We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RAB #1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RAB (Railway Administrative Building)

RAB (Railway Administrative Building)
33 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria VIC 3000, Australia
61 3 9611 4682
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,080 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Townsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RAB #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Couldn't fault RAB, service, menu choice, serving size, price, the food! all top class. Had breakfasts and 1 evening meal here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

RAB is a small restaurant off the reception area of The Grand Hotel.
We had Dinner on 11/2/14 and the menu had changed since we were here last.
We had Entree's of Prawn & Scallops Au Gratin $18,Italian Antipasto $17.
The Prawn dish was excellent but the Antipasto could have had a couple of Italian vegetables like Artichokes,Semi Dried Tomatoes and some Roasted Peppers. Good selection of Salami meats and only Olives just needed something else with it.
Main course was Lamb Cutlets and Grilled Artichokes $34. This was so good the way the meat and the Artichokes had been lightly grilled.
Desert was Lemon Ricotta Cannelloni with Sorbet $13.
This was a stunning desert when it arrived it looked so good but there was a problem. We were only given a desert spoon and the three little lemon biscuit cannelloni's were frozen hard. No way could you break into them with a desert spoon.
So if you wait a little while when they have thawed out you can then enjoy this very good looking desert. Of course we should have asked for a fork to go with the spoon,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staff very attentive. Quick service.
Good value for Melbourne prices.
Half price meals with accor card.
Decor old and interesting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a la carte dining at the RAB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Menu seasonally updated with specially chosen wines to complement the meal. Service was friendly with personal service from an attentive waiter.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Service and food: great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Sort of tucked away in the Grand Hotel is the RAB restaurant. We dined early and were the only customers. The food was top quality the prices reasonable and the service friendly. We also breakfasted there the next day and nothing had changed. I would happily recommend it. The only thing letting the RAB down is it is a little dingy, no views and not much natural light. I would happily eat there again, as I enjoyed it, as it was reasonably intimate and not overcrowded.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RAB (Railway Administrative Building) also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to RAB (Railway Administrative Building)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RAB (Railway Administrative Building), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.