We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oaks On William to your Saves list
Oaks On William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a lovely room on the 19th floor of this hotel for our recent long weekend stay and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne - particularly if you can manage to get a room on the upper floors as we did.

The room was fresh and modern, with a really cool decal wallpaper of some of Melbourne's buildings along one wall. The full kitchen would have been useful if we weren't so keen to get out and sample all the amazing food Melbourne has to offer for every single meal, so we only really used the fridge and tea and coffee, but it was nice to have all the same. The little dish-drawer dishwasher was a nice touch as well.

There was plenty of space to have 2 suitcases on the floor and not be tripping over them, which is always a bonus, but we stored them in the nice big wardrobe anyway as there was plenty of space in it. A few more drawers for storage of clothes would be nice though, as there were only a couple of small bedside drawers on either side of the bed. But not a big deal and we made do. The TV was recessed into the wall, which meant no wasted space with a big annoying telly cabinet jutting out into the room, and was nicely placed to be able to lie in bed comfortably to watch it.

The bed was incredbily comfortable - quite firm with nice big comfy pillows. And there was a nice wee table and chairs setting and a beanbag-type chair for extra seating options as well. The balcony was great and we enjoyed evening drinkies while admiring the view every night - but strangely enough only one chair to go with the table on the balcony, so we had to drag one of the chairs from inside so we could both sit on the balcony together.

The bathroom was a moderate size and the shower nice and spacious with a lovely rain shower head. However, the basin took up almost all of the vanity space and so there was little room to put toiletries out, other than a wee tiny shelf under the vanity mirror, which didn't hold very much. Effective extractor fan in the bathroom but it still got pretty hot in there after running the shower for a bit.

We didn't hear any noise from other rooms in our room, but we were aware of the odd shudder down the hallway when people had obviously closed their door quite forcefully. We also noticed one particular room that must've had their TV up as loud as it would possibly go each time we walked down the hall to the elevator as we could hear the TV loud and clear through their door in the hallway and we dread to think what their neighbours must have put up with. So perhaps only soundproof to a regular extent.

The best thing of all was the amazing view from our room. We were on the 19th floor and on the Flagstaff Gardens side of the hotel and we could've stood and stared at the view for hours - made for amazing photos of sunrise, sunset and evening lights. I'm not sure I would have been as impressed if we'd been on a lower floor and/or the side of the building facing away from William St.

Location-wise, it's a wee bit of a hike to what we'd consider 'downtown' Melbourne. There's a train station just across the road but it's frustratingly closed on Saturdays and Sundays - about a 12 min stroll to the next nearest train station at Melbourne Central and by then you're pretty much in downtown anyway. Tram stations nice and close by but, depending on how far you're going, by the time you wait for a tram you possibly could have walked to your destination in the same amount of time. Queen Vic Markets is a very short walk away and the nearest supermarket we found was at Melbourne Central, about 12-13 mins walk away. We got the free hotel transfer bus with Sky Bus to get to and from Southern Cross Station when getting to and from the airport as it's probably a little far to walk with luggage. Flagstaff Gardens across the road are also nice for a walk in - particularly after dark when they are full of possums in the trees (bit of a night safari of sorts!).

Would stay at this hotel on our next visit to Melbourne with no hesitation and will be highly recommending it to anyone going there in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors on the William St side of the hotel have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that your recent experience at our hotel was most enjoyable. We all know the importance of a good nights sleep and so we are pleased that you found our beds incredibly comfortable and our rooms quiet and well designed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    162
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
216
40
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location of this place was great, there was no noise polution or anything. I will have to mention that this place is definitely not a hotel. Its a front desk with rooms to rent. There is nothing else in the building to constitute it being an hotel. When we were leaving we found out there was a gym but no one had told us at all. There is no food or eating facilities in the building, so if you are coming in late and want a bite to eat you will be disappointed.

Pro: Its in a good location, the rooms were big and cleaned well. For a little contained apartment in melbourne for a week it would be fine.

Con: No Amenities, No restaurants. I requested a shower cap and was told they were not supplied. No bottled water supplied.

