We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mona Lisa on Lygon

Mona Lisa on Lygon
258 Lygon Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Lygon Street)
Improve this listing
Ranked #746 of 3,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We decided to drop into Mona Lisa on Lygon as part of one of my children's birthday celebrations.
The wait staff were very cordial and took us to our table for 6.
Unlike other restaurants in the strip we were not soliciting you into their restaurant.
The waitress was very good and nothing was too much for her or the male drinks waiter.
We had a variety of pasta dishes and they were very ample for most appetites.
By far the best dish that I tasted was the spaghetti and meatballs - 7 on each plate and they were a meal in themselves.

The drinks were of restaurant pricing for the area, the soft drinks could have been a touch cheaper.

As it was my son's birthday, the wait staff organise organised a flaming cake for my son, switched off the lights and the restaurant song him happy birthday.
It was a great touch by the restaurant and really made our night.

We finished with coffees and hot chocolates that got the thumbs up from all.
We had a wonderful evening and many thanks to team at Mona Lisa on Lygon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mork001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and yummy food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Bought a deal on 'Living Social' - Glass of wine , dessert and coffee for $3.00 pp. Fabulous value. Husband and I shared 2 entrees as well as the deal. Food was exceptional - very fresh and tasty and the 'Death by Chocolate' dessert we had was to die for!. Our waitress was really lovely and nothing was too much trouble which contrasted with other meal deals we have bought - if you're going to offer these deals don't treat the people who buy them like 2nd class citizens!
We live in country Victoria but will definitely return next time in Melbourne and will certainly recommend to our City friends

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
“Sensational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Best Italian restaurant in Melbourne. Every dish was exceptional however the berry meringue stuffed with chantily cream was one of the most sensational desserts I have ever eaten.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HMK11Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Ramsy 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Only word to say is fantastic 10 out 10 great services food was fabulous thank you all the chefs and charlie the owner for taking the time to come to our talbe and wishing us goof night

Helpful?
Thank Scoty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Fabulous food, fabulous service - especially our charming Irish waiter who looked after us so well! The venue was fresh and clean, and the atmosphere was relaxing. The wine list wasn't huge, and sadly there weren't any Italian wines on offer, but we still found a very quaffable white amongst the choice . Definitely will return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa on Lygon also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Mona Lisa on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing