee shop next door, and watching the beautifully dressed people of Melbourne heading to work.

Room Tip: Higher floors or rooms at the back would be a better pick if available. If doing a trip with friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Michelle B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Punthill Manhattan.
The chlorine level in the spa pool is maintained by a chemi-gen unit which regulates the chlorine level, and we cannot explain why you had such a severe reaction. We have brought this matter to the attention of our spa maintenance company.
We do encourage our guests to contact our staff at the property if any concerns arise so that we can rectify them immediately.
We are very pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed the facilities, staff and location of Punthill Manhattan, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. We arrived at around 06.30 (reception opened at 07.00) but our key have been left securely.
The apartment was nice and roomy, with a large living area with flat screen TV, sofa and table and chairs There was also a cooking area with oven and hob (both electric), microwave and fridge. Kitchenette was fully stocked with pots, pans and cutlery.
The bedroom was separate to the main living area, and the bathroom was a nice size with bath and shower (also a washing machine, which started as soon as we closed the door).
We bought groceries for breakfast and dinner (IGA a couple of minutes walk away), and this saved us money on eating out.
Reception is open from 07.00 to 21.00, there is a PC there.
Location is great, a few minutes walk from the centre of Melbourne. Great choice of accommodation.
We took a taxi from the airport and it was $60 with relatively little traffic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Andy123Northampton,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Manhattan on TripAdvisor.
We definitely agree that these self-contained apartments allow for guests to do their own cooking if preferred, and it is great to hear that you so enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels should you be visiting Melbourne again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Punthill Manhattan in January 2013. Its location was great as it is only a short walk to Chinatown, downtown Swanston Street, CBD. The room we had was spacious with a very large bathroom and toilet, and the cooking facilities included a full oven. Parking was in the adjacent parking building, and Punthill Manhattan provides parking vouchers which can be redeemed in parking payment for $16. When you have a parking fee of $87 for the day, this $16 is really worthwhile. Higher rooms, particularly 706 provide fantastic views across to the Rod Laver Arena and the Melbourne Cricket Ground. There is a foodcourt right across the street for meals too, besides all the local walking-distance restaurants.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms ground floor and above, as these have ground level and lift access. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear BinzAustralia,
Thanks so much for your great review of Punthill Manhattan on TripAdvisor.
It is very pleasing to know that the facilities, service and location of Punthill Manhattan met all of your travelling needs during your recent trip to Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great staff, gave us a second room as the AC was not working in our first unit. Close to where we wanted to be in the lanes, very comfortable and clean, well appointed with laundry facility in room. Kitchen meant that we could save a bit and eat breakfast in the room. Very quiet and available parking right next door at a value rate for hotel customers. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Make sure AC works before unpacking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Bonnydoon,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Punthill Manhattan.
All our air-condtioning units are constantly maintained and serviced as required, so thank you for bringing the issue to our attention at the time it occurred which enabled us to rectify the situation for you immediately.
We are extremely pleased to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Manhattan sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We made our way to Melbourne for the Australian Open and once again stayed at the Manhattan for several nights. The location is perfect for the tennis as its just a short walk of about 1km to the Rod Laver and Hisense Arenas. Importantly, the apartments are large and provide a welcome place to rest between trips to the tennis and eating out at the many fabulous restaurants located within 500 metres of the front door. Manhattan does not have its own car park, but it does have an arrangement with the private car park next door and provides a voucher to bring the cost down to a very reasonable price. The one bedroom and above apartments have washing machines and dryers so that clothing can be cleaned if you are staying for several days.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a pretty good view and on weekends are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Steven R,
Thanks so much for your great review of Punthill Manhattan.
We absolutey agree with you that the location is perfect for an easy walk to Rod Laver Arena and the tennis centre from this apartment hotel!
We are so pleased that you are happy to stay with us each year, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in January 2014, if not before!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Air conditioning needs updating, not very reliable,complained and they brought a pedestal fan for me which was great as I am a epileptic and need to remain cool at all times,heat drains and brings on unwanted fits. we were in a 1 bedroom apartment, I think that I was expecting something more, I found it it very small as we had to use the sofa for a bed, I felt as though it was too small, not like the rooms I saw online but once we cooled it down it was ok. The people were very accomodating, ready to help at all times. Sofa could do with an upgrade it was terribly uncomfortable, it felt like you were sleeping on bars and a foam mattress, other than that it was a good hotel. no pool though although I saw photos of them online too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Kay331,
We are sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
Your visit to Melbourne coincided with a few days of extremely hot weather in the city, which unfortunately places great strain on air-conditioning units in general. In normal circumstances, the air-conditioning in these apartments is effective.
Our indoor jet pool was recently replaced with an indoor spa pool, and we have updated all known third-party website images.
Should you consider booking at Punthill Manhattan again, you may like to consider one of our 2-bedroom apartments which are larger, and enable a third guest to sleep in the bedding in the second bedroom of this apartment type rather than utilising the sofa bed in the living area of a one bedroom apartment.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill Manhattan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.