We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern and Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks On William to your Saves list
Oaks On William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Cheshire - England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, Modern and Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for a few nights with my wife. The hotel is in a great location being right next to the route of the free circular tram, it is brand new, the rooms are really modern and we found the staff of the front desk very helpful.

It has a coin laundry, great little gym that is free to use and just outside the hotel next to the traffic lights is a really good little café that we used most days to buy breakfast and sandwiches for our lunch at very economical prices.

Your are spoilt for choice as to where to eat in the evenings with Hardware street only a few mins walk away which has restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets, with many places where you can sit out side and listen to the street musicians.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our location and facilities provided at the hotel. There is an array of dining options closely located to the hotel as well as the café located within the complex which judging from your comments you thouroughly enjoyed. I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    186
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
239
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
City of Greater Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is very new and very comfortable. I had a first time visitor from Germany in Melbourne with me and he was also impressed with the facilities and outlook...we had rooms with balconies overlooking the park.

All room amenities are new with modern styling and fit out. Full kitchen facilities if required.

Beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony and park view were great to open up for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you had both a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are delighted that we were able to impress your visitor from Germany also. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Loved this hotel! Was very nice in style and very clean and modern. Tram stops right outside. Queen Victoria Markets just around the corner which is great for breaky or brunch or lunch :). The staff were lovely. And the shower was bliss. A nice romantic break away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your kind feedback regarding your stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that we were able to ensure your time away was most enjoyable. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Melbourne from Sydney as I hadn't been for at least 20 years, stayed 3 nights, with our 3 month old baby. The very new hotel was easy to find next to Flagstaff Gardens and parking access from the lane behind was also convenient. Check-in was easy even at 10:30pm. The hotel did seem more like serviced apartments than a hotel, but this did mean that the room included a full kitchen (Fridge, stove, oven, and dishwasher) perfect when travelling with a baby. The downsides were no amenities, such as a pool, restaurant etc. and it is located in a quiet part of the city with few shops nearby, although it is located right on the free City Circle tram line (on La Trobe close to William) which was quite handy. Overall we were happy, but would consider this more for longer stays rather than the weekend, and also compare rates nearby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and welcome back to Melbourne. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your family at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you did enjoy the full range of kitchen facilities in your apartment as well as the convenient location of the hotel. There is a café located with-in the hotel complex and evening room service is available should you wish to have a night in. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a two night stay on a weekend. Booked about 4 weeks before our stay direct on the Oaks website and paid $135 a night. Our room was on the 18th floor but at the back with a view of another building. Have since read other reviews and see that you can upgrade for $10 a night to a park view. We were not offered the upgrade so it pays to ask.

Best part of the room was a very comfortable bed. As Victoria Markets is very close and we had other plans at night did not use the kitchenette.

Overall I considered the room to be of a quality I have had in new motels in large regional towns in Queensland so nothing special. The bathroom was very small and whilst it had a rain shower very poor water pressure.

Would I stay again? Probably would if the price was around the same but would pay the extra to upgrade to a park view room.

Room Tip: Ask if there is an upgrade available to a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am glad to read that you found our beds most comfortable and the location of the hotel ideal. Depending on availability upgrades are available for as little as $10.00 per day however it is recommended to book in advance should you definitely be after a park view apartment as these apartments have become increasingly popular with returning guests. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there 2 nights, the check in was swift. I was on the 18th floor, room clean and fully equipped inc kitchenette. Shower very powerful.Great vibe to the room, with themed feature wall and industrial like ceiling. Bed comfy.most hotels I've been to, the gym is sometimes a token cycle and treadmill in a cupboard, but this was very well equipped on floor 3A. Can't rave about it enough. Great location, opposite flagstaff station made it ideal to pick up a train. Big gold star for Oaks on William

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am truly delighted to read that you have had a wonderful experience at our new property. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our exclusive range of bedding and that you were able to make full use of our gym facilities. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and thank you for your “gold star” rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked this place online as they had a short time special which was a bargain, included parking.
Easy location to get to, parking is around the corner in laneway behind Hotel.
Warmly greeted at reception, check in was fairly simple and straightforward, room key get you up lift so good security as you cannot move up floors without it. Enterered room and impressed with how clean and modern it was, roomy for Hotel room and the bathroom was spotless, cleanest shower I have seen in a long time and a decent Show Head so your not chasing the water around the shower.
Room had a small balcony to use if your so inclined.
Bed was comfortable, in fact I had a wonderful sleep and the pillows were excellent as well.
You can have breakfast next door if your so inclined but I didnt use them. Your so close to the Victoria Markets that you can walk there and check out everthing as well.
Overall a great place, would be happy to stay here again.

Oh and I was on the 16th flloor and the rooms were very quiet, didnt get that city noise you sometimes do when staying in places with lack of soundproofing, so points for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Probably easiest to go around corner and into laneway and get buzzed in to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that your experience at the hotel was most enjoyable. Bedding comfort is most important when travelling and I am glad to read that you found our beds and pillows most comfortable during your stay. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future for yet another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks On William 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks On William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.