We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Melbourne Albert Park

Save Saved
You added Mercure Melbourne Albert Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Albert Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Traralgon
1 review
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arranged our accomodation on line via a 'mystery deal' as we were attending a family function in the Albert Park area and we had a limited budget. What a lovely surprise we received on arrival, not only were we met with friendly efficiency and convenient parking our room was tastefully decorated and well equipped. As an added bonus we had a lovely view across Albert Park Lake to the Bay in the distance. We could not fault our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the lovely view overlooking Albert Park Lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    58
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
47
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tatong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Magnificant service by all personnel I came in touch with, Thank you, Great reception with asmile, Car was taking care of very professionally. Meals in dioning Room top class especially the table service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback on our staff. Our staff pride themselves on their friendly levels of guest service and ensuring that all our guests are well looked after. I will be sure to share this feedback with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room was very comfortable. The staff were helpful. Overall the place was busy and I commend the staff on managing the desk in an efficient manner. I had just flown in from staying at the Mecure in Perth and found the rooms had a very familiar feel. The only thing was I was not advised of was the drive yourself option for parking the car, however this was addressed when I advised reception. There are two parking options - car park on site where you drive your self for and valet.

Room Tip: I believe there are rooms with great views, however there are only a few so ask well ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Mercure Melbourne Albert Park. I’m glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and that our staff were helpful.

Yes you are correct; we have several rooms at the hotel that overlook Albert Park Lake offering stunning views. Rooms with a view can be requested at time of booking, however are always subject to availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am typing this from my room. Have no issues with the room at all. Mine looked almost identical to the sample picture in trip advisor. The room was large, clean and had everything I could ask for. The hot water was only just hot enough, but that's not really a complaint.

I went with the cheepest room, so mine didn't have a view (other than an alley) but I was staying for a conference and so I wasn't here for the view.

Had room service each night. The lamb shanks were good but the flavours of the overall dish were a little disconnected. Had the salmon twice and it was very good, though could have been cooked an little less (but I like mine still a little transparent). Have no complaints on the room service, except it was a little pricy.

Staff were very helpful and when u needed an iPhone charger, they were able to assist me immediately. A minor issue with the wifi was also dealt with efficiently and friendly.

Overall, no problems, well priced (about $130 per night) and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, and for the detailed review on your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto my team, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our stay at at the Mecure Melbourne Albert Park was lovely. On arrival we were greeted warmly and check in was very efficient, settled into our room under 10 minutes. Our room was comfortable with no passing noise so able to sleep in. The buffet meal on Saturday night was wonderful with plenty of food and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Mercure Melbourne Albert Park and for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the buffet on Saturday night. I will be sure to pass your lovely feedback onto our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

the room was fantastic but the views could have been better for a room like that. the concierge service was excellent and the restaurant was amazing. i would definately stay therre again for another occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear kudssi,

Thank you for your feedback and congratulations on your recent anniversary. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to share your feedback with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel is clean, contemporary and stylish, our rooms themselves were spacious. My disappointment for calibre of this hotel is room was not as requested (twin share) on arrival, and then staff had to be reminded three times over 6 hour period to make beds as per booking. Beds were not made up until 7pm and only after I complained again..
They also couldn't handle split arrival days/times for our party of four and did not allow my fellow guests to access rooms before my arrival even though they had been informed of split days/times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAP, General Manager at Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. I would like to apologise for your recent experience at the Mercure Melbourne Albert Park. This is not the service we strive to provide our guests. I will be sure to discuss these issues with my team.

A private message has been sent to you through Tripadvisor as I would like to discuss this matter with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Albert Park

Address: 65 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Citigate Albert Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Melbourne Albert Park 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 209 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Melbourne Albert Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.