We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks On William

Save Saved
You added Oaks On William to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks On William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Perfect place for the romantic weekend. Fantastic park views.
We stayed there for our first romantic weekend away, and we were not disappointed.
The room was well appointed, and quiet, very little noise from the rest of the hotel and the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest and we are delighted to have made your recent stay a memorable one. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and thank you for taking the time to comment on our property.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    126
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
175
34
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NSW
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If seeking a comfortable apartment close to everything this is the place. Easy walk to the Vic. Markets, train station and the circle tram which takes you around the city free. Situated opposite the Flagstaff Gardens so lovely views from the balconies facing the gardens. Very quiet, excellent rooms and pleasant, attentive staff. What more could one want?

Room Tip: High floors are quiet and lovely views from rooms on garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks William. I am pleased to read that you found our property well suited to your needs and that we were able to tick all the boxes for you on this occasion. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed for an extended weekend, and wished we could have stayed longer in this beautifully clean and spotless hotel. Our room was very spacious and exceeded all expectations. Decor was fresh and new. King bed was very comfy, and you had a choice of pillows. Having a full kitchen was definitely a bonus, especially with the dishwasher and full size fridge freezer. All Staff members were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them at all. We highly recommend staying at this hotel and will be booking again the next time we visit Melbourne

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that your experience at the hotel was most enjoyable and that you found our hotel spotlessly clean and well equipped. Our staff and I truly appreciate your comments and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just spent three very satisfying nights at Oaks on Williams. The rooms are new, clean and modern and are well insulated from the outside and adjoining rooms. Our king bed was extremely comfortable and the bedlinen is good quality. Rooms to the rear are quiet with no tram or street noise however the views from the front are of the beautiful Flagstaff Gardens park. Every room has a balcony with a bistro style table and chair set. It was nice to be able to open the balcony door, especially when sleeping to allow fresh air into the room.
The kitchenette is well appointed with a large fringe, full size oven, microwave, draw dishwasher and small cooktop as well as all that is needed to cook and serve a basic meal.
The rooms do not have a tradition business style writing desk but instead have a small dining table and two chairs. The staff are friendly and do there best to help and answer inquiries. The rooms are cleaned and stocked daily. The location is handy with, the free city circle tram, a train station and an abundance of trams on the doorstep that all link you with greater melbourne. The Victoria Markets and Elizabeth Street are a stones throw away and have many cheaper eateries for lunch. There is also a very nice cafe at reception for coffee and breakfast. For dinner it is best to hop on a tram and head for Southbank, Lygon Street or Fitzroy's famous Brunswick Road - all about 10 to 15 minutes tram ride away. This hotel does not have some of the smaller high end luxury items such as bathrobes, pillow menu, shower caps or name brand toiletries but it makes up for that by successfully offering a friendly, well priced, half hotel, half bedsit alternative to the big chain hotels. I can recommend this new kid on the block.

Room Tip: View of Flagstaff Gardens Park are to the front of the hotel - these will come with a little more st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Oaks on William. As mentioned in your review our hotel is brand new, and feedback such as yours serves as a genuine motivation for our staff to continue to offer exceptional service and standards. I am pleased to read that you found our apartments well equipped and that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel and the comfort of your own private balcony. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a studio park view apartment on the 16 floor. Very clean with most things you require for a short stay. Restaurants within walking distance, especially on the other side of Flagstaff Park. A few minutes walk to the Victoria markets which are NOT open every day and during the week they close early. Free trams run from 9am and are great for traveling about. We had a drink or two at Young and Jackson opposite Flinders Street Station well worth a visit on a wet day!

Room Tip: A balcony is nice and I would suggest a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel location ideally suited to your needs and our rooms clean and well equipped. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very clean, great location, good size, fantastic facilities, good price. What more can you ask?
On the corner of Melbourne CBD, close to the free tram, close to Vic market, has kitchenette with everything you would want. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. Your feedback is truly appreciated and we are glad to read that we are able to deliver on all aspects of your stay. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a lovely room on the 19th floor of this hotel for our recent long weekend stay and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne - particularly if you can manage to get a room on the upper floors as we did.

The room was fresh and modern, with a really cool decal wallpaper of some of Melbourne's buildings along one wall. The full kitchen would have been useful if we weren't so keen to get out and sample all the amazing food Melbourne has to offer for every single meal, so we only really used the fridge and tea and coffee, but it was nice to have all the same. The little dish-drawer dishwasher was a nice touch as well.

There was plenty of space to have 2 suitcases on the floor and not be tripping over them, which is always a bonus, but we stored them in the nice big wardrobe anyway as there was plenty of space in it. A few more drawers for storage of clothes would be nice though, as there were only a couple of small bedside drawers on either side of the bed. But not a big deal and we made do. The TV was recessed into the wall, which meant no wasted space with a big annoying telly cabinet jutting out into the room, and was nicely placed to be able to lie in bed comfortably to watch it.

The bed was incredbily comfortable - quite firm with nice big comfy pillows. And there was a nice wee table and chairs setting and a beanbag-type chair for extra seating options as well. The balcony was great and we enjoyed evening drinkies while admiring the view every night - but strangely enough only one chair to go with the table on the balcony, so we had to drag one of the chairs from inside so we could both sit on the balcony together.

The bathroom was a moderate size and the shower nice and spacious with a lovely rain shower head. However, the basin took up almost all of the vanity space and so there was little room to put toiletries out, other than a wee tiny shelf under the vanity mirror, which didn't hold very much. Effective extractor fan in the bathroom but it still got pretty hot in there after running the shower for a bit.

We didn't hear any noise from other rooms in our room, but we were aware of the odd shudder down the hallway when people had obviously closed their door quite forcefully. We also noticed one particular room that must've had their TV up as loud as it would possibly go each time we walked down the hall to the elevator as we could hear the TV loud and clear through their door in the hallway and we dread to think what their neighbours must have put up with. So perhaps only soundproof to a regular extent.

The best thing of all was the amazing view from our room. We were on the 19th floor and on the Flagstaff Gardens side of the hotel and we could've stood and stared at the view for hours - made for amazing photos of sunrise, sunset and evening lights. I'm not sure I would have been as impressed if we'd been on a lower floor and/or the side of the building facing away from William St.

Location-wise, it's a wee bit of a hike to what we'd consider 'downtown' Melbourne. There's a train station just across the road but it's frustratingly closed on Saturdays and Sundays - about a 12 min stroll to the next nearest train station at Melbourne Central and by then you're pretty much in downtown anyway. Tram stations nice and close by but, depending on how far you're going, by the time you wait for a tram you possibly could have walked to your destination in the same amount of time. Queen Vic Markets is a very short walk away and the nearest supermarket we found was at Melbourne Central, about 12-13 mins walk away. We got the free hotel transfer bus with Sky Bus to get to and from Southern Cross Station when getting to and from the airport as it's probably a little far to walk with luggage. Flagstaff Gardens across the road are also nice for a walk in - particularly after dark when they are full of possums in the trees (bit of a night safari of sorts!).

Would stay at this hotel on our next visit to Melbourne with no hesitation and will be highly recommending it to anyone going there in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors on the William St side of the hotel have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that your recent experience at our hotel was most enjoyable. We all know the importance of a good nights sleep and so we are pleased that you found our beds incredibly comfortable and our rooms quiet and well designed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks On William 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks On William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.