We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks On William to your Saves list
Oaks On William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
hobart
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable Bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Really impressed with the new Oaks on William. Everything is new, well designed and good service.
Cafe next to Oaks great for breakfast. Pub across the road has good meal with friendly atmosphere.
The bed was the let down! King size with usual two singles velcroed together. Unfortunately the poor design does not allow one person to sleep across the bed without feel a hard rail in the middle. I'm about 6'4". The person who selected the bed should have slept in one before making their decision.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to read that you were impressed with our hotel and found the service and facilities to your liking. It is disappointing to read however that you found our beds uncomfortable as we usually get great feedback on the range. Certainly, for future stays this is something we can pre-arrange for you so that your stay is as comfortable as it is enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on fowilliam@theoaksgroup.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    187
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
239
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights recently. This hotel is nicely located just a short stroll to the CBD. Free tram stop is around the corner and the train station is opposite. Room is large enough with kitchenette should you wish to cook. Room also has a nice balcony however a park view room might have provided more natural light although this isnt a huge issue. Room is also nicely renovated but did notice the cement ceiling, again this wasnt a huge issue. Staff were pleasant and they are happy to check in your luggage so you can roam the city freely in the situation of a later flight which is nice. There was a nice cafe just next door and plenty of food options nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. Lovely to read that you found your stay at the hotel most comfortable and convenient. Your comments regarding the staff at the hotel and café have been passed on with thanks. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in five similar priced hotels around the east coast of australia on our trip and oaks on william was definitely the best of them all. Location - the free circular tram stops just across the road, Queen Victoria market is round the corner, Ehtihad stadium down the road, brilliant! Our room was huge, cool 'urban chic' design, large balcony overlooking the gardens. The kitchen area has full size cooker and fridge, great when you are on a long trip for those nights when you don't want to be eating out. The bathroom so clean with a fabulous shower. The large guest laundry on floor 3 is an excellent facility when you are travelling around. Lots of attention to detail at this hotel, the rooms have really been designed well. We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Park view is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for you kind comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you thought our hotel topped your list of hotels whilst travelling the east coast of Australia. Your feedback regarding the staff and standard of cleaning is truly appreciated. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed for four nights in March. A very clean & tidy property, not too far to walk to city centre or else you can take the free city circle tram, with a stop just a few metres from the hotel. Good sized kitchenette and well spaced room. Reception staff very helpful on arrival and during stay - we arrived early morning and they happily stored our bags while we went out for some sightseeing as check-in time wasn't until 2.00pm.

Only a few minutes walk to QV market and the visitor shuttle bus, which cost $5.00 for a full day hop on/hop off service with heaps of stops.

Housekeeping was a bit inconsistent - for environmental reasons there is a sign on the shower door saying to leave your towels on the floor if you want them changed, otherwise they wouldn't be changed. We made sure we did not leave our towels on the floor as we were happy to re-use, but they were changed every day. On one day towels were removed but we weren't left with any replacements, although this was quickly resolved by visiting reception.

We did find it a bit noisy (traffic noise and other hotel room doors were very loud when closing), even being up on the 16th floor, but we had a wonderful view right down to the harbour.

Would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend the property to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and great to read that your experience at the hotel was enjoyable. I appreciate your comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and this has been passed on with thanks. Our housekeeping team has been alerted to some of the inconsistencies you found and I can assure you this will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Opposite a nice park, this is located in the center of the city. The rooms are designed for long term stay, with a kitchen. And the decor is bright and fresh. Seems to be quite new. Do ask for a park facing one. Coming to charges, they are on the higher side, though pretty much what others in the area would expect. So if are you are not looking for reward points of an international chain, go for it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel clean, fresh and well located. For extended stays and for that extra space we also have larger one bedroom apartments available. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Amazing hotel, we staying in two bedroom apartment with incredible views and we also added a roll away and it still wasn't squishy. Lots of space. Soft beds and sheets. Was so great to stay in a new hotel, everything was super clean and on tread. Special thank you to the staff and in particularly Maggie, it wouldn't have been the same without the help and assistance of the oaks team.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you and your friends had both a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the hotel. Our brand new 2 bedroom apartments offer fantastic views of the CBD, so I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy this. Thank you for making a special mention of Maggie, feedback such as yours is truly appreciated by the staff. We look forward to re-creating an enjoyable experience for you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great location, can walk to city or catch trams. Rooms modern and spacious, front desk staff friendly it was not a problem to leave our bags before check in or after checking in. Lack of restaurant was not an issue, plenty to eat in Melbourne. Gym looked good (if you are into that). Shower heads are awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am delighted to read that your recent experience at Oaks on William was most enjoyable. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks On William 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks On William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.