We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks On William to your Saves list
Oaks On William
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Coogee WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Oaks on William was fantastic find in Melbourne.
New lovely rooms, very clean. Rooms are a good size.
Add a little kitchenette which makes the place extremely useful. Breakfast, light lunch, easily done.
Great access to trams with the Free 35 just outside the door. Queen Victoria markets just up the road.
What more could you need.
Hope the price stays within reason.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you were able to make good use of the fully equipped kitchen in your room which also features in all of our apartments. We will continue to aim to offer the best value accommodation in Melbourne and trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    186
    39
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
239
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why I am writing this review as there are 4 already for november 2013 and we are only 4 days into it! We stayed in room 1713 and the view from there was superb. Bed was very comfortable. Double glazing on the sliding doors so quiet also. We didn't use the kitchen except for making toast ( does anybody ? - there are 4300 Melbourne restaurants reviewed on trip advisor). The toaster worked fine and there is a 7/11 just 300m away.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that you like so many reviewers have found your stay both comfortable and enjoyable. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks on William again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip. The room was spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. It had a nice view overlooking the harbour. It's a short walk from the central train/bus station and walking distance to most everything downtown. The night staff were very friendly and helpful. The morning staff seems stressed but helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. Although only a brief visit, I am pleased to read that you found our accommodation clean, spacious and comfortable. Great to read that our staff were most helpful during your visit also. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked 4 nights and happy to say delighted we did. The room, 1314 was spotless. The Hotel is new so the building was modern and up market. The room was very comfortable with a kitchen, everything you could need. We had a large balcony with views of the park and sections of Melbourne across Docklands and the West gate Bridge.
The staff were helpful, polite and warm, yet still very professional.
The bed was outstanding and a good sleep.
Tram lines are outside the front door, and the city centre is no more than a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. I am delighted to read that you found the service from our staff professional and helpful and your apartment bedding most comfortable. Your feedback is truly appreciated and his been communicated with all staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on William on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location for getting around Melbourne. Just a 5 minute walk from the southern cross station and the sky bus to and from the airport. Room was clean and had everything you would need for a short stay. Staff on reception were friendly and very helpful. Could not really complain but did find the concrete ceiling made the room look unfinished. WiFi at $18 per day was much cheaper than other hotels that I have stayed in in Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank your for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that your stay with us was most enjoyable and your weekend away perfect. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your family to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Oaks on William was a little bit out from the city centre, but because it was on the City Circle Tram line (35) which was free, it was ideal because it was within walking distance to the Queen Victoria markets. It was also opposite Flagstaff Railway Station and Gardens. Tram 55 which heads into North Melbourne and the zoo was also only metres away. The Skybus drops you off at the Raddison which is only about twenty metres from Oaks, so getting to and from the airport is a breeze.
The rooms were brilliant, bed comfortable and television just the right size . Great adjustable airconditioning system with arrows saying too warm/too cold which were easy to operate and worked well. There was a kitchenette with a fridge, oven, stove and dishwasher with top quality implements that could be used. We generally ate out, but it was great to know that you could bring takeaway and a bottle of wine back without any problems.
A minor point was the shining light from the oven which was solved by draping high quality towel over it at night. We loved the reading lights fixed into the bedhead and the bathroom was spacious and the shower fabulous. I liked the bright aqua decor. Another good feature were ample powerpoints for charging technology. There was a small verandah with table and chairs but we were on the laneway side so there wasn't a brilliant view as you would expect. Besides when we were there, it was 7 degrees which showed up on the Ipad in reception to keep guests informed. Reception staff were helpful and pleasant and organised the Skybus pickup efficiently.
We walked downtown past the Mint for breakfast at the Screen Cafe which had great specials, coffee and free wifi. Nearby on Stop 11 on Tram 55 was The Crimea - a Balkan inspired pub with heaps of atmosphere and great food, but be sure to book on Friday and Saturday nights. We actually walked back to Oaks from there. A wonderful short break in Melbourne.

Room Tip: If you want a view, choose the Flagstaff Gardens side, but if you are not worried, our side was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that we were able to exceed your expectations in many aspects of your stay. Our room design was based on Melbourne’s vibrant city lifestyle whilst at the same time providing many of the comforts that you have commented on in your review. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks on William on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very pleasant stay based upon TripAdvisor search.

Great location, right by the free tram circle. Clean room with excellent new fittings. No street noise once you closed the window despite a balcony that allowed you to sit overlooking Williams down to the harbor. Staff were always helpful. Absolutely support the recommendation to pay the extra for the view over the park. It is great.

Amazing value. We stayed for 4 days before joining a tour at one of the major hotels and the Oaks was as comfortable and convenient at half the price.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Oaks on William. I am truly delighted to read that your experience at our hotel was enjoyable. Service and value it what we aim to deliver on a daily basis and I am pleased that we were able to deliver on this during your recent stay. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks On William 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks On William, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.