We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Albert Park

Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Albert Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Albert Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for 1 night. room was clean and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. Location was very good as lake just across the road. Staff were friendly and helpful. lounge and bar areas comfortable and coffee was surprisingly good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Anthony,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park. It is fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, along with the facilities and location.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gillian Millar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    43
    12
    7
See reviews for
36
60
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice big room, & very comfortable.
The staff were what really stood out though, the service was excellent, really friendly & nothing was a problem.
Had breakfast at Windows restaurant every day & the food was fantastic also.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Located a good walk from both the city & St Kilda, but close to St Kilda Rd tram stop.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Grant,

Thank you for your lovely review about your recent stay at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service provided by the staff and the breakfast in Windows restaurant.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gillian Millar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel has a beautiful foyer, restaurant and cafe area but is very misleading as to what expect in the rooms. Apparently is OK on one side but if you stay in the Mercure towers it is terrible. The bathroom was dirty, chunks out of the enamel in the bath tub, paint peeling off the bathroom door.
Almost fell out of the bed as it was lop sided and had to roll to one side. Really shouldn't be charging what they are for rooms in this condition. The parking is also ridiculous, it should be $16- per day but you have to pay $16- every time you exit so if you want to go out anywhere at night it becomes very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Penny,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park. I apologise sincerely that your stay did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss further with you, therefore I have sent you a private message requesting your contact details.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gillian Millar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on Expedia as a secret deal and thought was really getting my value for money as it was really affordable for the two nights considering it advertised to be 4.5 Star hotel on the website. I felt very mislead, I actually got 2 Star hotel instead. The entrance of the hotel is very misleading also, you walk in and its all extravagant and they send you to what seemed and felt like ' the lower deck of Titanic' The room I stayed in was dirty, the bath tub was filthy, there was a shower cap covering the fire alarm. I would have been happy paying extra if I knew what I was really getting. Plus Wifi is not free and you have to pay for breakfast.

Very disappointed in both Expedia and Mercure Hotel Melbourne for misleading consumers into believing they are getting the extra value for the buck. Do yourself a favour and don't stay here!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park. I apologise sincerely that your stay was not up to our normal standard on this occasion. Please note that I have sent you a private message as I would appreciate to discuss your experience with you.

Kind regards,

Gillian Millar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stayed here before but under the previous management. It is a very large establishment with Ballroom and conference facilities and with an absolutely enormous underground parking lot which is important in this part of Melbourne.

The accommodation is in two separate towers and the main dining area where an excellent buffet breakfast is served, is some way from the elevators. The rooms are well-equipped and comfortable and the downstairs lobby/bar area is pleasant and capable of accommodating quite large numbers.

Well situated for the St Kilda Road business district and with the restaurants and attractions of St Kilda itself within easy walking distance, this hotel can handle a lot of people. I had a pleasant comfortable stay, but be prepared to walk significant distances, particularly if you happen to park at the Ballroom end of the property.

Room Tip: If you would like pleasant views of Albert Park and the lake then ask for rooms overlooking Queens R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Robert C,

Thank you for your review, it is always great to read such positive feedback.

I’m sure your feedback will come in handy for other’s travelling to our hotel for our conferencing facilities.

Kind Regards,
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Beautiful big rooms, staff were excellent. Food was amazing, I have a severe nut allergy and staff ensured that they had special food for me. The conference area was large, clean and well managed.
Overall a wonderful experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Counsellorjudy,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were excellent throughout.

It is wonderful to read that we catered to your special dietary requirements and that the food was amazing.

Your feedback will certainly be helpful to other travellers.

Kind Regards,
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Albert Park

Address: 65 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Albert Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Albert Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 209 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.