We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Manhattan to your Saves list
Punthill Manhattan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at this property. Big spacious apartments with a great location. The warehoue/New York loft apartment feel is cool.

We had one small issue & that was the dirty carpets....& I mean very dirty. From the minute you step into the reception & right through to the accommodation the carpets are dirty throughout. We really could not understand it....everything else was perfectly clean!

  • Liked — Very Spacious
  • Disliked — Dirty carpets
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
69
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

This is in response to Yenique from South Australia below (i was one of the 5 friends she mentioned). We indeed got an apartment for free because we didn't get a sofa bed which was a complete ACE for us! The apartments were spacious, clean and had all the convenience you would expect of a self-contained apartment. I liked the fact the toilet was separate from the bathroom and the bathroom was very spacious! This made it very convenient for 5 girls. The only thing i would complain about is the noise you hear early in the morning. Our main apartment overlooked Flinders Lane and so when workers start their shift the traffic on there can create plenty of noise, so bring earplugs or ask for a quieter apartment!

Front desk and service were also very efficient and friendly and we could not expect more of them for the Free apartment. They were also happy to take care of our bags after check-out since we didn't have to leave till later that day.

The jet pool was tiny so please don't expect too much here. The jets weren't strong and the pool/spa area probably needs a huge refurbishment but we were the only girls (3 of us) there when we visited and so were happy to just relax. The spa is warm and big enough to fit 3 people - good enough for us! So despite not being the best we were still extremely happy with our stay, especially since we nabbed such a massive bargain. Location was great and within easy walking distance to main shopping area. Also like to add that Flinders Lane have many famous restaurants, some of the best in Australia (flick through the Gourmet guide 2007 if you don't believe me). Or if you prefer to stay in like we did one night, they do organise food being sent to your very door with local takeaway shops and restaurants!

Hope this adds a bit more information if your seriously considering this place =)

  • Liked — The free apartment!
  • Disliked — the noise from Flinders Lane traffic in the morning!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Great hotel with very generous size apartments. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apt and it had plenty of room for the 2 of us.We were on the 5th floor and it was dead quite, great for sleeping in! The fact that it is located on Flinders Lane is a bonus as Flinders has many great cafes and night spots. For a good value breakfast, go over the road to Collins place and there is an eatery called Roosevelts, they do excellent bacon and eggs and good coffee. The hotel is an easy stroll to the trams and down town Melbourne.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment with 5 other friends for 2 nights. Upon booking the room several months in advanced, I had requested a sofa bed in the room. However when we arrived the friendly staff explained that the sofa bed was faulty and he would give us an extra 1 bedroom apartment FREE OF CHARGE for TWO NIGHTS to ensure we had a comfortable stay. We were all so pleased and extremely happy with their offer. The apartment rooms were very clean, with a spacious lounge, bathroom and separate toilet. The hotel location is walking distance to everything, with only about 5 minutes walking distance to the main shopping precinct and there are many lovely restaurants close by. The jet pool and spa facilities are not tops, but for the price we paid and extra room we got, we were very happy with Manhattan Hotel Apartments.

  • Liked — spacious, clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — the spa and pool facilities and curtains/blinds
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is a great place for a Melbourne stay. Location is at the "Paris end" of the city but within easy walking (a few blocks) to the theatres, Chinatown, tram, gardens, Greek precinct and Federation Square. It is across the road from Collins St centre where there are shops, resturants and the Dendy. We booked a one bedroomed apartment and found the kitchen up to date and useful, bathroom roomy and the washer/dryer was handy. The bedroom had no windows just a screened alcove through to the desk area in the living room.....not good if you are claustrophic. Thin walls meant we could hear giggling and talking from next apartment but if you turned the radio up it was fine (and hopefully meant they couldn't hear either). Decor etc is up to date and the apartment was clean and serviced well. The office staff were very helpful and friendly.
Only gripe was that there was some sort of roadwork happening outside which meant our water was dirty and spurting violently one afternoon and morning.....gave a literal meaning to mud bath! But that is a city prob not Manhattan.
We used their phone order service to a local Vietnamese restuarant and it was great! They delivered to our apartment door. There is a wide choice of restaurants and cuisines available through this service and it was a perfect solution to eat in on a cold windy winter night.
There is a lift but as in several apartments we have used there is no ramp to get into the actual foyer and so it is necessary to bump your luggage up a few stairs. All things considered we had a very comfortable stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Liked — fresh, roomy, location
  • Disliked — thin walls,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

Room was huge. Had a living room-kitchen combination with full kitchen. The bedroom was not huge but was comfortable with a great mattress. The bathroom was large, clean, and had a washer-dryer that worker great. The location is wonderful. It is right across from the Fitzroy Garden so morning jogging was nice. It is within walking distance to the Botanical gardens. Loved this place.

  • Liked — the large clean room that was quiet
  • Disliked — Not have 24 hour front office
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

I stayed here with my fiancee in Dec 06 and had a very pleasant stay. The reception staff were very friendly right through the stay even letting me use the computer in the office to check in on line to my internal flight and print out my boarding pass.

Room was good with New York style high ceilings and minimalist decor. Location was also very good near lots of nice restaurants and 15 mins walk from the MCG and Flinders park.

Overall, a very pleasant stay with no real complaints expecially given the rate of A$175 per night in the holiday season which compared very favourably with comparable places I stopped in later on in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.