We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mona Lisa on Lygon

Mona Lisa on Lygon
258 Lygon Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We decided to drop into Mona Lisa on Lygon as part of one of my children's birthday celebrations.
The wait staff were very cordial and took us to our table for 6.
Unlike other restaurants in the strip we were not soliciting you into their restaurant.
The waitress was very good and nothing was too much for her or the male drinks waiter.
We had a variety of pasta dishes and they were very ample for most appetites.
By far the best dish that I tasted was the spaghetti and meatballs - 7 on each plate and they were a meal in themselves.

The drinks were of restaurant pricing for the area, the soft drinks could have been a touch cheaper.

As it was my son's birthday, the wait staff organise organised a flaming cake for my son, switched off the lights and the restaurant song him happy birthday.
It was a great touch by the restaurant and really made our night.

We finished with coffees and hot chocolates that got the thumbs up from all.
We had a wonderful evening and many thanks to team at Mona Lisa on Lygon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value and yummy food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Bought a deal on 'Living Social' - Glass of wine , dessert and coffee for $3.00 pp. Fabulous value. Husband and I shared 2 entrees as well as the deal. Food was exceptional - very fresh and tasty and the 'Death by Chocolate' dessert we had was to die for!. Our waitress was really lovely and nothing was too much trouble which contrasted with other meal deals we have bought - if you're going to offer these deals don't treat the people who buy them like 2nd class citizens!
We live in country Victoria but will definitely return next time in Melbourne and will certainly recommend to our City friends

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
“Sensational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Best Italian restaurant in Melbourne. Every dish was exceptional however the berry meringue stuffed with chantily cream was one of the most sensational desserts I have ever eaten.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Ramsy 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Only word to say is fantastic 10 out 10 great services food was fabulous thank you all the chefs and charlie the owner for taking the time to come to our talbe and wishing us goof night

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous food, fabulous service - especially our charming Irish waiter who looked after us so well! The venue was fresh and clean, and the atmosphere was relaxing. The wine list wasn't huge, and sadly there weren't any Italian wines on offer, but we still found a very quaffable white amongst the choice . Definitely will return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa on Lygon also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Mona Lisa on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona Lisa on Lygon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.