All in all, completely adequate. Did the job it was meant to do.

Room Tip: Bring supplies with you, you get soaps etc but nothing else, come prepared or you will go hungry! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the location of our hotel desirable and our apartments clean and spacious. Our hotel does provide breakfast and lunch within the complex and evening room service is also provided; I do apologise if this was not passed on to you during check-in. We certainly do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a weekend stay at the hotel recently no we're surprised at how modern, new and well-equipped our room was. A full kitchen and good sized balcony with outdoor furniture made our stay great.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and organised our Skybus pickup with no issues.

The only issue is that the hotel is probably about 10 minutes walk away from the main shopping/touristy part of Melbourne. On the weekend there is nothing nearby the hotel in the way of shops or cafes.

I would definitely check this place out again on my next visit to Melbourne.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to read that you found our accommodation modern and well equipped. Our staff are available 24 hours should you have any queries and can assist with information on all the best of what Melbourne has to offer. Your feedback regarding the service you received from our staff has been passed on and as always is truly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Oaks on William.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a relatively new complex in a great location, walking distance from Southern Cross or the city centre. Trams run nearby, and Flagstaff Gardens are lovely and right opposite. I got a good price as it was an opening special, but the staff tell me that they plan to keep having special deals for a while, so it's worth calling them or checking their website. Consider upgrading to a high floor, garden view apartment - only cost $15 extra a night and worth it! Spacious apartment with a modern feel and high quality appliances. Only downside is that like many hotels/apartments, the doors are heavy and slam loudly, so it can interrupt an otherwise peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to, or request, a high floor with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel ideally located and good value for your stay in Melbourne. As the staff have mentioned, regular promotional rates and specials do run offering exceptional value year round. We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the racing carnival week. The hotel is well located on the free city circle tram line which was ideal for us. It is more in the business district with a lovely park opposite. It was nice to be a little away from the bustle of the central shopping area. The room was very modern with everything we needed. We organised our own breakfast in our room each day, the kitchen facilities were excellent and there was a single drawer dishwasher.

The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, and no bath. The shower was large and had one of those enormous shower heads. The hotel don't supply the little disposable shower caps which I think they should because there is no way to shower without getting your hair wet. So bring your own shower cap if you don't want to wash your hair everyday.

We didn't pay the extra to get a park view, I think we would next time. Our view was into an office building, we could see people working at their desks and maybe they could see us too. There was a little balcony which no one would use.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and have a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. It is great to hear that you had a most comfortable stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms well equipped and modern and the location of the hotel ideal for your travels. As you have mentioned in your review, park rooms are certainly worth that little extra and offer exceptional views overlooking Flagstaff Gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Bought a Cudo voucher to stay here early in the year and stayed two nights this weekend. Booking included a studio room and as suggested by others, we requested an upgrade to look over the gardens. This was great but we paid $20 extra per night as they were busy, not like the $10 others have paid. We also paid $20 per day for parking but is safe and you can come and go as you please. The apartment is lovely very modern great bed, all the amenities you need and of a high standard. Probably missed having a bar downstairs as it is not quite in the heart of town, it's very quiet this end on a sat night with many of the local bars & restaurants closed. Tram right outside to take you anyway in town and there are great places to shop eat & drink. Overall thoroughly enjoyed this place and the view over the gardens makes it extra special .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the lovely views overlooking Flagstaff Gardens. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire - England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for a few nights with my wife. The hotel is in a great location being right next to the route of the free circular tram, it is brand new, the rooms are really modern and we found the staff of the front desk very helpful.

It has a coin laundry, great little gym that is free to use and just outside the hotel next to the traffic lights is a really good little café that we used most days to buy breakfast and sandwiches for our lunch at very economical prices.

Your are spoilt for choice as to where to eat in the evenings with Hardware street only a few mins walk away which has restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets, with many places where you can sit out side and listen to the street musicians.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our location and facilities provided at the hotel. There is an array of dining options closely located to the hotel as well as the café located within the complex which judging from your comments you thouroughly enjoyed. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks On William 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks On William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.