We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. Well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks On William to your Saves list
Oaks On William
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent value. Well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Location : On the edge of the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Near the corner of William and La Trobe streets which is more of a corporate / legal area of town. About 8 minutes walk to areas with lots of restaurant and shopping choices. Directly opposite Flagstaff underground station (closed on week-ends). Easy transport access major transport hubs. About 5 minutes walk from the Skybus terminal.

Amenity : I had a studio apartment on the 10th floor looking towards West Gate Bridge. Great view. Clean, comfortable, new, everything worked properly. Great bed with big, good quality pillows. Good lighting options. Floor to ceiling, room wide windows for the view. Sliding glass door onto a balcony. Two burner cooker and everything you'd need to cook a meal if you want to. Big fridge. Plenty of glassware and cups. Knives. Teapot. They've thought about it. Equally good for a shorter stay or if you wanted to set up a city base for a week or two and make some of your own meals.
Big flat screen with numerous pay channels as well as free to air. Nice bathroom. Hot strong rain shower.

Service : Friendly and personable reception staff and management. Helpful. Efficient. Daily service to the room.

Internet : The only thing I didn't like. 30 mins free access per day and then $5 for half an hour, $10 for 2 hours or $18 per day. And after 100Mb the speed is limited. So forget about watching movies or any quantity of videos on the net. Get with the program Oaks. Paying for internet in hotels is now not the norm by a long way. Most hotels, across the spectrum from five star to cheapies, provide free wi-fi.
Paying for wi-fi feels like being ripped off, no matter how good value the room price is. And why provide wi-fi for a fee and then slow it down after 100Mb. It sucked.

Food : No restaurant, but there is room service available. A few cafes in a 200 metre radius, but only two blocks walk to Little Bourke St, the Victoria Market and Elizabeth St. Plenty of options.

Value : My room was an upgrade for the view to $109 per night from $99. Excellent value for the quality of amenity and location. Would consider staying again. Everything was good except the paid wi-fi.

Room Tip: Higher floor looking towards West Gate bridge. More of an unblocked vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your detailed review of Oaks on William. I am truly pleased to read such great feedback from a senior contributor of this forum. Your comments regarding the level of service you received from our staff and the standard of accommodation you enjoyed is most appreciated. For future bookings please call us directly for accommodation packages inclusive of Wi-Fi access. Look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    295
    61
    12
    3
See reviews for
74
375
63
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This place sits at the rear of the CBD just a few blocks from the vic markets. It is right on the city circle tram stop and handy to just about everywhere. We stayed in a park view apartment, which was spacious, had all the amenities we needed and was serviced daily to a good standard. The staff were friendly and helpful and check in and out were quick and fuss free. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded for an extra ten dollars per night, when booking online this option was going to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at Oaks on William. Your comments regarding our friendly staff and the standard of accommodation you enjoyed are truly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed five nights in room 1818 (Studio with Park view). View of the Flagstaff garden and Melbourne night view from balcony was wonderful and can't be beat !
From airport to hotel, you can take Skybus ( www.skybus.com.au ) one way AUD18 and return AUD30. It's about 20mins from Melbourne airport to Melbourne City Southern Cross Station and 10mins walk to the hotel.
Hotel is close to trains and walking distance to Victoria Market (5min), Melbourne Central and Shopping Mall (10mins).
If you have a free time on Wednesday night, visit Luna1878 Winter Night Market ( http://www.qvm.com.au/event/luna-1878-2/ ) @ Victoria Market, you won't be disappointed.
Some complaints about 30 mins wifi time is not enough. I bought a Optus SIM card in the airport, cost me AUD2 per day with free data of 500MB per day.
Definitely i will be back again and again !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am truly pleased to read that you found our hotel was ideally located and that our apartments offered exceptional views and comfort. I would be delighted to welcome you back again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Overall I am comparing you guys with the Pegasus which is just afew meters down the road. I have been staying with them on a weekly basis for 2 months but switched over to you due to new corporate prefrences. I have to say in terms of room quality I would rate you as equal though I am not a fan of the shower curtain/ no cubicle shower. Also your shower water pressure is very low. Tap pressure is fine but shower is extremely low for some reason. In terms of parking its fine but it would be alot easier to provide patrons with a card or something so they can buzz themselves in ala Pegasus as it is very inconvenient to have to press the hotel button all the time. Lastly, wifi. Pegasus provides free wifi and a speedy connection at that while you guys want to charge 18 bucks? Note that over the last few months the Pegasus has been consistently cheaper than the Oaks and I don't see the Oaks product being that much better than the Pegasus.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I value your feedback and appreciate the time taken to point out areas for improvement. All of your comments will be duly looked into to ensure that we can deliver an unbeatable guest experience. I would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a studio apartment with a view over Flagstaff Gardens. We found the place easy to get to, arriving on the Skybus from the airport into Southern Cross Station and catching the free hotel transfer bus that dropped us at the hotel next door (100 metres away). The service we received was friendly and efficient and we were able to go into our room slightly ahead of time. The studio apartment had a lovely feel to it and was very well presented. It was also very clean. We were on the 17th floor and had a balcony overlooking the gardens and we could see the Ferris wheel and the Yarra, it was very picturesque. While the weather outside was quite chilly, it was lovely and warm inside the apartment and very quiet with the balcony door closed. We had an exceptionally comfortable King sized bed that we didn't want to get out of. The kitchen area had a full sized fridge, dishwasher, microwave and luckily for us true tea drinkers, a teapot! The bathroom is not overly large but the shower recess was roomy with a rain head shower rose. The location was just perfect for us being a short walk to the Queen Victoria Markets, access to trams and train out the front, walking distance to the CBD (just over a kilometre) or you could catch the free City Circle Tram two minutes away in LaTrobe St. This tram takes you to most places you'll need to see around town. We were booked in to see the Rocky Horror stage show at the Comedy Theatre in Exhibition St and were able to catch the tram to the beginning of that street and save ourselves the 1.5km walk. There are plenty of places to eat nearby as well. North Melbourne is not far away. Highly recommended and we'll definitely be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. It is truly pleasing to read that you found all aspects of your stay with us both comfortable and enjoyable. Your comments regarding the friendly and efficient service you received as well as the high standard of cleaning in your apartment has been passed on to our staff with thanks. I am also glad to read that you were able to explore so much of Melbourne from the convenient location of the hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for recommending our property to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you're looking for a simple apartment-styled accommodation without the trappings of a standard hotel with many guests, noise and unnecessary extra$$ for breakfast that you would rather do without, then this has got to be the place!
This place offers one a very sizeable decent room, with daily housekeeping that ensures the rooms are kept clean, extensive cable tv coverage [I watched most of the early rounds of 2014 World Cup in my room without any service interruption] and also has room service/laundry services and a reasonable gym located at Level 3A.
Although, the room does not come with breakfast, Brother Thomas café located in the adjoining building with a linked door to the hotel lobby offers sandwiches, bread with jam, coffee and juices to set you off on a productive day ahead.
The hotel staff and front office staff are professional and very helpful. I checked in to Room No 1106 on 9th June and stayed here til the 19th of June, and organised myself around the CBD from this place. It takes about 15 minutes casual walk to get down to Lygon Street and less than 10 minutes to Chinatown.
Being away from the central CBD traffic, this hotel allows for an easy hassle-free exit out of the city and also into the city.
Oaks on WIlliams is located right in front of the Flagstaff Park, where during the day, one can take a walk or just sit and take in the calmness of the area or during the evenings, one can see adorable posums wandering around at night. Located right on a tramway route, it also offers one the option of getting an affordable and fund transportation anytime during the day in the CBD area.
Worth the value for money!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1106 and did not have any problems, but really it's up to you to experience it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent stay at Oaks on William. It is always a pleasure to hear such good feedback from our guests, your comments in particular about the professional service you received from our staff is most appreciated. I am pleased you found our hotel represented good value for money and that our apartments were presented to a high standard. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best apartment (studio) I have ever stayed. I stayed there with my sister for two days from 4-6/7 on level 12. Very good size room, fairly good view, friendly staff, clean and tidy, excellent location. I just love it.

Took skybus from airport to Southern cross station and a free hotel transfer services provided by skybus. Very convenient or a 15 min walk from the hotel to Southern cross station. You can also request hotel staff to make a free skybus hotel transfer booking from the hotel to Southern cross station.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. I am truly pleased to read that you loved your recent stay with us. With out doubt your comments have put a smile on all the staff at the hotel who work tirelessly to make your stay both comfortable and enjoyable. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#47 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks On William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.